Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artists' Books Resources

Journals

Artists' Book News This online journal showcases professional book artists. A central marketplace for buyers and sellers of the book arts to connect. All books are available for purchase.

Blue Notebook Bristol, UK. 2007- .  A online British publication with an emphasis on European book artists.

Hand Papermaking Washington, D.C. 1986 - Articles deal with the art of papermaking the book making field, techniaques and materials, museum collections of paper sculptures and other topics.

Journal of Artists' Books [JAB]  NY. 1984- (Current Issues on Reserve). Journal addressing artists' book issues, published biannually.  Articles include reviews of books about the artist's boo as well as reviews of artists' books themselves. (Back issues in Special Collections,  ask for them at the circulation desk.)

 

Journal Indexes

Art Full Text Indexes articles on all aspects of art and architecture published in 370+ International periodicals since 1984 with fulltext coverage of selected journals starting in 1997.

Art Index Retrospective Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of art and architecture published in over 420 international periodicals between 1929 and August 1984.

ARTbibliographies Modern  Abstracts of international publications in all aspects of art and design since 1900; also photography since 1839, architecture and 19th century published prior to 1980.

Internet Resources

The Book Art Blog  Founded in 2010 by Bay Area-based book artist and creative writer Mirabelle Jones. This blog was created to serve as a source of information and inspiration for established and aspiring book artists and their fans.

Artist Books 3.0  An online forum for artists, curators, librarians, students, and researchers interested in artist books and the book arts.   

Artists' Books Online An online collection of artists' books in digital format with essays and links to other collections.

The Book Arts Web This site features links to a large selection of book arts related sites on the web, including educational opportunities, professional organizations, tutorials, reference materials, and galleries with images.

Colophon Page, Modern Illustrated and Fine Press Books    A revue of modern and contemporary illustrated books and related works on paper. It has the latest news and scholarship regarding fine books to a community of collectors, artists, dealers, scholars, and other lovers of the arts of the book.

Printed Matter, Inc. A large non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of publications made by artists.

San Francisco Center for the Book  Organization for books and bookmaking, the history, artistry, and continuing presence of books in our culture and enduring importance as a medium of self-expression.   For Bay Area book artists and also a place where the wider community can discover book arts.

Women's Studio Workshop  Founded in 1974 to develop an alternative space for artists to create new work and share skills. They provide grants, workspace, internships and classes.