Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Information is Power in an Interview or Job Search
Conducting research prior to a networking event or interview or for internship preparation will help you answer the question: What is an employer thinking about or trying to do? What is hindering or helping progress? Focusing your investigation on these areas will assist in tailoring job search materials or interview responses to a company’s focus.
Before you get to the interview, however, you will want to be sure you are actually interested in getting the position. Resources on this page can help you understand the skills and personality traits that are the best match for a given position, and also let you explore salary ranges and geographical concentration for an occupation. The Business/SPEA Library also offers the HIRE ED service in which business information experts give you the research needed to have a competitive edge for your internship or interview.
Career Possibilities Research
- My Next MoveSponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this site lets you investigate various career to see what skills, education and personality traits are required, what the job entails and what the future prospects for employment are like.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookGenerated by the U.S. Department of Labor, the OOH profiles cover hundreds of occupations and describe what they do, work environment, pay, and more.
- O*Net Interest ProfilerNot sure which career suit your abilities and interests? Use this resource to explore careers that may be a good fit for you.
- America's Career InfoNetA website sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. The "Explore Careers" section provides a number of information sources related to occupations, industries, and skills. See salary ranges for specific occupations in specific locations, browse an occupational profile to see required skills that might match interest areas, and more.
- Compensation Research GuideFrom the Business/SPEA Library, this guide contains resources to help you research salary and cost-of-living information for position negotiation and/or other career-related activities.
- Career Information GuideA website generated by the IUB Libraries that points toward sources of information for exploring careers, looking for internships and jobs, and writing resumes and cover letters.
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
This link opens in a new window
Readers Guide is a library database that provides access to full-text articles for a variety of publications (news, trade, scholarly). One can search across historical runs of business publications like Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Fortune, and Forbes and general interest publications like The New York Times, Time, and U.S. News & World Report. - Gale Directory Library
- This link opens in a new window
Associations Unlimited is a library database that provides descriptions of associations, professional societies, and nonprofit organizations, at local, state, national and international levels. Professional and trade associations can provide general information and career profiles in a particular industry.
