Learning Disabilities

From Goodreads.com:
The ABCs of Learning Disabilities, Second Edition, discusses major research findings on learning disabilities in children, adolescents and adults in language, memory, social skills, self-regulation, reading, mathematics, and writing, with an additional chapter on assessment. This concise primer is intended for use as an undergraduate introductory text to the field. Written with an evenness of tone, breadth, and depth, the conveys an engaging style meant to encourage the beginning student to identify the big picture and to be interested in conceptual issues as well as research findings.

This book helps educators and clinicians navigate the maze of laws, policies, and scientific research relating to diagnostic and intervention decision making for adolescents and adults. Leading expert Noël Gregg provides clear guidance on how to conduct and document evidence-based assessments and select appropriate instructional and testing accommodations. --from publisher description

From Goodreads.com:
This practical manual presents an evidence-based coaching model for helping students whose academic performance is suffering due to deficits in executive skills, including time and task management, planning, organization, impulse control, and emotional regulation. In just a few minutes a day, coaches can provide crucial support and instruction tailored to individual students' needs. From leading experts, the book provides detailed guidelines for incorporating coaching into a response-to-intervention framework, identifying students who can benefit, conducting each session, and monitoring progress.

Gifted students with learning disabilities (GTLD) can be easily missed in the classroom and often have difficulty succeeding with traditional gifted curricula. This book provides a road map for understanding assessment and programming for GTLD students in the era of Response to Intervention. The book helps educators understand the often frustrating experiences GTLD students face in the classroom and identify accommodations and adaptations that allow these bright students to demonstrate their gifts and compensate for their processing challenges.

This book, written in accessible, common sense and non-academic language, provides an easy-to-follow alternative curriculum specifically designed to enhance and enrich the learning of children with profound and multiple learning difficulties.

K-12 educators will learn how to use the three key principles of UDL ”Engagement, Representation, and Action & Expression” to present information in multiple ways and meet the needs of diverse learners. Written in first person, like a face-to-face talk with a passionate educator, the book gives teachers a reader-friendly UDL primer and a practical framework for implementation, with detailed guidelines on lesson planning and checkpoints that help them stay on track. -Goodreads.com

From Goodreads.com:
Use the latest research to bring differentiated instruction to today's inclusive classrooms! With flipped classrooms, response to intervention, and technology discussed as differentiated instructional tools, this book has it all! Teachers need 21st century resources that help them provide high-quality, differentiated instruction for all students. In this new edition of his best-selling resource, William Bender draws on the latest brain research, technology, and educational initiatives to bring a new focus to differentiating instruction in the context of the Common Core State Standards. By weaving together differentiated instruction, Response to Intervention, and educational technology, educators can increase achievement among students with learning disabilities and also foster the development of 21st-century skills.

Through immediately actionable strategies, tools and tasks, this book helps K-5 teachers know and understand their students as learners, plan for differentiation at both the macro level and the day-to-day classroom level, assess learning as it occurs and revise teaching strategies responsively, and manage the ins and outs of facilitating the ideal differentiated learning space.

"This book is about how I learned to teach a second language to those who either have failed before or were not really given a chance to succeed. I wrote it to help others to be smart, productive teachers of foreign languages to students with learning disabilities. The book called me. My life journey prepared and inspired me to write it." --Irene Brouwer Konyndyk, from her preface

From Goodreads.com:
Covering characteristics and methods, this comprehensive book discusses how to teach and understand students with learning and other mild disabilities. Each chapter includes case studies, examples, and narratives from teachers and professionals who work with preK-12 students with learning disabilities. Discussion of the IDEA Improvement Act of 2004 appears throughout, including topics such as: ADHD, inclusion, collaboration, families and communities, diversity and functional behavioral assessment.

This book serves two major objectives: it provides up-to-date information to the readers on theories and current practices in remediation of learning disability, and demonstrates the therapeutic effectiveness of two major techniques of intervention, namely, cognitive behaviour therapy and computer-assisted instruction, through a series of case studies. Thus, it bridges the theory-practice gap originating out of the difference between fundamental research and its actual implementation and places the treatment programmes on a firmer scientific footing by validating them empirically. -Goodreads.com

When you are good at planning and organizing, your day just runs smoother. And guess what? These skills can help you reach your goals, tool Packed with examples, activities, and fun, this workbook will help you: Build good habits, Organize your stuff, Manage your time, Create reminders for yourself, Develop routines, Get things done, Plan projects, And much morel, Learning to Plan and Be Organized also includes a note and additional resources for parents. Book jacket.

