Library Research Guides: Accounting Research: Home

Article and News Databases

Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
EBSCO Management Collection
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
Contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals. The database includes full text sources ranging from general publications such as Fortune and Money to trade publications such as American Demographics, Chemical Week, Electronic Business and Restaurant Hospitality. The collection of titles includes top management journals such as Academy of Management Executive, California Management Review and Harvard Business Review. In addition, this database also includes detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1984.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Factiva
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
Nexis Uni
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

Open Access Finance and Accounting Journals

You should have access to the journals below through any browser with an internet connection, regardless of your institutional affiliation or location.

The Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI) defines open access as:

By "open access"...we mean free availability on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of...articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without financial, legal, or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself. The only constraint on reproduction and distribution, and the only role for copyright in this domain, should be to give authors control over the integrity of their work and the right to be properly acknowledged and cited.

Journal of Accounting Research
General-interest accounting journal that publishes original research in all areas of accounting and related fields that utilizes tools from basic disciplines such as economics, statistics, psychology, and sociology.
Research Journal of Finance and Accounting
The scopes of the Research Journal of Finance and Accounting (RJFA) include, but not limited to, asset pricing, investments, risk management, regulation, and insurance to corporate finance, financial intermediation, financial econometrics, financial forecasting, and financial engineering.
Management Accounting Research
Some articles are open access, but not all.
Journal of Accounting and Management Information Systems
Papers authored by both prestigious and young foreign and Romanian researchers in the field of accounting, financial analysis, management information systems and law. The journal is owned and published by the Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania.
Accounting and Finance Research
Peer-reviewed journal, published by Sciedu Press. The journal seeks to publish research articles that are original hypothetical and theoretical in its nature and that provides exploratory insights in the fields of accounting, corporate finance, investment, insurance, monetary banking, stock exchange, capital markets and relevant subjects.
Asian Journal of Accounting Research
Peer-reviewed journal on accounting and finance in developing countries. Published three times a year in association with the Universitas Airlangga, Indonesia.
Current Issues in Auditing
Devoted to advancing the dialogue between academics and practitioners on current issues facing the auditing practice community (e.g., new opportunities and challenges, emerging areas, global developments, effects of new regulations or pronouncements, and effects of technological or market developments on audit processes).
Open Journal of Accounting
International journal dedicated to the latest advancement of all areas of accounting. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of accounting.
International Journal of Financial Research
Research across all the major fields of accounting, finance and economics, ranging from institutional & corporate finance, accounting, insurance & risk management, monetary banking, stock exchange, to business economics, development economics, capital markets and more.
Journal of Risk and Financial Management
International, peer-reviewed, open access journal on risk and financial management, published monthly online by MDPI.
International Journal of Finance and Accounting
Refereed Journal dedicated to publish empirical research that tests, extends, or builds Finance and Accounting theory and contributes to practice. The journal publishes high quality research papers in accounting, finance and their interface. A
International Journal of Financial Studies
International, peer-reviewed, scholarly open access journal on financial market, instruments, policy, and management research published quarterly online by MDPI.
Borsa Istanbul Review
Provides a scholarly platform for empirical financial studies including but not limited to capital markets and institutions, investor behavior, financial centers, market structures, and corporate finance.
Journal of Mathematical Finance
Journal of Mathematical Finance (JMF) aims at presenting the latest developments in pure and applied financial mathematics. It considers important theoretical, empirical and review papers.
International Journal of Economics and Finance
Peer-reviewed international journal dedicated to promoting scholarly exchange among teachers and researchers in the field of economics, financial economics and finance.
China Journal of Accounting Research
Theoretical and empirical research papers that use contemporary research methodologies to investigate issues about accounting, corporate finance, auditing and corporate governance in the Greater China region, countries related to the Belt and Road Initiative, and other emerging and developed markets.