Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using eBooks at Indiana University

      Collections A-B

AccessMedicine     ACLS Humanities E-Books      ACS Symposium Series eBooks      Alexander Street Literature      America's Historical Imprints (Readex)     ARTFL     ArXiv      Blackwell Reference Online     Books@Ovid      Brill Online Books and   Journals      Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries

 

 

AccessMedicine

Search or select a book from "All textbooks" list
Advanced search contains additional limiters, including images
Search displays only content that you own, as long as you are signed in. (We are signed in as an institution)
Click on the title
Show table of contents or chapters from a subject search
View the chapter
Print the chapter
Get citation: sample citations in various styles and download to a citation manager available
Search Textbook: search the book you are viewing
No reader available
View in text only (no PDFs)
Copy and paste available
Download to EndNote available

 

 

ACLS Humanities E- Books

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents available for navigation
Search this book is available
You may read through the pages as image, pdf or text
You may copy and paste from the text format
You may print and download from the pdf format
You may right click and print the image, one page at a time, if you wish
There are links to reviews of books and a catalog record for them
Export references to EndNote is not available (Zotero is available)

 

ACS Symposium Series eBooks

1974-2008 available
Unlimited simultaneous users
Go to advanced search
Limit by dates 1974-2008 (our subscription date range)
Limit to book chapter
Limit to ACS Symposium Series
Search
If you choose a chapter, use Table of Contents to select the entire book
Select book
Table of contents available
Chapters available in pdf format
Abstract available
You may download citations, produce permalinks, and set up alerts
Download to EndNote available

 

Alexander Street

Black Short Fiction and Folklore       Black Women Writers      Caribbean Literature      Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period      Latin American Women Writers      Latino Literature      North American Indian Drama      Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period      Social Theory      South and Southeast Asian Literature       Bibliographic and biographical details available ("show details")      Table of contents available (detailed for some works, basic for other works)
Text available
Copy and paste available
Print available (use the printer icon)
Print by page showing: chapter or section or sometimes by entire work
No text download available
Download PDF of full work: available only for some works in some collections
Persistent URL available (share this page link icon)
Download to EndNote not available

 

America's Historical Imprints (Readex)

America's Historical Imprints       Afro-Americana imprints, 1535- 1922      American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922      American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900      Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (Evans Digital Edition)      Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800      Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819      Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819      Archive of Americana
Unlimited simultaneous Users
Table of contents for navigation
Full citation or View full citation is available for complete bibliographic information and notes
First Page or View publication begins the series of original images of the work
Previous page and next page to read online image of original format
No plain text available
Zoom and hand available
Download pages available: PDF, PDF bitonal and JPEG formats
Download individual pages while viewing them
Download multiple pages (Download pages): select pages by checking the boxes on the list
You may also use "Download a Range of Sequential Pages", but they warn you, "The page ranges selected here reflect the pages within the digital product, not the actual pagination of the document. To specify the print range by using the actual pagination of the publication, please use the form below": Download Selected Pages
NOTE: "Downloading using the options on this page requires Adobe Acrobat Reader software to be installed on your computer. Please click here to get the free reader. Please note that a single download of multiple pages may consist of up to 75 pages. Because the images are very high quality, downloading many pages can result in a large file. Your download may take some time to complete."
Yes, it can take some time. You will see "your PDF is processing"; when the download is complete right click to save target as. Return to the list select a new round of pages or type in a new page range to complete a full PDF text of the book.
Print pages available: image only, image and citation, citation only
Download (export citation) to EndNote available (.ris format)

 

ARTFL

(American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
3 simultaneous users
Search databases, like ARTFL-FRANTEXT (the "flagship database") and find a work; works are also listed under "public databases" or "French Women Writers"
Select a work
You may search on selected parts of a document.
Or click on a chapter or heading to open the text
Read through the text
Go to next section, as indicated
Text only available, no PDFs
Copy and paste
Right mouse click to print
Print pages, one page at a time (although that page may be many pages of the book itself)
User manual available
No download to EndNote available

 

ArXiv

Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics
Some electronic books. Many book chapters
Unlimited simultaneous users
Items available in PDF, PostScript and other formats
No restrictions on viewing, printing, or downloading
Download to EndNote not available

 

Blackwell Reference Online (Wiley Online Library)

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents available
Search this book is available
Read entry by entry in text format
Use the print icon or right mouse click to print; prints a chapter or entry, one at a time
Copy and paste is available
Export references to EndNote is not available

 

Books@Ovid

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents for navigation
You may read the text format
You made copy and paste with the text format
You may save (download) sections (chapters) as ASCII or HTML
You may print a section (chapter)
There is no provision for printing or downloading the entire book
Export references to EndNote is not available

 

Brill Online Books and Journals

Unlimited simultaneous users
Table of contents available for navigation
Chapters appear as separate pdf files
You may download or print the pdf files, one chapter at a time
The pdfs are searchable
There is no provision for downloading an entire book
There is no independent reader
Export references to EndNote is available

 

Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries

The books in the Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries collection are all presented in the Ebook Central format