Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using eBooks at Indiana University

Collections C-E

Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections      CogNet      Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker      Early English Books Online     Ebook Central (ProQuest)       EBSCO eBook Collection      Eighteenth Century Collections Online      Eighteenth Century Collections Online Text Creation Partnership     Emerald Insight     Entre les lignes  Evans Digital Edition

 

Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections

African-American Poetry       African Writers Series      American Drama 1714– 1915      American Poetry      Canadian Poetry      Early American Fiction 1789– 1850      Early American Fiction 1789– 1875      Early English Prose Fiction      Eighteenth-Century Fiction      English Drama      English Poetry      Nineteenth-Century Fiction      Twentieth-Century American Poetry      Twentieth-Century Drama
Unlimited simultaneous users
Bibliographic details available
Table of contents available
Copy and paste available
Durable URL available
Marked list available to: email, print, download citations
Print: Select print view and print this page; printing will be for parts of the volume being viewed (chapters, sections, items.) or for the entire work
View page image available; you can view pages and read through the entire original format (click on "page image")
You can save images of pages
No PDFs available
No text download available; use copy and paste to save text
Download to EndNote available: Download directly to ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager or Download in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager or RefWorks

 

CogNet

Unlimited simultaneous users
A table of contents is available for navigation
Chapters appear as pdf files
You can print or download the chapter pdfs separately
The PDFs are fully searchable
There is no provision for downloading an entire book
There is no independent e-reader
Export references to EndNote is not available

 

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker

Unlimited simultaneous users
Read online available
Copy and paste available
Durable URL available
PDF not available
Original text not available
Download to EndNote not available

 

Early English Books Online

Unlimited simultaneous users
Search or browse to find a book
Note the icons: Record, Document image, Illustration, Full text, Thumbnail
Table of Contents available.
Click on the chapter or section.
HTML text will open. Also you may click on the icon for "View Document image" for individual pages or
facing pages (You may use right mouse and "save image as" to save jpegs of the pages
Copy and paste available
Click on "Printable version" to print the full text of the section or chapter
On the main (bibliographic record) page of the book you may choose to "View this entire document as": a text file, with a "Printable version".
You may click on document image to read through (or save) images of the pages
You may also choose to view the document through thumbnails of images
You may save pages as PDF or TIFF, but these are PDFs and TIFFS of "the current image."
A durable URL is available
You may make notes on documents
You may download PDFs of image sets: Add to marked list, Download document image sets in PDF format, Choose entire document or range of pages
Help is available
Download to a citation manager is available from the marked record page
Direct download to EndNote is available

 

Ebook Central(ProQuest)

ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide

Simultaneous users varies by book. Below the title, look for Availability (as: "Your institution has unlimited access to this book" or "Your institution has access to 1 copy of this book.")
Table of contents provides navigation
Search within book is available
Use arrows forward and back to read in a text format
Tools include: search, cite, zoom in, zoom out, book details, highlight, bookmark, notes, print, copy share link
Create a (free) account to access saved titles in your bookshelf<\li>
Copy, print download
The copy and print limits on most Ebook Central books are based on the following percentage of the number of pages in the book.
Online Allowances (per book, per user session) Copy = 15% Copying multiple selections from a page counts as one copy Print = 30% Print to paper or print to PDF (aka page-range download)
Offline allowances (from ADE or Bluefire, once you’ve full-downloaded) Copy = 10% Print = 10%
A few publishers have set more restrictive limits for copy and print
You will see, for example (for a book of 530 pages):
Availability
Your institution has unlimited access to this book.
Available for Online Reading
79 pages remaining to copy (of 79)
159 pages remaining to print (of 159)
Available for Full Download
Check out for 14 days
Download a title ("Available for Online Reading")
A special format is available to download the entire document.
Download the entire document for 14 days in Adobe Digital Editions format
To access this encrypted file, you will need Adobe Digital Editions, available free online Accessible on most computers and devices, but not the Kindle
You may return the document early using Adobe Digital Editions
Not all titles are available to download ("Not Available for Full Download") Click on "Release this Title" when done reading to free up the book from Adobe Digital Editions for another user
Export to EndNote is available
Q When does an ebook become free for another user?
A For Ebook Central e-books: After 15 minutes of inactivity the online use expires. There are also directions to “close” an e-book so it becomes available again without 15 minutes of inactivity: http://support.ebrary.com/kb/free-up-1user-book-n
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
To check out and read offline
search and find the book you want
Click on title
Select Full Download
Continue
Authenticate if necessary (You will be directed to authenticate using your Indiana University credentials.)
Select your device
Continue
You will need Adobe Digital Editions
(If not already installed, you can get it here and now; or from Adobe
done with this step
Click on the Downloaded file
This will open the book and place it in your Adobe Digital Editions folder and ready to read offline.
To return
Go to Adobe Digital Editions
Right click on title
Return of for many books Remove from library

