Databases
-
PubMedPubMed, the premier biomedical database, provides comprehensive access to peer-reviewed research in performing arts medicine, including disciplines such as dance medicine, musician injuries, vocal health, and injury prevention.
-
CINAHL CompleteCINAHL(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a leading database for nursing and allied health disciplines, including occupational therapy, physical therapy, and rehabilitation sciences. It offers robust coverage of sports and peforming arts medicine, injury rehabilitation, and related fields through peer-reviewed journals, evidence-based care sheets, and clinical guidelines.
-
EmbaseEmbase is a biomedical database renowned for its extensive global coverage. Its strong emphasis on European literature makes it particularly valuable for locating performing arts medicine (PAM) research published in European clinical and rehabilitation journals.
-
SPORTDiscus with Full TextSPORTDiscus is a database for sports and rehabilitation research, with broad coverage of exercise science, kinesiology, and physical therapy literature. Its focus on athletic performance and musculoskeletal health makes it useful for locating performing arts medicine (PAM) related to injury prevention, biomechanics, and physical conditioning in dancers and other performers.
Books
-
Finding Balance
by
ISBN: 0415943388Publication Date: 2004-12-12Finding Balance: Fitness, Health, and Training for a Lifetime in Dance gives an overview of issues faced by all performing dancers: injury and treatment; technique and training; fitness; nutrition and diet; and career management. The text includes both easy-to-read overviews of each topic and "profiles" of well known dancers and how they have coped with these issues. The new edition includes: Updated and new profiles. Expanded injury and injury treatment information. Updated dance science and physiology findings, and new references. Updated diet guidelines, Expanded and updated "Taking Control" section. It concludes with a list of selected dance/arts medicine clinics, a bibliography, glossary, and text notes. -
Dancer Wellness
by
ISBN: 9781492515814Publication Date: 2016-10-20Dancers who want to get the most out of their experience in dance--whether in college, high school, a dance studio, or a dance company--can now take charge of their wellness. Dancer Wellness will help them learn and apply important wellness concepts as presented through the in-depth research conducted by the International Association for Dance Medicine & Science (IADMS) and their experts from around the world. -
Dancing Longer, Dancing Stronger
by
ISBN: 9780871273970Publication Date: 2019-07-01Based on the latest scientific research, Dancing Longer, Dancing Stronger offers a complete conditioning program to help dancers improve technique and lessen the danger of injury. By presenting general principles of injury prevention as well as specific exercises for increasing strength and flexibility, the book provides information that dancers of all ages and skill levels can use to improve performance.Common problems are discussed in a question and answer format. It also gives a thorough overview of anatomy and exercise physiology. -
Preventing Dance Injuries
by
ISBN: 0883144255Publication Date: 1990-01-01A readable book and comprehensive guide examining the many health risks faced by all musicians. It is a valuable resource for diagnosing, treating, and avoiding those potentially devastating conditions. The book is essential for all musicians. String, keyboard, percussion, harp, brass and wind players will play better and feel better. It also contains a large resource list of health practitioners and products designed to reduce injuries. -
Dance Injuries
by
ISBN: 9780871271464Publication Date: 1991-07-01A comprehensive reference manual of the causes, prevention, and healing of injuries that are prone to afflict all serious dancers. Expanded in scope and content, the third edition addresses the dance world's increased sophistication and interest in anatomy and kinesiology as they relate to dance injury. -
Dance Anatomy and Kinesiology
by
ISBN: 0880115319Publication Date: 2006-12-13All dancers are looking to achieve optimal performance--and Dance Anatomy and Kinesiology will help them do just that. This text helps dancers learn anatomical and biomechanical principles as they apply to dance performance. It focuses on optimal dance movement and the related principles for understanding the function of body joints. And by applying those principles, dancers can help reduce their risk of injury and enhance their performance longevity...
Online Resources
-
From Pointe to Recovery: Common Ballet Injuries and Prevention Tips - Integrated Spine & SportsThis article delves into prevalent injuries among ballet dancers, such as ankle sprains, stress fractures, tendonitis, muscle strains, and shin splints. It discusses how these injuries occur, and how lower the risks via comprehensive warm-ups, dynamic stretching, strength and conditioning training, and cross-training activities like Pilates or yoga. It also underscores the importance of listening to one's body and seeking professional guidance for rehabilitation to ensure effective recovery and sustained performance.
-
Common Dance Injuries and Prevention Tips - Johns Hopkins MedicineThis article, written by two Doctors of Physical Therapy (D.P.T.), outlines frequent injuries dancers face, including hip issues, foot and ankle injuries, knee problems, and stress fractures. These injuries often result from overuse, insufficient rest, and inadequate nutrition. The article also includes brief guidance on injury recovery and treatment, as well building an first-aid kit tailored for dancers and the common injuries.
-
Physical Therapy for Ballet Injuries - Mangiarelli RehabilitationWritten by a PT group, this article discusses the physical demands of ballet and the high rate of injury among dancers. It highlights common injuries like ankle sprains, tendonitis, and stress fractures, and stresses the importance of delaying pointe work until full skeletal maturity. The article also outlines how physical therapy, including manual therapy, strengthening, and neuromuscular training, can aid recovery and prevent future injuries.
-
No Pain - No Gain? How To Deal With Injury?This article is a conversation with acupuncturist and massage therapist Daniel Schwager, in which he addresses the challenges dancers face when dealing with injuries. He emphasizes the importance of patience and adherence to a structured recovery plan developed with a therapist experienced in working with dancers. HE also highlights the necessity of maintaining a positive mindset and gradually returning to dance activities to ensure a safe and effective recovery.