From Goodreads.com:
The Learning Tree offers a new understanding of learning problems. Rather than looking just at symptoms, this new approach describes how to find the missing developmental steps that cause these symptoms. The best solution to the problem comes from knowing what essential skills to strengthen.Using the metaphor of a tree, Dr. Stanley Greenspan explains that the roots represent how children take in the world through what they hear, see, smell, and touch. The trunk represents thinking skills through which children grow both academically and socially. From these, the branches—children’s basic abilities to read, write, do math, and organize their work—develop.

Designed to be a valuable resource, this book provides educators, administrators, practitioners, and families with a clear understanding of how to meet the instructional, emotional, and social needs of students with learning disabilities. Readers will benefit from the extensive research provided and will gain an appreciation for the importance of collaboration, creating safe and supportive learning environments, as well as effectively implementing interventions.

"A new approach to help kids with ADHD and LD succeed in and outside the classroom. This groundbreaking book addresses the consequences of the unabated stress associated with Learning disabilities and ADHD and the toxic, deleterious impact of this stress on kids' academic learning, social skills, behavior, and efficient brain functioning... This book...offers a new way to look at why kids with ADHD/LD struggle at school, provides effective strategies to reduce stress in kids with ADHD and LD, includes helpful rating scales, checklists, and printable charts to use at school and home"--Provided by publisher.

This book is designed to be a valuable resource for all educators who seek to gain a better understanding of learning disabilities, effective classroom practices, and meeting the instructional, emotional, and social needs of struggling students. Educators will benefit from the extensive research provided in the book and they will gain a thorough understanding of the importance of creating, supporting, and maintaining valuable interventions and how to do so effectively.

Designed to support professionals working within a multi-modal, collaborative approach to assessment and intervention processes, it is suitable for health visitors, allied health therapists, nurses, teachers and social care practitioners. It is also a useful reference for students in these areas learning about child development and includes critical reading exercises; online searching tasks; self-assessment questions; reflective activities and document analysis prompts"--Provided by publisher.

This practical sourcebook is packed full of fun, low-cost games and activities that encourage the development of motor skills, coordination and sensory tolerance in young children. Using materials that are readily-available in most households or that can be purchased or homemade at a very low cost, these games and activities are appropriate for all children, including those with autism, ADHD, Sensory Processing Disorder, and other learning challenges.

"Decodes the often confusing rules of social behavior for all children. Socially ADDept helps educators and parents teach the hidden rules of social behavior to children with limited social skills, notably those with special needs like ADHD, learning disabilities, Asperger's and high-functioning autism, Tourette Syndrome, and nonverbal learning disabilities. The author provides all the information parents and professionals need to know to help kids learn social skills in simple, concise explanations."-- Provided by publisher.

Filling an important need for K-12 educators, this highly practical book provides a step-by-step guide to cognitive strategy instruction, one of the most effective instructional techniques for struggling learners. The authors present well-validated strategies that target self-regulated learning and study skills as well as performance in specific content areas, such as writing, reading, and math.

"Packed with effective instructional strategies, this book explores why certain K-5 students struggle with math and provides a framework for helping these learners succeed... Concrete examples, easy-to-implement lesson-planning ideas, and connections to state standards, in particular the Common Core standards, enhance the book's utility." -publisher

Unlock math concepts for struggling learners with the expanded new edition of this bestselling text, ideal for both preservice and in-service educators. Filled with invaluable tips, tools, and research-based strategies for Grades K--12, this comprehensive resource fully prepares teachers to demystify math for a wide range of learners, including students with learning disabilities, ADHD, and mild cognitive disabilities. Thoroughly updated and aligned with current state standards, this second edition includes the latest research, an enhanced instructional framework, expanded coverage of hot topics like RTI and assessment, and more.

Presented are practical, evidence-based techniques and activities that target letter- sound pairings, decoding and blending, sight words, multisyllabic words, and fluency. Ideal for use in primary-grade classrooms, the book also offers specific guidance for working with older children who are having difficulties.

"This book is the definitive resource on how the brain creates meaning from print, and is indispensible for educators seeking fresh solutions for students struggling with reading. Drawing from five key areas of neurocognitive research, Andrew Johnson provides a ten-point teaching strategy that encompasses vocabulary, fluency, comprehension, writing and more." -publisher

Strategies in teaching remedial reading. Accompanying CD-ROM includes Appendices A-B and additional level 3 stories.

In an educational system founded on rigid standards and categories, students who demonstrate a very specific manifestation of intelligence flourish, while those who deviate tend to fall between the cracks. Too often, talents and interests that do not align with classroom conventions are left unrecognized and unexplored in children with extraordinary potential but little opportunity. For twice-exceptional (2e) children, who have extraordinary strengths coupled with learning difficulties, the problem is compounded by the paradoxical nature of their intellect and an unbending system, ill-equipped to cater to their unique learning needs. -publisher