 

EBSCO eBook Collection

Number of simultaneous users varies by title
Click on ebook full text
Table of contents is available for navigation
Read the book using forward and back arrows
Copy and paste is available
Print limit is 60 pages
Print limit goes down as you print pages from the document
The print command will also let you download the pdf of the document
You can exit and return to the book and the print limit resets to the 60 limit
Tools are available on the right of the screen
The idle session timeout for EBSCOhost is 30 minutes
Export to EndNote is available using the tools menu: Export
eBooks on EBSCOhost - Downloading Tutorial
Welcome to the eBooks & Audiobooks on EBSCOhost Support Center
FAQs for eBooks on EBSCOhost
Q Has IU has purchased for Bloomington or for all campuses a license that will allow a user to "check out" a book?
A All eBooks that are purchased by any IU campus are shared across all IU campuses.
Q What is the maximum amount of time the user can "keep" the checked out book?
A Currently the IU Bloomington campus allows for the checkout duration of 7 days.
Q EBSCO seems to have a "hold" capability that will allow a user to be notified when a "checked out" book is returned. The tutorial says that this is available if the library supports such holds. Does our license allow us to support holds in this way?
A Yes, holds are allowed.
Q Is help available?
A You can reach help from any e-book page.
Look in the upper right hand corner and click on the Help link
Scroll down to the section labeled eBooks and AudioBooks
Choose eBooks on EBSCOhost
Scroll down to find information, for example, on Placing a Hold on an eBook
You may also view tutorials
Q When does an ebook become free for another user?
A For EBSCO e-books: After 30 minutes of inactivity the online use expires. Here’s a page from EBSCO support with additional details:
http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5664 Directions for how to “close” an e-book so it becomes available again without 30 minutes of inactivity can be found here:
http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5715

New for EBSCO eBooks
EBSCO recently enhanced the eBook PDF experience for tablet users. We now offer the user a choice to either read the full text of EBSCO eBook PDF in their device’s browser or download the eBook to a reading application. For more information on recommended devices, visit the EBSCO Support Site. In response to customer feedback, EBSCO eBooks will now be available for the next user as soon as the current user takes almost any action to indicate they are no longer viewing the book. The list of actions includes some of the most common use cases such as:
Closing a browser tab or window.
Using the browser’s back button.
Viewing Journal Article and eBook PDFs on a Tablet - System Recommendations
EBSCO ebooks
To checkout and read offline
Search and find the book you want
To read offline, you will need a copy of Adobe Digital Editions (available to download from Adobe; from EBSCO; or download when prompted in EBSCO results)
Click on the title
Select Download This eBook (Offline)
Please sign in to your My EBSCOhost account to check availability and download.
You may see: Sorry, this title is not available for download. Please view the title online.
If it is available you will see the the checkout Period in days
Click on Checkout & downloaded
Click on the downloaded file
The will now be in your Adobe Digital Editions folder and ready to read offline.
Not all items are available to download and read offline

The ebook will remain in Adobe Digital Editions until the borrowing period ends or you decide to return it To return
Go to Adobe Digital Editions
Under Library, look at borrowed
Right click on title
Return borrowed item
For more information about EBSCO ebooks, look at: http://ebsco.libguides.com/ebooks/home

