Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using eBooks at Indiana University

Collections M-R

Making of Modern Law     Making of the Modern World     National Academies Press      OECD iLibrary     Oxford Reference      Oxford Scholarship Online     Past Masters Full Text Humanities      Patrologia Latina      Project Muse     Royal Society of    Chemistry's Books       Russian-Ottoman Relations 

 

Making of Modern Law

Making of Modern Law: British and American legal treatises 1800-1926      Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law (1600-1926)      Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources (1620-1926)      Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 Digital Archive      Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources (1600-1970)
Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents for navigation
Page through chapter with reader
Pages are in the original format
To print or download: click on Print/PDF
Example:
View/print current page in PDF format.
View/print up to 250 pages in PDF format.
This work contains 837 page images.
Select 1-250 251-500 501-750 751-837
Or, enter image numbers and/or image ranges separated by commas. E.g., 1, 3, 5-7, 11-15.
You may also View/print current page in PDF format.
Or Reformat the page for printing (current page)
Download to EndNote not available

 

Making of the Modern World

Table of contents available, although sometimes detailed and sometimes not; list of illustrations also sometimes included
You may read the work in by paging through images of the original text
Zoom and percentages available to enlarge text
Full citation available
Email citation available
No plain text available
No separate provision for saving images (no JPEG, for example); rely on the PDF for saving images
Print and download follow the same procedures
Print: Current Page in PDF Format or View/print up to 250 pages in PDF format. (This work contains 274 page images. Enter image number ranges in the form: 1-15.)
NOTE: The total number of pages shown for this work is based on the sequential image numbers assigned to each page image in the collection, which often do not correspond to the page numbers originally printed in the document. You can download/print up to 250 page images at a time. For larger works, you will need to make separate downloads, each indicating the required page ranges. For example, for a work with 392 page images, download the first 250 pages, and then as a second download, request pages 251- 392.
Download: "Current Page in PDF Format or Download up to 250 pages in PDF format. This work contains 274 page images. Enter image number ranges in the form: 1-15."
NOTE: "The total number of pages shown for this work is based on the sequential image numbers assigned to each page image in the collection, which often do not correspond to the page numbers originally printed in the document. You can download/print up to 250 page images at a time. For larger works, you will need to make separate downloads, each indicating the required page ranges. For example, for a work with 392 page images, download the first 250 pages, and then as a second download, request pages 251-392."
Register for a free account: save marked items, search lists and notepad
Download to EndNote available; click on "Ci" icon and choose Export to third party software
 

National Academies Press

Unlimited simultaneous users
You may read the books online
You may print individual pdf pages as you read
You may copy and paste from the text format as you read
Table of contents navigation is available
Search this book is available
If you sign in, you may download the entire book or selected chapters in pdf format
Export references to Endnote is available
 

OECD iLibrary

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents available for navigation
You may read, save and print individual chapters in pdf format
You may download the entire book in pdf format
There is no separate reader
Export to EndNote is available through "Cite this …"
 

Oxford Reference

Unlimited simultaneous users
Search or browse a book
You may page through the book in text format
Copy and paste is available
You may print entries, one by one
You may email entries, one by one
Export references to EndNote is available
 

Oxford Scholarship Online

5 simultaneous users
Table of contents available for navigation
You may search within results
You may read content, chapter by chapter
You may print text, chapter by chapter
You may copy and paste
You may open, download or print a pdf version of the text, chapter by chapter
Export references to EndNote is available
 

Past Masters Full Text Humanities

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents for works
Use table of contents or page through the work
Print view: printing available page by page in text format
No PDFs available
Copy and paste available
Original images not available
Download full text not available
Export to EndNote available
 

Patrologia Latina

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Unlimited simultaneous users
Bibliographic details available
Durable URL available
Table of contents available: Table of contents of volume in the set
Plain text available (plain text only format available)
No PDFs available
No original images available
Copy and paste available
Save: Use copy and paste to save
Print: Use browser printer to print text
Download to EndNote not available
 

Project Muse

8 simultaneous users
Go to advanced search
Search and check off "Only content I have full access to" and "Books"
Other limiters are optional
Click on title for contents
Table of contents is available: PDFs of the chapters
Save or print PDFs
No reader is available
Search inside this book is available
View citation is available
Save citation is available
From saved citations you may download into a citation manager
EndNote download is available
 

Royal Society of Chemistry's Books

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents provides navigation
Open lock means we have access
Books appear as separate chapters in pdf format
There is no independent e-reader
There is no independent print function
You can print or download the chapter pdf separately
There is no provision for downloading an entire book
Export to Endnote is available on Table of Contents page: "Download citation"
*Their .ris file as written is faulty and will import only the DOI (10/5/2011)
 

Russian-Ottoman Relations
Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4

3 simultaneous users
Use arrows to page through the work
The work appears as images of the original
Rotate and enlarge available
No plain text available
No copy and paste available
No PDFs available; all images are jpegs
Contents: The contents table lists thumbnails of pages in the work
Use boxes on the top band to:
Share: Share a link to the resource through social media
Citation: Export citation to RefWorks, Export to EndNote
Download: The download creates a series of jpegs of individual pages. Use save as. The jpegs will be in a folder which you have named as you saved
You are about to download a zipped file containing pages . You can reduce the download times by downloading fewer pages.
Copy: Select the page or an area to copy
Print: Select a page range and click on "print"; you will print the image of the original page
Download to EndNote available