Aging and Disabilities

This book explores various aspects related to human longevity and aging beyond 100 years old. It examines all domains of health and well-being of this elite group including the current demographics, genetics and epigenetics of exceptional longevity, cardiovascular risk factors, dementia, nutrition, physical activity, African American and Hispanic centenarians, financial planning, religion, spirituality, whole health, wellness, oral health, and nature. The book also delves into the lives of supercentenarians, defined as expert survivors who have lived beyond 110 years old. The implications of the Age-Friendly Healthcare Systems (AFHS) Movement on the care of centenarians are also discussed.

What is the lived experience of previously healthy older adults as they face disability in late life, and how is disability assimilated in their identity? How do prevailing practices facilitate--or limit--options for elders living with new disabilities? To address these questions, Jeffrey Kahana and Eva Kahana uniquely synthesize disability and gerontological perspectives to explore both the unfolding challenges of aging and the practices and policies that can enhance the lives of older adults.

"Elderburbia: Aging with a Sense of Place in America" argues that aging is not about time and the body, but about place and relationships. Drawing on the fascinating, multidisciplinary field of ethnography, it gives readers a deeper understanding of how the aging experience is shaped by where people call home, as well as a look at what makes a place well-suited for post-retirement living.

The age-friendly community movement is a global phenomenon, currently growing with the support of the WHO and multiple international and national organizations in the field of aging. Drawing on an extensive collection of international case studies, this volume provides an introduction to the movement. The contributors - both researchers and practitioners - touch on a number of current tensions and issues in the movement and offer a wide-ranging set of recommendations for advancing age-friendly community development. The book concludes with a call for a radical transformation of a medical and lifestyle model of aging into a relational model of health and social/individual wellbeing.

The second edition of this landmark textbook is distinguished by its pioneering approach to encompassing disability and aging policies under one umbrella, in response to the newly developed Administration on Aging and Disability. It addresses policy changes impacting health and disability services resulting from the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and other new legislation, and offers a pioneering approach to transforming policy into practice applications. New to the second edition is current census data and new legislative mandates from the ACA and other policy organizations impacting aging adults and/or disabled populations. Also included is new coverage on Social Media, Motivational Interviewing, Health Literacy, Underrepresented Groups, LGBT, and Rural Communities.

Drawing on her own experiences with late-onset disability and its impact on her sex life, along with her expertise as a cultural critic, Jane Gallop explores how disability and aging work to undermine one's sense of self. She challenges common conceptions that equate the decline of bodily potential and ability with a permanent and irretrievable loss, arguing that such a loss can be both temporary and positively transformative. With Sexuality, Disability, and Aging, Gallop explores and celebrates how sexuality transforms and becomes more queer in the lives of the no longer young and the no longer able while at the same time demonstrating how disability can generate new forms of sexual fantasy and erotic possibility.

STAYING POWER: Age-Proof Your Home for Comfort, Safety and Style helps you shape your space to meet your changing needs as you grow older. It's "sensible, useful, comprehensive and engagingly written," says Paula Span of The New York Times "New Old Age" blog. STAYING POWER: Age-Proof Your Home for Comfort, Safety and Style helps you shape your space to meet your changing needs as you grow older. This practical, problem-solving handbook can help you and the people you care about enjoy freedom, comfort and safety in familiar surroundings.

This is a reprint of articles from the Special Issue published online in the open access journal International journal of environmental research and public health" (ISSN 1660-4601) from 2018 to 2019) (available at: https://www.mdpi.com/journal/ijerph/special_issues/work_ability). Includes statistical tables.

Autism is a childhood condition ... right? Not right. Children with autism grow into adults with autism. The great strides we have made in understanding childhood autistic behaviors and interventions have lagged dramatically behind the needs of aging autistics. What of the young adult trying to build relationships? What of the middle aged autistic adult who has been misdiagnosed with bipolar disorder and lacks an effective treatment plan? What of the aging adult who is showing increasingly rigid autistic behaviors and is misdiagnosed as having frontotemporal dementia? Understanding Autism in Adults and Aging Adults is a one-of-a-kind resource designed to improve the correct diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder in adults. Filled with clinical stories that bring to life the concepts discussed, the book provides strategy-based interventions to address issues of personal and household management, medical care, communication, sensory processing symptoms, and emotional and behavioral regulation.

Grounded in a unique team-based geriatrics perspective, this book delivers a broad range of current, evidence-based knowledge about innovative technology that has the potential to advance the care and well-being of older adults. It provides key information about the development, selection, and implementation of technology products, and describes research evidence, education-based initiatives, and systems thinking. The book also examines challenges and barriers to implementation, adoption, and innovation.

This presentation is a pilot program designed to help older supported employees with disability transition out of paid work. They are supported to join mainstream community or volunteer groups where they can participate and enjoy their retirement years. This DVD includes six stories following people who are participating in the transition to retirement program. Includes comments by project leaders.

By traveling Indiana and looking at the lives of older adults in a wide variety of settings and situations, and through insightful conversations with a panel of leading experts, this local production explores the questions: Are there things that we can do to help minimize the rough spots in the aging process? And, are there measures we can take to maximize the opportunities unique to our older selves?