Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

EndNote at Indiana University - Bloomington

Groups

In early versions of EndNote  you chose between using a single library or multiple libraries for different projects.
You can still use multiple libraries, but it may be simpler and (especially when using cite-while-you-write) more efficient to use groups.

In an EndNote library go to the top band and choose "Groups", then "Create Group" and name the group. Highlight the references you want to belong to the group and right click to "add to group"  You may also drag and drop the highlighted references into the group.  You may also use copy and paste.

You may select a number of references by highlighting them, and with a right click create when prompted a group for the highlighted records.

You can assign a record to multiple groups.

Removing a reference from a group only removes it from the one particular group.  It does not remove it  from other groups or from "All references."

There is another utility called a "Smart Group".  This allows you to assign a keyword or term in a field  to a group and any record in your library and any record later imported will become a member of that group.  Take care, though, because if you remove a reference from a Smart Group, you also remove it from All References.

Attaching Files

The file attachment field allows you to attach files to individual references in your EndNote Library.
You can copy and paste the file into the reference or drag and drop.

Any type of file can go into the attachment field: PDFs, jpgs, gifs, mpegs, excels or others.

The field will accomodate up to 45 separate files.  (If you put a file in the image field, you can only put one)

A paper clip in the library display indicates there is a file attached to that referece.

This feature allows you to have full text of articles available and associated with your bibliography record, and the PDFs are fully searchable within EndNote.

The files reside in the .DATA folder created when you first create your EndNote library.  Keep the library and the .DATA together, and do not lose either.

Annotated bibliography

For an easy annotated bibliography, open your EndNote Library or the group you want to work with

Clear out the information in the notes field. 
You can put the information in an unused field.  Label is the best choice. 
You can cut and paste or use the move fields option. 
To move fields, go to tools, then Change/Move/Copy fields. 
Use Move/Copy fields.  Select Move field.  Then use the drop down menu and chose From: Notes  and To: Label and "replace entire field".

Enter in the Notes field your own comments

You now want to edit your style.
Go to Edit, then Output style
If your style is showing click on it to edit
If your style is not showing, use Open Style Manager to select it

On the left you will see the parameters for your style

 

Go down to Bibliography, then select Layout.

In the bottom pane (End each reference with:) use the "Insert Field" option (upper left of the bottom pane)
Insert End of Paragraph (to create a line spece between the reference and the annotations)
Insert a tab (if you wish) so the annotations even up with the bibliography
Insert Notes (so the information in the notes field will show
Insert another end of paragraph (to created a line space between annotated references

Save the edited style. The default is ...Copy,  but you can rename it, say to APAannotated or something with your initials so you recognize it.

Back in your EndNote Library, go to the styles box and select another style.  Select the style you just created and saved.

Your preview will now show the annotations beneath the bibliographic reference.

 

 

And when copied (formatted) to Word, you annotated biblioraphy will look like this: