Resources for Teachers

"CPRT (originally called Pivotal Response Training or Treatment) is a form of naturalistic behavioral intervention, based on the principles of applied behavior analysis (ABA), and is soundly supported in the scientific literature. This manual will describe the components of CPRT and how to implement the approach in your classroom." -Publisher

"A vital classroom management resource, this book shows how to implement positive behavior interventions and supports (PBIS) in K-12 classrooms, regardless of whether PBIS is adopted schoolwide. Practical, step by step guidelines are provided for structuring the classroom environment, actively engaging students in instruction, teaching positive expectations, and establishing a continuum of strategies to reinforce positive behavior and respond to inappropriate behavior."

How do you ensure that your co-teaching strategies make the most of the time that you and your co-teaching partner have in the classroom? The answer is co-planning, which will dramatically and efficiently increase the effectiveness of your instruction.Co-Planning for Co-Teaching, author Gloria Lodato Wilson presents time-saving routines for general and special education teachers that will increase the active roles of each co-teacher and intensify instruction for students.

"Accessibly written and featuring illustrative case examples, this book provides a complete guide to curriculum-based assessment for instructional design (CBA-ID). CBA-ID comprises easy-to-implement, reliable, and valid procedures for determining a student's instructional level and individualizing instruction by developing tasks that are neither too hard nor too easy. It is a key tool for supporting K-8 students who are struggling in reading, math, or writing, and is ideally suited for intervention planning within multi-tiered systems of support."

Veteran educators Gregory and Kuzmich provide user-friendly techniques for data-gathering, helping you to differentiate instruction. This informative book is now fully updated to support the Common Core and other key standards.

This book's insightful guidance on what to differentiate, how to differentiate, and why lays the groundwork for bringing differentiated instruction into your own classroom or refining the work you already do to help each of your wonderfully unique learners move toward greater knowledge, more advanced skills, and expanded understanding.

Now in a revised, thoroughly updated, and streamlined fifth edition, this bestselling volume gives current and future educators the research and practical strategies they need to ensure the best learning outcomes for their students. Presenting a team-based, collaborative approach to education, the comprehensive text includes valuable contributions from respected experts in diverse fields, including fresh voices in special education, physical therapy, occupational therapy, communication, counselling, and pediatrics.

"Educating Young Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders is aimed at providing strategies for teachers, school counselors, and psychologists to help address the needs of children on the spectrum, as well as their families." -Goodreads.com

Administrators aren't the only education professionals who can take on leadership roles. Every teacher can be a leader--and this book shows special educators how to choose and navigate their own individual path to educational leadership. Author Belva Collins, a seasoned educator herself, knows that many special education teachers are called on as "leaders by default" when colleagues turn to them for expertise. In this empowering professional development resource, she shows special educators how to pursue more intentional leadership roles so they can maximize their impact in preK-12 schools.

Step-by-step procedures for planning, selecting, and tailoring interventions for at-risk learners with a unique focus on how to individualize interventions using actual case examples. In addition, this volume offers guidelines for gathering and interpreting data in a manner that assists in identifying targets for intervention and rich discussion and information relating to specific academic, cognitive, and behavioral manifestations of students with learning difficulties in reading, math, writing, and oral language.

Evidence-based classroom practices for supporting students with autism spectrum disorders in the general education classroom. Companion volume to "The ASD nest model: a framework for inclusive education for higher functioning children with autism spectrum disorders."--Publisher

Explicit instruction is systematic, direct, engaging, and success oriented--and has been shown to promote achievement for all students. This highly practical and accessible resource gives special and general education teachers the tools to implement explicit instruction in any grade level or content area. --from publisher description

More than ever before, students are coming to school with social, emotional, and behavioral issues that could have a negative impact on their learning. What's more, the pressure on teachers for their students to perform well on high-stakes testing can take the focus away from addressing behavioral issues. This book provides an inclusive approach to behavior focused on building relationships, community, behavior skills, and academic achievement. The CALM framework provides teachers with successful behavior strategies that will create a comfortable, safe, respectful, and encouraging learning environment for students and teachers alike. -publisher

How can schools and districts support better outcomes for students with autism spectrum disorders (ASD)? Find the answers in this essential guide for administrators and educators, a user-friendly roadmap for assessing teachers' current instruction and implementing evidence-based teaching practices. The heart of this unique resource is an efficient Classroom Observation Tool developed by the authors (in collaboration with classroom teachers and administrators), which helps support school teams in implementing evidence-based practices for teaching students with ASD.

