Americans with Disabilities Act

This manual covers the design, improvement, maintenance and management of accessible environments. It shows you how to provide and run buildings, services, and employment facilities to enable independent and convenient use by everyone.

The Accessible Home goes beyond ramps and grab-bars to help aging boomers, or those faced with disabilities, accomplish home accessibility on a deeper level. With a focus on closing the gap between home and homeowner, architect Deborah Pierce leads readers through the steps of universal design--from hiring the right architect to creating a pleasing space with the final details.

Rather than simply presenting the ADAAG, the author enhances understanding of key issue by adding explanations, commentary, and illustrations to help walk the reader through roundabout bureaucratic language.

Integrate your designs with compliant access interpretations ADA in Details provides a visual interpretation of the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for a convenient, go-to reference of pertinent scoping, technical requirements, and sourcing information. Architects, designers, and everyone else involved in the built environment can turn to this authoritative resource to understand accessibility compliance for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and public buildings.

The ADA Quiz Book: Fourth Edition is a fun, interactive introduction to the updated regulations of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). It is a comprehensive ADA training tool featuring an updated collection of quizzes, puzzles and case study scenarios which are appropriate for individual study or group trainings and seminars.

By showing how The 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act Standards for Accessible Design have been applied in various contexts and building types, this extensively illustrated guide helps readers quickly understand the requirements of the standards and how to apply them to both new construction and renovation.

The Art of Access: A Practical Guide for Museum Accessibility is a one-stop guide to the incremental ways your museum can build a comprehensive approach to accessibility that can be easily integrated into the fabric of your museum. Highlights include: Consultation with leaders in the field and calling on practitioners from across the disciplines (art, science, history, business, living collections).

Beyond the Americans with Disabilities Act is a primer and quick reference guide for higher education professionals who work with students with disabilities, both apparent and hidden. Written for administrators, faculty, and staff, the book provides transferable information that is applicable to any campus.

Disability can affect adults across the life span--and it is the one minority group every person could join. This sourcebook aims to broaden the view of disability from a medical or economic concern to a social justice concern.

Accessibility requirements that apply to commercial, residential, and existing buildings. The book focuses on four industry publications: the International buidling code and its Accessibility reference standard, the Revised American with disabilities act, architectural barriers act accessibility guidelines, and the federal Fair housing act's accessibility guidelines.

This book is based on research and scholarship produced by the Meyerson Disability Research Project (MDRP) at the University of Arizona. Its chapters are divided into two major sections: 1) Disability Research Areas and 2) Disability Policy Areas. The first section addresses some relatively new areas of research and scholarship with adults and children, such as the use of technology (e.g., videoconferencing and computer technology) in service delivery, whereas the second section critically examines various public policy and legal areas that impact the daily lives of many persons having a disability.

Diversity, equity, accessibility, and inclusion in all aspects of museums' structure and programming are top issues in the field today - and in the overall arts/culture sector. Much has been written, from various perspectives, over several decades. Yet, a lack of diversity remains and exclusive practices and inequities persist in all types of museums. A go-to resource for readers interested in learning about diversity and inclusion work in the field - past, present and future.

This ground-breaking book aims to take a new and innovative view on how disability and architecture might be connected. Rather than putting disability at the end of the design process, centred mainly on compliance, it sees disability – and ability – as creative starting points for the whole design process.

Provides a holistic guide to accessibility that addresses common issues and gives strategies for responding to unique situations. This book is a single-source guide relevant to all library functions that librarians can easily refer to when planning, remediating, or evaluating for accessibility.

For public accommodations and commercial facilities including standards for recreational facilities, including swimming pools and spas.
Requirements for the 2010 ADA Standards presented for quick reference for use at your desk or in the field. Over 400 pages of text and diagrams with no confusing abbreviations.

“Nothing about us without us” has been a core principle of American disability rights activists for more than half a century. It represents a response by people with disabilities to being treated with scorn and abuse or as objects of pity, and to having the most fundamental decisions relating to their lives—where they would live; if and how they would be educated; if they would be allowed to marry or have families; indeed, if they would be permitted to live at all—made by those who were, in the parlance of the movement, “temporarily able-bodied.”

"Features information on firing, wages, health insurance, medical leave, retirement plans, disability and worker's compensation insurance, discrimination, and privacy rights with up-to-date state and federal law information." -publisher

Integrate your designs with compliant access interpretations. ADA in Details provides a visual interpretation of the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for a convenient, go-to reference of pertinent scoping, technical requirements, and sourcing information. Architects, designers, and everyone else involved in the built environment can turn to this authoritative resource to understand accessibility compliance for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and public buildings. -publisher

The document includes:
The 2010 Standards for State and local governments, which consist of the Title II regulations at 28 CFR 35.151 and the 2004 ADAAG at 36 CFR part 1191, appendices B and D; the 2010 Standards for public accommodations and commercial facilities, which consist of the Title III regulations at 28 CFR part 36, subpart D, and the 2004 ADAAG at 36 CFR part 1191, appendices B and D.

The following includes guidance from the revised regulations
related to 28 CFR 35.151; 28 CFR part 36, subpart D; and
the 2004 ADAAG. It addresses changes to the Standards,
the reasoning behind those changes, and responses to public comments received on these topics

This final rule revises the regulation of the Department of Justice (Department) that implements title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), relating to nondiscrimination on the basis of disability in State and local government services.

This final rule revises the Department of Justice (Department) regulation that implements title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), relating to nondiscrimination on the basis of disability by public accommodations and in commercial facilities.