Identify effective search terms for database and web resources. (From Portland State University.)
A keyword expresses a central concept or idea about a topic. When you search Google, you are keyword searching.
When searching library resources like databases, be more selective with keywords. Begin with a small number of terms, and avoid long phrases.
Identify major concepts of your topic.
Example topic: the environmental consequences of fracking
Develop keywords related to the major concepts of your topic.
Example:
|
Concept 1: Fracking |
Concept 2: Environmental consequences |
|
Fracking Hydraulic fracturing Natural gas drilling |
Environment Pollution Global warming |
Note: Databases can be picky about search terms. Identify synonyms for your concepts, and consider the words likely used in the database.
To identify useful keywords, do some quick background research. Note terms that are often used to discuss the topic.
(Reference sources like Wikipedia or the library databases Encyclopaedia Britannica and Credo Reference offer overviews of many topics. Of course, remember to evaluate information in Wikipedia with particular care.)
Do a quick database search and view the search results page to identify relevant terms.
Begin with only 2-3 terms, and avoid long phrases. The more terms you enter the fewer results you’ll get.
|
Keyword Search Examples: |
If your first term doesn’t work, try a synonym. You may have to try out several related search terms to find the types of resources you're looking for.
(Example: environment INSTEAD OF environmental consequences)
The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases’ search boxes.