"Even more comprehensive and user friendly than the popular previous edition, this text follows the same basic format: the Building Blocks model targets 12 factors and abilities related to school success and gives teachers practical strategies for helping students succeed as well as a detailed questionnaire that pinpoints student strengths and needs." -publisher

"Perfect for K–2 classrooms, this book presents the field-tested, research-based Making Friends program, a toolbox of adaptable, practical strategies that fit right into your regular school day. You'll help students respect and accept each other's differences through three methods: 1) reading diversity-themed stories and conducting brief whole-class discussions; 2) forming small learning groups that encourage children from diverse backgrounds to play and interact; and 3) sharing the storybooks you read with families so they can continue discussions at home." -publisher

"This book builds on the success of the first one by expanding the focus from within the classroom to all areas of the school environment—in the hallways, cafeteria, and auditorium, on the playground, and in therapy sessions during the school day. See a particular behavior? Look it up!" -Goodreads.com

How to stay calm, cool, and in control of your classroom

Today’s teachers face more challenges than ever before in managing student behavior in the classroom. Rich Korb brings extensive teaching and administrative experience to his collection of strategies designed to keep teachers and students focused on learning.

This new edition includes information on the eighth intelligence (the naturalist), a chapter on a possible ninth intelligence (the existential), and updated information and resources throughout the text to help educators at all levels apply MI theory to curriculum development, lesson planning, assessment, special education, cognitive skills, educational technology, career development, educational policy, and more. The book includes dozens of practical tips, strategies, and examples from real schools and districts--as well as solid outcomes of MI, including improved test scores and discipline. Armstrong provides tools, resources, and ideas that educators can immediately use to help students of all ages achieve their fullest potential in life.

This book is designed to be a valuable resource for all educators who seek to gain a better understanding of learning disabilities, effective classroom practices, and meeting the instructional, emotional, and social needs of struggling students. Educators will benefit from the extensive research provided in the book and they will gain a thorough understanding of the importance of creating, supporting, and maintaining valuable interventions and how to do so effectively.

"This highly practical book is one of the few resources available to guide classroom teachers and special educators in the application of peer-assisted instructional strategies in grades K-12. Expert contributors describe evidence-based approaches for building students' skills in reading, writing, math, and other content areas, as well as social competence and executive functioning." -publisher

For professionals who work with students on the autism spectrum in inclusive classroom settings, supporting emotional regulation is key. This practical guide outlines cognitive and language strategies that support emotional regulation, which the authors have found successful with their students with autism, supported by research that shows why they work. The focus in this book is on the emotional state of the child as opposed to controlling behaviours. The guidelines and strategies provided help students with prediction and make the expectations of them clear, empowering children by giving them choices.

"This quick-guide puts key psychological principles and classroom-ready strategies at every K-12 teacher's fingertips, so they can provide effective support for students with emotional or behavioral issues and recognize when outside help is needed." -Goodreads.com

Engelmann's work has transformed the instructional experience of thousands of students and has also led to noted improvements in school behavioral climates and instructional practices. This book is a tribute to the legacy and genius of Siegfried Engelmann and his decades of work in developing the DI curricular programs.

Even veteran teachers of students with autism sometimes need help to determine why their instructional methods are not getting the desired results. In Solve Common Teaching Challenges in Children with Autism, behavior and education experts describe 8 potential problem areas, and offer teaching strategies to promote successful learning.

"This book gives you a detailed, step-by-step guide to the research-based Co-Design Model, an innovative, schoolwide approach used in districts nationwide to strengthen collaboration and inclusion. Going far beyond typical co-teaching models focused only on instruction, the proven Co-Design Model works because it targets nine areas essential to inclusive, collaborative education, and it creates a powerful network of support for teachers and administrators." -from the publisher

Updated to reflect the needs and priorities of 21st-century special educators, offers practical guidance on such topics as roles and responsibilities, school environment and culture, classroom organization and management, collaboration with other professionals, and individual professional development. -publisher

"Packed with field-tested strategies, case studies, and planning tools, this hands-on guide will help teachers deliver effective universal instruction in core content areas and create customized adaptations and flexible supports for students with diverse needs and abilities. Teachers will learn what really works in inclusion, and they'll discover how to seamlessly weave in modifications while encouraging each student's sense of belonging." -Goodreads.com

The key to effective classroom management starts with instruction. Teaching Behavior goes beyond setting classroom rules, communicating consequences, and providing the usual tips on engaging students and building relationships. It draws on the most current, evidence-based practices at the heart of effective teaching so you can maximize student success.

Discover how to support high-functioning and collaborative teacher teams in early childhood programs by developing healthy and confident team leaders. This manual covers topics of dynamic team teaching including: how to create unified teams, how to become teacher leaders, how to give and receive feedback, and how to build and assess differentiated curriculum. Uniit Carruyo has been an early childhood educator for more than twenty years and is currently the Director of Education at Ithaca Montessori School in Ithaca, New York. Carruyo received her MS Ed in Leadership from Bank Street College of Education.

"Visual supports have been proven to be a highly effective way to communicate with, and teach, a student with an autism spectrum disorder or other learning difficulty." -Goodreads.com

"In this new second edition, David Mitchell, a leading writer in special and inclusive education, continues to break new ground with revised and updated strategies based on evidence from the most recent studies in the field. From the myriad of related research available, only those studies with genuine potential for improving the practices of teachers and schools have been included, with the aim of facilitating practitioners in providing high-quality learning and social outcomes for all." -Goodreads.com