Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using eBooks at Indiana University

Collections G-L

GeoScienceWorld Books      Gutenberg-e      HathiTrust     IEEE Xplore Digital Library     JSTOR      Judaic Scholar Digital Reference Library     Library of Latin Texts     Lecture Notes in Computer Science     Loeb Classical Library     London Low Life 

 

GeoScienceWorld Books

Unlimited simultaneous users
Go to Advanced
Select content type: books
Search
Search within this book available
Book information available
Table of contents available
Click on chapter in table of contents to open pdf text and save or print
Tools: Zoom in, Zoom out, contents, resources, extracted text, print, share
Resources: allows you to download in pdf format
Extracted text: allows you to copy and paste text files
Download to EndNote not available

 

Gutenberg-e

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents provides navigation
Read through the text version of the work
You may copy and paste from the text version
You may print from the text version with a right mouse click and print
You may click on "print" to print or save pdf versions of chapters, if they are available
“Some documents on Gutenberg-e are available in PDF (portable document format) and must be viewed with Adobe Reader”
Export to EndNote is not available

 

HathiTrust Digital Library

Unlimited simultaneous users
Select a full text book in the library
You may download the pdf or a page or of the entire book
You made read with the "Classic view", scroll, flip or thumbnails
You may jump pages
The text is searchable
You may view the book in plain text
Copy and paste is available in the plain text format
A permanent link to the book is available
Export to EndNote is available from "View full catalog record"

 

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Full-text access to periodicals and proceedings from the IEEE Computer Society
Unlimited simultaneous users
Search
PDF and (sometimes HTML) format available
Download: download PDFs available without limits
Print: Print PDFs available without limits
Copy and paste available
Export to EndNote available; not a direct export but through a saved file to import

 

JSTOR Books

Search IUCAT or JSTOR
In JSTOR limit to Books
Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents available
Read Online
No copy and paste available in read online or thumbnail option
Chapter full texts available in pdf format
Copy and paste available in pdf format
Download pdfs without a limit
Print available without a limit in pdf format
Download to EndNote available (Citation tools, export citation)

 

Judaic Scholar Digital Reference Library

Unlimited simultaneous users
Search or browse
Table of contents available for navigation
Read online (locked pdf format)
Copy and paste available: If your browser does not allow access to your computer's clipboard, instead choose "view selection" and click inside that window. Use Control-A then Control-C to copy to your clipboard for further pasting to your other application
Print: Print this page or print highlighted section only
Downloads: No download available, neither pages, nor chapters nor full volume
Downloading the full ebook is available through purchase only
Page link (URL) available
Download to EndNote not available

 

Library of Latin Texts

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents for navigation available
Read by using content list and going from section to section; complete work is not available to read as a single file
Arrows to advance and backpage; arrows to go to start and go to end
Click on book icon after title for bibliographic information, brief biographical note, permalink, and sources
Plain text available
Copy and paste available
Download: PDFs available for each page; not available for entire work or range of pages
PDFs correspond to the contents listed to the left of the text
Print: print from the PDFs; no other printing option available
Download to EndNote not available

 

Lecture Notes in Computer Science

3 simultaneous users
Search or browse
Table of contents available for navigation
Read online in (locked) PDF format
Download: PDF downloading not available
Print: Printing available without limits
Copy and paste available
Download to EndNote available

 

Loeb Classical Library

Unlimited simultaneous users
"View cloth edition" for bibliographic details and other information
Text only available Copy and paste Use arrows to continue reading or "go to page" Print limited to one page at a time. ("The printer icon on the toolbar formats the text and translation that you see on the screen appropriately" Tools: Greek keyboard, search within work, print, bookmark, annotate, share, email, enlarge type
Annotate: "Use the cursor to select the text you wish to annotate. The selected text will be highlighted in blue, and an annotation icon will appear. Click on the annotation icon, and a box will appear in which an annotation can be entered. Annotated text will be highlighted in yellow."
Download to EndNote not available

 

London Low Life

Unlimited simultaneous users
Download: Download entire document as PDF available; download page range available; download image or section available
Download are PDFs of original format image
View original format image
Orientation and sizing available
Use "transcription" for plain text format
Copy and paste available
Use arrows to page through the text, transcription or original image format
Print: save, then print from the download for best results; browser printing tends to truncate images and print.
Images: many images are in color
Download to EndNote available