Epilepsy

"This concise, accessible handbook for families, friends and carers of children with seizures provides all the information they need to approach seizures from a position of strength." -publisher

Provides a concise core of background information on the nature, causes, and treatment of epilepsy, and to supply answers to some of the questions most commonly asked regarding these issues." -publisher

Discusses the myths and facts of epilepsy, including offering medical information, advice on how to deal with the disease, and candid stories from teens living with epilepsy.

"Extensively updated to reflect current advances in understanding how the diet works, how it should be used, and the future role of the diet as a treatment. The best-seller also includes sample meal plans, a food database, a section on how the Atkins and modified ketogenic diet can be used as alternative diets to control epilepsy, and much more." -publisher

"This book explains how epilepsy affects people and their families and helps the reader understand that people with epilepsy can lead normal and fulfilling lives. By following specific individuals and quoting their experiences it gives a vivid insight into what it is like to have epilepsy." -publisher

Join Meena as she navigates the triumphs and challenges of family, friendship, and personal secrets in this charming middle grade debut. Meena's life is full of color. She wears vibrant clothes, eats every shade of the rainbow, and plucks eye-catching trash from the neighborhood recycling bins. But when Meena's best friend, Sofía, stops playing with her at recess and she experiences an unexpected and scary incident at breakfast, nothing can fight off the gray. That's when Meena comes up with a plan to create the BEST and most COLORFUL Valentine's Day Box in the class. With the help of her cousin, Eli, and her stuffed zebra, Raymond, Meena discovers that the best way to break through the blah is to let her true colors shine.

Meena's life is more colorful than ever. When she finds a mysterious ring that seems to give her powers, Meena sets out to prove that she's a superhero. The trouble is, her best friends might not believe her, Meena's little sister wants to be more than just a sidekick, and worst of all, an incident at school makes everyone think Meena is the one who needs to be saved. But even heroes need help from their friends sometimes. If Meena can figure that out, she might just discover her true powers...and theirs!

"This training product includes all the materials needed to successfully implement a 45-minute seizure recognition and first-aid training for students in a classroom setting."[--Enclosed letter] Also includes an additional component for training beyond the initial lesson.

A new way to look at some autistic behavior as the result of seizures rather than the autism itself. Includes up-to-date research and practical strategies.--Publisher.