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Unlimited simultaneous users
Browse or search to select a book
"Full view" with citation details and a table of contents is available.
"Reading View" of the text is available and you may use arrows to page through the book
You may enlarge the page print
There is no HTML text option
Icons: Format page for printing Email Download Generate a citation
Print: Current Page in PDF Format Entire Document
View/print up to 250 pages in PDF format. (This work contains 35 page images. Enter image number ranges in the form: 1-15.)
NOTE: The total number of pages shown for this work is based on the sequential image numbers assigned to each page image in the collection, which often do not correspond to the page numbers originally printed in the document. You can download/print up to 250 page images at a time. For larger works, you will need to make separate downloads, each indicating the required page ranges. For example, for a work with 392 page images, download the first 250 pages, and then as a second download, request pages 251- 392.
Download: Format Options:
Current Page in PDF Format Entire Document
Download up to 250 pages in PDF format.This work contains 35 page images. &nbps; Enter image number ranges in the form: 1-15.
NOTE: The total number of pages shown for this work is based on the sequential image numbers assigned to each page image in the collection, which often do not correspond to the page numbers originally printed in the document. You can download/print up to 250 page images at a time. For larger works, you will need to make separate downloads, each indicating the required page ranges. For example, for a work with 392 page images, download the first 250 pages, and then as a second download, request pages 251- 392.
Generate a citation
Export to third party software: EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, RefWorks

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Text Creation Partnership

Unlimited simultaneous users
Bibliographic information available, including persistent URL
Table of contents available for navigation
Show the text from the table of contents and use "next section" to page through the work; sections are multiple pages (usually chapters)
Use "view entire text" to view the complete text of the work
Note: "Please be aware that viewing the entire text means loading the entire "volume" in your browser as one block of text without page breaks. Some of these texts are as long as 1,000 pages and will take a long time to download."
Plain text available
Copy and paste available
Print: use the browser print command to print a section or the entire text
Download: Use the browser "save as" to save the plain text of the work, either chapter or entire text
Original text image: Choose a section or "view entire text"; click on "Page"; you will see an image of the original; use the next arrow to continue paging through the work in original format; use the previous arrow to go back
Print: click on the print icon on the image page to print that page
Save image: right click on mouse and "save picture as" one image at a time
No PDFs available
Bookbag available to save references, download references and email references
Download to EndNote not available

 

Emerald Insight

Unlimited simultaneous users
Go to Journals & Books
Select Browse books (or Books Series)
Select "Only content I have access to" (or All)
Searching is limited to two choices: articles and chapters and case studies
There is no search limiter for books alone
Table of contents available
Abstract, HTML, ePub, PDF available
Copy and paste available throught HTML format
No limits on saving or printing
Download to EndNote available

 

Entre les lignes (Éditions Entre les lignes : Online)

Votre accès numérique à la recherche et à la culture francophones d’Amérique du Nord en sciences humaines et sociales. Your digital gateway to North American French-language research outputs in Social Sciences and Humanities. Érudit is an interuniversity consortium and a non-profit organization. 2004 to 2013 in Érudit (Freely Accessible). This title is provided free on the internet. Access may change without warning and some articles may not be available.
No limit on simultaneous users
Collection includes books and proceedings, dissertations and theses, documents and data
Formats vary: PDFs; HTML; or HTML, Microsoft Reader, Open eBook
Chapter navigation available for book items; dissertations and theses are a single PDF
Copy and paste available for HTML and PDF
No limit on reading, downloading or printing
Export references to EndNote is not available

 

Evans Digital Edition

Unlimited simultaneous users
Search or browse to find book
You may read beginning with page one and using arrows to page through the book
You may save a page as a PDF or a TIFF file
Click on Print and use the browser's print function to print a page
List of pages is available in navigation on the right
View Full citation gives bibliographic details
Download: Download a Range of Sequential Pages or Download Selected Pages The page ranges selected here reflect the pages within the digital product, not the actual pagination of the document. To specify the print range by using the actual pagination of the publication, please use the form below. NOTE: Downloading using the options on this page requires Adobe Acrobat Reader software to be installed on your computer. Please click here to get the free reader. Please note that a single download of multiple pages may consist of up to 75 pages. Because the images are very high quality, downloading many pages can result in a large file. Your download may take some time to complete. You may download 75 pages, then return to the document to download more bundles of 75 pages.
Export citation: Citations will download in a .RIS format (compatible with EndNote)