Library Research Guides: COLL C104 Art and Ideology in the Third Reich (Grewe): Background Material

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
Encyclopedia articles about artists, architects, and artistic movements & periods, as well as bibliographies for further research. Also includes thousands of searchable images.

Provides access to Oxford’s art reference works, including the Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon Online
Contains biographical information on more than one million artists. Each article contains information on the artist's creative work, historical significance, details of exhibitions, and bibliographies.

Holocaust Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with extra features concerning the Holocaust and the principal figures involved.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia includes items on all aspects of the Holocaust and the central figures involved in the Nazi attempt to annihilate the Jewish population of Europe. In addition to the searchable entries of the Encyclopedia itself, the site, sponsored by the National Holocaust Museum, includes historical films, photographs,lists of book titles and scholarly journals, and guides to archival resources, among them a guide to oral histories. There are additional materials, such as a search of identity numbers, with biographies, and resources for the study of genocide in general.

The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich by Christian Zentner
Call Number: DD256.5 .G76313 1991

ISBN: 0028975006

Publication Date: 1991

Ranging in length from a few lines to several pages and listed alphabetically, the 3000 entries in this book aim to provide a comprehensive source of information on the Third Reich.
Encyclopedia of the Third Reich by Louis Snyder
Call Number: DD256.5 .S675

ISBN: 9780739423608
Nazi-Deutsch/Nazi-German: an English lexicon of the language of the Third Reich by Karen Doerr
Call Number: PF3680 .M48 2002

ISBN: 9780313321061

Publication Date: 2002

Written by two scholars specializing in socio-linguistic and historical issues of the Nazi period, this book provides a unique, extensive, meticulously researched dictionary of the language of the Third Reich. It is an important reference work for English- and German-speaking scholars, students, and teachers of the interwar years, the Nazi era, World War II, and the Holocaust.
Nazi Germany by Klaus P. Fischer
Call Number: DD256.5 .L51313 1997

ISBN: 0826409067

Publication Date: 1996

In the 50 years since the fall of the 12-year Nazi Reich, thousands of books have been written on every conceivable aspect of the subject, each with its own axe to grind. Fischer's book, however, tells the story vividly and well, providing the most reliable and balanced history to date.
The Third Reich Almanac by Warren Shaw
Call Number: DD256.5 .T283 1987

ISBN: 0886873630

Publication Date: 1988
The Third Reich Sourcebook by Anson Rabinbach; Sander L. Gilman
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9780520955141

Publication Date: 2013

Acomprehensive collection of newly translated documents drawn from wide-ranging primary sources, documenting both the official and unofficial cultures of National Socialist Germany from its inception to its defeat and collapse in 1945.

Oxford Reference
Reference resources from the Oxford University Press. Includes English dictionaries and thesauruses, English language reference books, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps and illustrations, timelines and subject reference sources.
One Mail instructions
If you created personal profile for Oxford Reference using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your profile to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. To update your Oxford Reference personal profile:
1. Visit Oxford Reference and select Personal Profile from the top-right corner of the page
2. Log in
3. At the top-right corner, select your name and choose View personal profile
4. Select the My Account tab
5. Update the Email address field to your iu.edu email address
6. Enter your password in the Current Password field
7. Press Save
8. There will be a small notice above your name that says “Changes saved successfully”
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Authoritative reference resource for Jewish knowledge and life.

Since 1972, the Encyclopedia Judaica has been the leading source for information on the Jewish people, the Jewish faith and the state of Israel - how they have shaped and been influenced by our world.
The Encyclopedia Judaica is the authoritative reference resource for Jewish knowledge and life up to the present day. It is designed for both Jewish and non-Jewish readers and covers nine main subject categories: Contemporary Jewry, Education and modern scholarship, History, Jews in world culture, Judaism: practice, Judaism: thought, Language and literature, and Miscellaneous.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Jewish Studies
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars in Jewish Studies and related fields.

Biographical Information

American National Biography
Includes over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential, or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars, reflecting the diversity of American life from pre-colonial times to the present day.
Also includes illustrations, and hyperlinked cross-references and links.
One Mail instructions
If you created personal profile for ANB using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your profile to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. To update your ANB personal profile:
1. Visit ANB and select Personal Profile from the top-right corner of the page
2. Log in
3. At the top-right corner, select your name and choose View personal profile
4. Select the My Account tab
5. Update the Email address field to your iu.edu email address
6. Enter your password in the Current Password field
7. Press Save
8. There will be a small notice above your name that says “Changes saved successfully”
Biography (Gale in Context)
Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) provides more than 20 million biographical citations on more than 6 millions persons, living and deceased, from all fields of activity, covering more than 2,000 years of human history.

BGMI indexes entries from reference books such as Who's Who in America or the Dictionary of National Biography. It covers contemporary and historical figures, indicates birth and death dates and gives the title and edition in which relevant entries can be found.
Current Biography Illustrated (H.W. Wilson)
Full text biographies, images, and obituaries from the entire run of Current Biography.

Current Biography Illustrated includes the entire contents of the printed monthly Current Biography, published since 1940. There are entries for people making headlines and historical figures dating back to World War II. Entries number more than 15,000 full text biographies, over 9,400 obituaries and more than 19,500 lively images. Profiles provide information on celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, scientists, and others.
Marquis Who’s Who
Database containing profiles on over 1.5 million individuals from all fields, including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and more.

Includes access to current biographies of all individuals who appeared in any one of the following Marquis print titles since 1985:

Marquis Biographies Online
Who’s Who in America
Who’s Who in the World
Who’s Who of American Women
Who’s Who in Science and Engineering
Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare
Who’s Who in American Art
Who’s Who in American History
Who’s Who in American Politics

Please note: the site has a 10-minute automatic Time Out feature included. If you leave your session inactive, after 10 minutes, you will be asked to log in again. If you mistakenly close your internet browser window (before choosing "Log Out"), you need only wait 10 minutes to be refreshed so you can log back in.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of those who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Online version of the 60-volume print Oxford DNB, published September, 2004, a major revision of the original Dictionary of National Biography and its supplements. Since 2005 regular updates have extended the Dictionary’s coverage, now including biographies of more than 60,000 people who died in or before the year 2016.

COLL C104 Art and Ideology in the Third Reich (Grewe)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

One Mail instructions

Biographical Information

One Mail instructions

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

COLL C104 Art and Ideology in the Third Reich (Grewe)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

One Mail instructions

Biographical Information

One Mail instructions

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries