In memoriam: Kimberly L. Geeslin

Introducción y aplicaciones contextualizadas a la lingüística hispánica provides a contemporary introduction to the study of Spanish, helping students apply linguistics analysis to the study of language. It encourages the reader to analyze language in action and understand how linguistic components interact to convey conceptual and social meaning. A contemporary introduction to the study of Spanish that encourages both Spanish and semi-proficient non-native Spanish speaking students to see language in action and understand how linguistic components interact to convey conceptual and social meaning Addresses the core sub-fields of linguistics (phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, and pragmatics) as they relate to the study of the Spanish language Uses second language acquisition as a foundation upon which linguistic analysis can be built Supplementary companion website includes exercises, comprehension questions, cutting-edge research highlights, lists of key terms, and analytical mini-projects designed to help the user and encourage students to apply learned theoretical knowledge to real-world language use contexts Instructors will also have access to a sample 16-week semester syllabus and corresponding task-based lesson plans (in PowerPoint format) as well as assignments which they can edit for use in their own learning context.

"Usage-based models of second language acquisition: How can a study of patterns of language use in context guide the study of non-native varieties?" By Kimberly Geeslin, Danielle Daidone, Avizia Long, and Megan Solon

The Handbook of Usage-Based Linguistics is the first edited volume to provide a comprehensive, authoritative, and interdisciplinary view of usage-based theory in linguistics. Contributions by an international team of established and emerging scholars discuss the application of used-based approaches in phonology, morphosyntax, psycholinguistics, language variation and change, language development, cognitive linguistics, and other subfields of linguistics. Unprecedented in depth and scope, this groundbreaking work of scholarship addresses all major theoretical and methodological aspects of usage-based linguistics while offering diverse perspectives and key insights into theory, history, and methodology. Throughout the text, in-depth essays explore up-to-date methodologies, emerging approaches, new technologies, and cutting-edge research in usage-based linguistics in many languages and subdisciplines. Topics include used-based approaches to subfields such as anthropological linguistics, computational linguistics, statistical analysis, and corpus linguistics. Covering the conceptual foundations, historical development, and future directions of usage-based theory, The Handbook of Usage-Based Linguistics is a must-have reference work for advanced students and scholars in anthropological linguistics, psycholinguistics, cognitive linguistics, corpora analysis, and other subfields of linguistics.

"Epilogue" By Kimberly Geeslin

This volume offers a comprehensive snapshot of the breadth of empirical research currently being conducted on the second language acquisition of sociolinguistic variation in Spanish during study abroad. Research on this topic spans diverse methodological approaches, types of programs, linguistic structures, and learner characteristics, which is reflected in the contributions in this volume. This diversity of approaches illustrates how the second language development of sociolinguistic variation during study abroad depends crucially on a number of linguistic and extralinguistic factors and can be measured in distinct ways. Thus, this collection will be an indispensable resource to researchers and students of second language acquisition, sociolinguistics, applied linguistics, education, and other fields interested in language development during study abroad.

"Collecting and analyzing L2 sociolinguistic data" By Kimberly Geeslin and Stacey Hanson

Offers the most up-to-date coverage of research methods and best practices in the study of second language acquisition, edited by two of the leading figures in the field Current Approaches in Second Language Acquisition Research provides an up-to-date overview of both traditional and cutting-edge techniques and methods in the field. Bringing together contributions from an international team of experts, this authoritative volume covers the qualitative, quantitative, survey-based, interdisciplinary, statistical analysis, and data replication methods that students and early-career researchers need to know when developing their projects and experiments in second language acquisition research. Each chapter includes best practices, case studies, and research questions, together with suggested readings which exemplify a wide range of contemporary methodologies. Current Approaches in Second Language Acquisition Research builds on the foundation of Research Methods in Second Language Acquisition, the first volume in the Wiley Blackwell Guides to Research Methods series to cover the field of SLA. Eleven new chapters and four revised chapters address classroom research methods, qualitative approaches to data, collecting introspective second language (L2) data, L2 data on brain and articulatory mechanisms, problematic terminology in the SLA community, and more. Covers theory-based methodologies, synthetic and meta-analytic work, mixed methods, coding, and statistical analysis Describes and evaluates recent methodological advances and experimental approaches in SLA research Includes study questions, links to additional resources, and example study boxes that summarize methodological principles and connect them to real-world research studies Current Approaches in Second Language Acquisition Research is an essential resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in SLA and applied linguistics programs, novice researchers studying SLA research methods, and more established scholars looking for a concise and up-to-date overview of SLA methodology.

"Functional considerations: Variationist approaches to communicative competence, sociolinguistic approaches to communicative competence, theories of language use and communicative competence" By Kimberly Geeslin and Stacey Hanson

Communicative competence is an essential language skill, the ability to adjust language use according to specific contexts and to employ knowledge and strategies for successful communication. This unique text offers a multidisciplinary, critical, state-of-the-art research overview for this skill in second language learners. Expert contributors from around the world lay out the history of the field, then explore a variety of theoretical perspectives, methodologies, and empirical findings, and authoritatively set the agenda for future work. With a variety of helpful features like discussion questions, recommended further reading, and suggestions for practice, this book will be an invaluable resource to students and researchers of applied linguistics, education, psychology, and beyond.

"Variable subject expression in second language acquisition: The role of perseveration in acquisition" By Kimberly Geeslin, Bret Linford, Tom Goebel-Mahrle, and Jingyi Guo

This volume brings together contributions by researchers focusing on personal pronouns in Ibero-Romance languages, going beyond the well-established variable of expressed vs. non-expressed subjects. While factors such as agreement morphology, topic shift and contrast or emphasis have been argued to account for variable subject expression, several corpus studies on Ibero-Romance languages have shown that the expression of subject pronouns goes beyond these traditionally established factors and is also subject to considerable dialectal variation. One of the factors affecting choice and expression of personal pronouns or other referential devices is whether the construction is used personally or impersonally. The use and emergence of new impersonal constructions, eventually also new (im)personal pronouns, as well as the variation found in the expression of human impersonality in different Ibero-Romance language varieties is another interesting research area that has gained ground in the recent years. In addition to variable subject expression, similar methods and theoretical approaches have been applied to study the expression of objects. Finally, the reference to the addressee(s) using different address pronouns and other address forms is an important field of study that is closely connected to the variable expression of pronouns. The present book sheds light on all these aspects of reference to discourse participants. The volume contains contributions with a strong empirical background and various methods and both written and spoken corpus data from Ibero-Romance languages. The focus on discourse participants highlights the special properties of first and second person referents and the factors affecting them that are often different from the anaphoric third person. The chapters are organized into three thematic sections: (i) Variable expression of subjects and objects, (ii) Between personal and impersonal, and (iii) Reference to the addressee

"Linguistic variation and second language Spanish: a study of progressive and habitual marking by English-speaking learners" By Kimberly Geeslin and Stephen Fafulas

Variationist work in Second Language Acquisition (SLA) began in the mid 1970s and steadily progressed during the 1980s. Much of it was reviewed along with newer approaches in Bayley and Preston 1996 (B&P), heavily devoted to VARBRUL analyses that exposed the variability in developing interlanguages and placed variationist work within the canon of SLA. This new volume features three developing trends. First, it widens the scope of L1s of learners (from 6 in B&P to 8) and L2 targets (2 in B&P to 7) and in each case has brought more careful demographic and variable considerations to bear, including heritage languages and study abroad. Second, it modernizes statistics by moving from VARBRUL to the more widely used log-odds probabilities that allow more detailed consideration of variables and their influences. Finally, it deepens consideration of variable sociolinguistic meaning in learner behaviors, a dominating feature of 3rd Wave variationist work.

"Acquiring constraints on variable morphosyntax : subject-verb ~ verb-subject word order in child Spanish / Naomi L. Shin / Overlapping envelopes of variation : the case of lexical noun phrases and subject expression in Spanish" By Aarnes Gudmestad & Kimberly Geeslin

The Routledge Handbook of Variationist Approaches to Spanish provides an up-to-date overview of the latest research examining sociolinguistic approaches to analyzing variation in Spanish. Divided into three sections, the book includes the most current research conducted in Spanish variationist sociolinguistics. This comprehensive volume covers phonological, morphosyntactic, social, and lexical variation in Spanish. Each section is further divided into subsections focusing on specific areas of language variation, highlighting the most salient and current developments in each subfield of Hispanic sociolinguistics. As such, this Handbook delves further into the details of topics relating to variation and change in Spanish than previous publications, with a focus on the symbolic sociolinguistic value of specific phenomena in the field. Encouraging readers to think critically about language variation, this book will be of interest to advanced undergraduate and graduate students, as well as researchers seeking to explore lesser-known areas of Hispanic sociolinguistics. The Routledge Handbook of Variationist Approaches to Spanish will be a welcome addition to specialists and students in the fields of linguistics, Hispanic linguistics, sociolinguistics, and linguistic anthropology.

"Sophisticated language use in context: the contributions of variationist approaches to the study of advanced learners of Spanish" By Kimberly Geeslin

This book analyzes the construct of advanced proficiency in second language learning by bringing together empirical research from numerous linguistic domains and methodological traditions. Focusing on the dynamic nature of language use, the volume explores diverse manifestations of high-level second language Spanish, including performance on standardized proficiency assessments, acquisition of late-acquired linguistic structures, sophisticated language use in context, and individual differences. Chapters relate empirical findings to current definitions of advancedness, challenging scholars and practitioners to re-consider existing conceptualizations, and propose possible directions for future research and teaching with second language speakers of Spanish. By addressing larger issues in the field of second language learning, the volume is a valuable reference for language teachers, scholars, professionals and students with an interest in second language acquisition generally, and second language Spanish, more specifically.

"Sociolinguistic competence in second languages" By Kimberly Geeslin

This volume encompasses the range of research questions on language-related problems that arise in language teaching, learning and assessment. The [150] chapters are written by experts in the field who each offer their insights into current and future directions of research, and who suggest several highly relevant research questions.   Topics include, but are not limited to: language skills teaching, language skills assessment and testing, measurement, feedback, discourse analysis, pragmatics, semantics, language learning through technology, CALL, MALL, ESP, EAP, ERPP, TBLT, materials development, genre analysis, needs analysis, corpus, content-based language teaching, language teaching and learning strategies, individual differences, research methods,  classroom research, form-focused instruction, age effects, literacy, proficiency, and teacher education and teacher development.The book serves as a reference and offers inspiration to researchers and students in language education.  An important skill in reviewing the research literature is following a study''s "plan of attack." Broadly, this means that before accepting and acting upon the findings, one considers a) the research question (Is it clear and focused? Measurable?), b) the subjects examined, the methods deployed, and the measures chosen (Do they fit the study''s goal and have the potential to yield useful results?), and c) the analysis of the data (Do the data lead to the discussion presented? Has the author reasonably interpreted results to reach the conclusion?). Mohebbi and Coombe''s book, Research Questions in Language Education and Applied Linguistics: A Reference Guide, helps budding researchers take the first step and develop a solid research question. As the field of language education evolves, we need continual research to improve our instructional and assessment practices and our understanding of the learners'' language learning processes. This book with its remarkable 150 topics and 10 times the number of potential research questions provides a wealth of ideas that will help early career researchers conduct studies that move our field forward and grow our knowledge base. Deborah J. Short, Ph.D., Director, Academic Language Research & Training, Past President, TESOL International Association (2021-22) As a teacher in graduate programs in TESOL I frequently come across the frustration of students at centering their research interests on a particular topic and developing research questions which are worth pursuing so as to make a contribution to the field. This frustration stems from the fact that our field is so vast and interrelated, that it is often impossible to properly address all that interests them. Hence, I wholeheartedly welcome this most relevant and innovative addition to the research literature in the field of TESOL and Applied Linguistics. Coombe and Mohebbi have created a real tour de force that stands to inform budding researchers in the field for many years to come. Additionally, the cutting-edge depiction of the field and all it has to offer will no doubt update the research agendas of many seasoned researchers around the world. The 150 chapters are organized in a most powerful, yet, deceptively simple way offering a positioning within the topic, suggesting questions that might direct inquiry and offering a basic set of bibliographic tools to start the reader in the path towards research. What is more, the nine sections in which the chapters are organized leave no area of the field unexplored. Dr. Gabriel Díaz Maggioli, Academic Advisor, Institute of Education, Universidad ORT del Uruguay, President, IATEFL Chapter "Metacognition in Academic Writing: Learning Dimensions" is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.

"Sociolinguistic competence among heritage speakers of Spanish abroad : key findings, critical gaps, and contributions to variation theory" By Kimberly Geeslin, Aarnes Gudmestad, Maria Hasler Barker, Matthew Kanwit, Avizia Y. Long, Megan Solon

Heritage Speakers of Spanish and Study Abroad is an edited volume that provides emerging research on heritage speakers of Spanish in immersion contexts in theoretical, empirical, and programmatic terms.　 This edited collection seeks to expand our understanding of heritage speakers of Spanish by incorporating research on their linguistic, sociolinguistic, and pragmatic development during and after a sojourn abroad, by discussing the complexities of their identity formation and negotiation during immersive stays, and by highlighting programmatic innovations that could be leveraged to better serve diverse learners in study abroad contexts. This volume advances the fields of both heritage language education and research on immersion study in a variety of ways, and will be of interest to scholars of applied linguistics, sociolinguistics, second language acquisition, and educational linguistics, especially those interested in study abroad programming and Spanish for heritage speakers.

"Variationist perspective(s) on interlocutor individual differences" By Kimberly Geeslin
"Examining the role of instructor first language in classroom-based oral input" By Avizia Yim Long and Kimberly Geeslin

This book examines the role of interlocutors and their individual differences (IDs) in second language (L2) development from four theoretical lenses: the cognitive-interactionist approach, sociocultural theory, the variationist approach, and complex dynamic systems theory. A theoretical overview to each approach is written by a preeminent scholar in the framework, and each overview is followed by an empirical study that demonstrates how interlocutor IDs can be fruitfully researched within that framework. To maximize readability and impact, the chapters follow common organizing questions, inviting the engagement of L2 researchers, students, and teachers alike.Collectively, the chapters in the current volume initiate a cohesive discussion of the theoretical roles of the interlocutor within these four popular approaches to SLA; illustrate how interlocutor IDs influence L2 opportunities and/or development; present innovative, original empirical research on interlocutors and their IDs within each approach; and provide theoretical, empirical, and methodological guidance for future research on interlocutors and their IDs. A powerful contribution of this volume, highlighted in the concluding chapter's synthesis, is the common call across all four approaches for the irrefutable role and need for research on interlocutors and their IDs. The volume also demonstrates how, despite theoretical and methodological differences, the four approaches are advancing congruently toward a more robust understanding of the multifaceted and dynamic nature of all interlocutors and their IDs, and thus toward a more complete and accurate picture of their influence on L2 development.

"Bilingualism, second language acquisition, and language contact: contrasts and shared processes" By Kimberly Geeslin and Travis Evans-Sago

Amazonian Spanish: Language Contact and Evolution explores the unique origins, linguistic features, and geo-political situation of the Spanish that has emerged in the Amazon. While this region boasts much linguistic diversity, many of the indigenous languages found within its limits are now being replaced by Spanish. This situation of language expansion, contact, and bilingualism is reshaping the sociolinguistic landscape of the Amazon by creating a number of Spanish varieties with innovative linguistic features that require closer scholarly attention. The current book documents this situation in detail. The chapters in this volume include work on distinct geographical regions of the Amazon, with primary data collected using different methodologies and language contact situations. The scholars in this volume specialize in an array of fields, including anthropological linguistics, bilingualism, language contact, dialectology, and language acquisition. Their work represents both formal and functional approaches to linguistics.

"Preparing for tenure & promotion" By Kimberly Geeslin and Laura Gurzynski-Weiss

Success in academia requires more than an understanding of discipline-specific literature and an ability to teach and do research. It is also necessary to develop an understanding of a range of professionally-oriented skills such as how to identify and apply to doctoral programs, how to make the most of conferences, how to achieve a semblance of work-life balance, and how to land a job. Unfortunately, however, training on such professional matters is often inconsistent and/or idiosyncratic. This book seeks to consolidate and demystify these critical and often-misunderstood aspects of professional development in the context of applied linguistics. Put another way, this book is an attempt at the text many of us wish we had as we began our graduate studies. Throughout the book, readers will find anecdotes and insights informed by individual authors' first-hand experiences. The resulting tone across the volume is that of a meet-up with a trusted and thoughtful mentor. As readers "meet" with these mentors, it is the hope of this volume that their guidance will help move readers closer to realizing their professional goals in applied linguistics.

"Variable structures and sociolinguistic variation" By Kimberly Geeslin

A comprehensive, current review of the research and approaches to advanced proficiency in second language acquisition The Handbook of Advanced Proficiency in Second Language Acquisition offers an overview of the most recent and scientific-based research concerning higher proficiency in second language acquisition (SLA). With contributions from an international team of experts in the field, the Handbook presents several theoretical approaches to SLA and offers an examination of advanced proficiency from the viewpoint of various contexts and dimensions of second language performance. The authors also review linguistic phenomena among advanced learners through the lens of phonology and grammar development. Comprehensive in scope, this book provides an overview of advanced proficiency grounded in socially-relevant domains of second language acquisition including discourse, reading, genre-based writing, and pragmatic competence. The authoritative volume brings together the theoretical accounts of advanced language use combined with solid empirical research. Includes contributions from an international collection of noted scholars in the field of second language acquisition Offers a variety of theoretical approaches to SLA Contains information on the most recent empirical research that contributes to an understanding of SLA Describes performance phenomena according to multiple approaches to SLA Written for scholars, students and linguists, The Handbook of Advanced Proficiency in Second Language Acquisition is a comprehensive text that offers the most recent developments in the study of advanced proficiency in the acquisition of a second language.

"Sociolinguistic competence and the acquisition of speaking" By Kimberly Geeslin, Aarnes Gudmestad, Matthew Kanwit, Bret Linford, Avizia Yim Long, Lauren Schmidt, and Megan Solon

For millions of individuals all over the world, speaking in a second language is a daily activity. It is therefore important that research in applied linguistics should contribute empirically to the study of second language spoken interaction. The aim of this volume is to make such a contribution by providing research-based insights into current approaches to the teaching and learning of this skill. Two key dimensions define the papers included here−their novelty and scope. First, the book provides a novel approach to the study of speaking in a second language by combining recent findings in usage-based linguistics with current issues in teaching. Second, the chapters cover a range of theoretical perspectives, including sociolinguistic and interactional competence, gestures, dynamic systems theory and code-switching. The volume offers a contemporary analysis of research in second language speaking that will be of interest to researchers, graduate students, teachers and other professionals working in the fields of communication and applied linguistics.

"Contacto entre lenguas y enseñanza del español" By Kimberly Geeslin and Travis Evans-Sago

The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Language Teaching: metodolog¿, contextos y recursos para la ense¿anza del espa¿ol L2 provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art account of the main methodologies, contexts and resources in Spanish Language Teaching (SLT), a field that has experienced significant growth world-wide in recent decades and has consolidated as an autonomous discipline within Applied Linguistics. Written entirely in Spanish, the volume is the first handbook on Spanish Language Teaching to connect theories on language teaching with methodological and practical aspects from an international perspective. It brings together the most recent research and offers a broad, multifaceted view of the discipline. Features include: Forty-four chapters offering an interdisciplinary overview of SLT written by over sixty renowned experts from around the world; Five broad sections that combine theoretical and practical components: Methodology; Language Skills; Formal and Grammatical Aspects; Sociocultural Aspects; and Tools and Resources; In-depth reflections on the practical aspects of Hispanic Linguistics and Spanish Language Teaching to further engage with new theoretical ideas and to understand how to tackle classroom-related matters; A consistent inner structure for each chapter with theoretical aspects, methodological guidelines, practical considerations, and valuable references for further reading; An array of teaching techniques, reflection questions, language samples, design of activities, and methodological guidelines throughout the volume. The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Language Teaching contributes to enriching the field by being an essential reference work and study material for specialists, researchers, language practitioners, and current and future educators. The book will be equally useful for people interested in curriculum design and graduate students willing to acquire a complete and up-to-date view of the field with immediate applicability to the teaching of the language.

"Examining multifaceted sources of input: Variationist and usage-based approaches to understanding the L2
classroom" By Kimberly Geeslin, Danielle Daidone, Bret Linford, Avizia Y. Long, Ian Michalski and Megan Solon

This book presents a set of compelling essays collectively making a persuasive case for why a usage-based perspective on language is fast becoming a leading theoretical framework for investigating second language (L2) learning and the foundation for effective, innovative, engaging pedagogy. Drawing on 20 years of research in psychology, psycholinguistics, cognitive science, and linguistic theory, including discourse analytic approaches, the combined contributions paint a picture of theoretically-informed L2 pedagogy which emphasizes all facets of language as meaningful, embodied, and socially situated. The introduction and conclusion offer an outline of five foundational tenets essential to a usage-inspired pedagogy and a heuristic for developing usage-inspired L2 research and pedagogy. Each essay provides a unique vantage on usage-inspired L2 instruction and a demonstration of the efficacy of usage-based pedagogy. This volume will be invaluable for SLA researchers, graduate students, and classroom teachers interested in exploring usage-inspired L2 pedagogy.

"Variationist research methods and the analysis of second language data in the study abroad context" By Kimberly Geeslin and Jordan Garrett
"Study abroad and L2 learner attitudes" By Kimberly Geeslin and Lauren Schmidt

The Routledge Handbook of Study Abroad Research and Practice is an authoritative overview of study abroad and immersive context research specifically situated within applied linguistics and Second Language Acquisition (SLA) for graduate students and researchers in these fields. Featuring contributions from established scholars from around the world, this volume provides in-depth coverage of the theoretical approaches and methodologies used in study abroad and applied linguistics research, and examines their practical implications on program implementation. The Handbook is organized around core areas of research and practice: language development and personal growth; study abroad settings; individual differences of learners; and applications concerning the preparation of students, teachers, and administrators for study abroad, the role of study abroad in foreign language curricula, and future directions. This handbook is the ideal resource for graduate students, researchers, and administrators interested in learning more about linguistic and personal development during study abroad.

"Linguistic variation in instructor provision of oral input" By Laura Gurzynski-Weiss, Kimberly Geeslin, Avizia Long, and Danielle Daidone

Expanding Individual Difference Research in the Interaction Approach: Investigating learners, instructors, and other interlocutors demonstrates why investigating the individual differences of all interlocutors with whom learners interact - including peer and heritage learners, instructors, researchers, and native speakers - is critical to understanding how second and foreign languages are taught and learned. Through state-of-the-art syntheses detailing what is known about learners and instructors, and novel empirical studies highlighting new avenues of inquiry, the volume articulates the most pressing needs for individual difference research. The book concludes with a scoping review, which reveals the many interlocutors still yet to be empirically considered and outlines next steps for this research. Uniquely combining linguistic theory, research synthesis, and empirical study, this book encourages students and established scholars alike to expand their conceptualization of individual differences. By demonstrating the importance of considering the individual differences of all interlocutors, the studies are also highly relevant to those teaching second and foreign languages in diverse contexts.

"Lexical frequency and subject expression in native and non-native Spanish: A closer look at independent and mediating effects" By Bret Linford, Avizia Long, Megan Solon, Melissa Whatley, and Kimberly Geeslin

This book explores the current state of Spanish sociolinguistics and its contribution to theories of language variation and change, from both synchronic and diachronic perspectives. It offers original analyses on a variety of topics across a wide spectrum of linguistic subfields from different formal, experimental, and corpus-based standpoints. The volume is organized around six thematic sections: (i) Cutting-edge Methodologies in Sociolinguistics; (ii) Bilingualism; (iii) Language Acquisition; (iv) Phonological Variation; (v) Morpho-Syntactic Variation; and (vi) Lexical Variation. As a whole, this collection reflects an array of approaches and analyses that show how in its variation across speakers, speech communities, linguistic contexts, communicative situations, dialects, and time, the Spanish language provides an immense wealth of data to challenge accepted linguistic views and shape new theoretical proposals in the field of language variation and change. Spanish Language and Sociolinguistic Analysis represents a significant contribution to the growing field of Spanish sociolinguistics.

"Variable subject expression in L2 Spanish? Uncovering the developmental sequence and predictive linguistic factors" By Kimberly Geeslin, Bret Linford, and Stephen Fafulas

Much recent scholarship has sought to identify the linguistic and social factors that favor the expression or omission of subject pronouns in Spanish. This volume brings together leading experts on the topic of language variation in Spanish to provide a panoramic view of research trends, develop probabilistic models of grammar, and investigate the impact of language contact on pronoun expression. The book consists of three sections. The first studies the distributional patterns and conditioning forces on subject pronoun expression in four monolingual varieties--Dominican, Colombian, Mexican, and Peninsular--and makes cross-dialectal comparisons. In the second section, experts explore Spanish in contact with English, Maya, Catalan, and Portuguese to determine the extent to which each language influences this syntactic variable. The final section examines the acquisition of variable subject pronoun expression among monolingual and bilingual children as well as adult second language learners.

"La adquisición del español como segunda lengua: Fonología" By Kimberly Geeslin and Avizia Long

The Enciclopedia de Linguistica Hispánica provides comprehensive coverage of the major and subsidiary fields of Spanish linguistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced and arranged alphabetically within three main sections: Part 1 covers linguistic disciplines, approaches and methodologies. Part 2 brings together the grammar of Spanish, including subsections on phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Part 3 brings together the historical, social and geographical factors in the evolution of Spanish. Drawing on the expertise of a wide range of contributors from across the Spanish-speaking world the Enciclopedia de Linguistica Hispánica is an indispensable reference for undergraduate and postgraduate students of Spanish, and for anyone with an academic or professional interest in the Spanish language/Spanish linguistics.

"The development and use of the Spanish copula with adjectives by Korean-speaking learners" By Kimberly Geeslin and Avizia Long

This is the first book entirely and exclusively devoted to the grammar of the two copular verbs ser and estar, certainly one of the most intriguing features of Spanish grammar. Although the topic has long attracted the interest of scholars, it had never given rise to a collection of papers that covers both theoretical issues in syntax and semantics and topics in the acquisition domain. This volume provides a comprehensive overview of the central research questions concerning the ser / estar alternation: the syntactic or semantic nature of the distinction, its link with aspect and with the Individual-Level / Stage-Level distinction, and its connection with interface phenomena. This book is a must-read for anyone interested in Hispanic linguistics, but can be equally attractive for researchers working on Romance linguistics, theoretical linguistics (syntax, semantics, pragmatics), acquisition theory, and historical linguistics.

By Kimberly Geeslin and Aarnes Gudmestad

This new five-volume anthology of major workshas been produced in consultation with an editorial advisory board of distinguished scholars. It brings together the key texts of language variation and change to provide a comprehensive collection that represents the field's development and showcases the diverse communities that have been the subjects of investigation.

"Measuring lexical frequency: Comparison groups and subject expression in L2 Spanish" By Bret Linford, Avizia Long, Megan Solon, and Kimberly Geeslin

When humans learn languages, are they also learning how to create shared meaning? In The Usage-based Study of Language Learning and Multilingualism, a cadre of international experts say yes and offer cutting-edge research in usage-based linguistics to explore how language acquisition, in particular multilingual language acquisition, works. Each chapter presents an original study that supports the view that language learning is initiated through local and meaningful communication with others. Over an accumulated history of such usage, people gradually create more abstract, interactive schematic representations, or a mental grammar. This process of acquiring language is the same for infants and adults and across varied contexts, such as the family, the classroom, the laboratory, a hospital, or a public encounter. Employing diverse methodologies to study this process, the contributors here work with target languages, including Cantonese, English, French, French Sign Language, German, Hebrew, Malay, Mandarin, Spanish, and Swedish, and offer a much-needed exploration of this growing area of linguistic research.

"The L2 development of subject form variation: The individual vs. the group" By Kimberly Geeslin, Bret Linford, Stephen Fafulas, Avizia Long, and Manuel Díaz-Campos

The 16th Hispanic Linguistics symposium was held at the University of Florida Hilton Conference Center from October 26-28, 2012. This volume contains 25 of the papers presented at the conference, including the plenary from Barbara A. Lafford.

"Second-language development of variable future-time expression in Spanish" By Aarnes Gudmestad and Kimberly Geeslin

The 6th Workshop on Spanish Sociolinguistics was held at the University of Arizona from April 12-14, 2012. This volume contains 18 of the papers presented at the conference, divided into sections on Variation in Spanish, Language Contact, and Language Attitudes and Perception.

"Future Directions in the Acquisition of Variable Structures: The Role of Individual Lexical Items in Second Language Spanish" By Kimberly Geeslin
"Acquiring geographically-variable norms of use: The case of the present perfect in Mexico and Spain" By Kimberly L. Geeslin, Stephen Fafulas, and Matthew Kanwit

The 15th Hispanic Linguistics Symposium was held at the University of Georgia from October 6-9, 2011. This volume contains 24 of the papers presented at the conference, including the plenaries from Kimberly L. Geeslin and Paula Kempchinsky. The papers are divided into sections on Historical Linguistics and Language Change, Second Language Acquisition and Teaching, Phonology and Phonetics, Sociolinguistics and Pragmatics, and Syntax and Semantics.

"Variation of the Simple Present and Present Progressive Forms: A Comparison of Native and Non-native Speakers" By Kimberly Geeslin and Stephen Fafulas
"The L2 Acquisition of Variable Perfective Past Time Reference in Spanish in an Overseas Immersion Setting" By Kimberly Geeslin, Lorenzo García-Amaya, Maria Hasler-Barker, Nicholas Henriksen, and Jason Killam

This volume contains 26 papers selected from among those presented at the 14th Hispanic Linguistics Symposium, which took place from October 6-9, 2010 at the University of Georgia. The theme of the conference was "Variation and Linguistic Theory." The papers are grouped into sections on sociolinguistics, second language acquisition, morpho-syntax, and phonetics and phonology, and include Robert Bayley's plenary presentation.

"The acquisition of variation in second language Spanish: How to identify and catch a moving target" By Kimberly Geeslin

This Handbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of theoretical and descriptive research in contemporary Hispanic sociolinguistics. Offers the first authoritative collection exploring research strands in the emerging and fast-moving field of Spanish sociolinguistics Highlights the contributions that Spanish Sociolinguistics has offered to general linguistic theory Brings together a team of the top researchers in the field to present the very latest perspectives and discussions of key issues Covers a wealth of topics including: variationist approaches, Spanish and its importance in the U.S., language planning, and other topics focused on the social aspects of Spanish Includes several varieties of Spanish, reflecting the rich diversity of dialects spoken in the Americas and Spain

"Using sociolinguistic analyses of discourse-level features to expand research on L2 variation in forms of Spanish subject expression" By Kimberly Geeslin and Aarnes Gudmestad

This volume contains 13 papers selected from among those presented at the 32nd Annual Second Language Research Forum, which took place from October 29-November 1, 2009 at Michigan State University in East Lansing.

"Exploring the roles of redundancy and ambiguity in variable subject expression: A comparison of native and non-native speakers" By Aarnes Gudmestad and Kimberly Geeslin
"The SLA of Direct Object Pronouns in a Study Abroad Immersion Environment Where Use Is Variable" By Kimberly Geeslin, Lorenzo García-Amaya, Maria Hasler-Barker, Nicholas Henriksen, and Jason Killam

This volume contains 26 papers selected from among those presented at the 12th Hispanic Linguistics Symposium, which took place from October 23-26, 2008 at Laval University in Quebec City, Canada. The volume included plenaries from Brenda Laca and Enrique Obediente Sosa. The papers are grouped into sections on Syntax, Semantics, Phonology, and Pragmatics; Sociolinguistics and Language Variation; and Acquisition.

"Copula choice in Spanish in a Spanish-Catalan bilingual environment" By Pedro Guijarro-Fuentes and Kimberly Geeslin

In February 2006 the first international conference on Multilingualism and Applied Comparative Linguistics (MACL) was held in Brussels, Belgium. The aim of the MACL conference was to bring together scholars from various branches of applied linguistics with a shared interest in cross-linguistic and cross-cultural communication. The conference thus fostered an exchange of knowledge and expertise among researchers from various disciplines, including educational linguistics, cultural linguistics, terminography, translation studies and studies of specialised languages. The present book is the second of two volumes containing a selection from the approximately 120 papers that were presented at that three-day event. The book comprises five chapters, reflecting different research perspectives on cross-linguistic and cross-cultural communication. The first chapter covers research articles on metaphors and planned languages. The second chapter comprises articles dealing with language attitudes, language proficiency and language practices in cross-linguistic and cross-cultural, communicative contexts. Chapter three features articles in the field of discourse-analysis research. In the fourth chapter research is presented that pertains to terminology and specialised languages. Finally, chapter five deals with translation studies.

"Variable subject expression in L2 Spanish: A comparison of native and non-native speakers" By Kimberly Geeslin and Aarnes Gudmestad

This volume contains 19 papers selected from the 30th annual Second Language Research Forum (SLRF 2007), which was held at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in October 2007. The papers are divided into sections on morphosyntax, pragmatics, phonology, awareness, conversation analysis, and heritage language acquisition.

"Comparing Interview and Written Elicitation Tasks in Native and Non-native Data: Do Speakers Do What We Think They Do?" By Kimberly Geeslin and Aarnes Gudmestad

This volume contains 25 papers selected from the 10th Hispanic Linguistics Symposium (HLS), held at the University of Western Ontario in October 2006. The papers are organized into sections on acquisition, phonology, syntax, language contact and variation, and pragmatics.

"¿Ser antes que estar? Etapas adquisitivas del español como L2" By Kimberly Geeslin and Pedro Guijarro Fuentes

Estas Actas, en cuatro tomos, recoge las contribuciones ordenadas según los diecinueve bloques temáticos del VI Congreso de Lingüística General, celebrado entre el 3 y 7 de mayo de 2004 en Santiago de Compostela.
En cada volumen se han agrupado las secciones por criterio de afinidad. El primero incluye trabajos de método y de aplicaciones de la Lingüística, el segundo y tercero contienen estudios sobre la estructura de la lengua y el cuarto se dedica a cuestiones historiográficas, usos lingüísticos y variación.

"Exploring Copula Choice in Spanish: A Look at Gender" By Kimberly Geeslin and Pedro Guijarro-Fuentes

This volume contains 19 papers selected from the Third Workshop on Spanish Sociolinguistics, held at Temple University on April 6-8, 2006. The authors discuss sociolinguistic issues within Spanish-speaking communities and countries around the world, analyzing samples of Spanish data gathered in a variety of contexts in South America, Central America, the Caribbean, North America, and Spain. The volume presents six papers from each of three subject areas (phonological variation, morpho-syntactic variation, and language contact), and anchors them with Richard Cameron's plenary presentation. Most papers are written in English, and two are written in Spanish.

"Linguistic and social predictors of copula use in Galician Spanish" By Kimberly Geeslin and Pedro Guijarro-Fuentes

This volume, covering a range of topics such as Spanish as a heritage language in the United States, policy issues, pragmatics and language contact, sociolinguistic variation and contact, and Bozal (Creole) Spanish, will serve the interests of linguists, educators, and policy makers alike. It provides cutting edge research on varieties of Spanish spoken by children, teenagers, and adults in places as diverse as Chicago, New York, New Mexico, and Houston; Valencia and Galicia; the Andean highlands; and the border between Haiti and the Dominican Republic. The emphasis is on spoken Spanish, although researchers also investigate code-switching in the lyrics of bachata songs and the presence of creole in Cuban and Brazilian literature. This collection will be of interest wherever Spanish is spoken.

"Interpretation of Spanish copula choice by Portuguese near-native speakers" By Pedro Guijarro-Fuentes and Kimberly Geeslin

This book comprises eleven contributions dealing with various aspects of age and the age factor in the acquisition and teaching of second languages, particularly English and Spanish. The articles chosen for this monograph have been written by expert researchers in the field from Spain, Great Britain and the USA. The advances put forward in this book will certainly be of interest to researchers, scholars, and graduate students working on this topical issue in the fields of bilingualism, multilingualism, and second language teaching and learning. The book is divided into three parts. Part one deals with theoretical issues related to age and their pedagogical implications. Part two centers on age and L2 learning in school and family settings. Part three focuses on age and the relationship between aptitude and child/adult L2 learning.

"A Longitudinal Study of Copula Choice: Following Development in Variable Structures" By Kimberly L. Geeslin and Pedro Guijarro-Fuentes

This volume contains 30 papers selected from two conferences which were held jointly at the Pennsylvania State University in 2005: the 9th Hispanic Linguistics Symposium and the 8th Conference on the Acquisition of Spanish and Portuguese as First and Second Languages. The papers are organized into sections on theoretical syntax, phonetics and phonology, second language acquisition and teaching, acquisition of syntax, and sociolinguistics.

"Task Design, Discourse Context and Variation in Second Language Data Elicitation" By Kimberly Geeslin

This volume contains 15 papers selected from the 7th Conference on the Acquisition of Spanish and Portuguese as First and Second Languages, which was held at the University of Minnesota in 2004. The papers discuss how children and adults learn Spanish and Portuguese, examining acquisition and development in the areas of phonology, morphology, syntax, and writing.

"The Acquisition of Copula Choice in Instructed Spanish: The Role of Individual Characteristics" By Kimberly L. Geeslin and Pedro Guijarro-Fuentes

This volume contains 12 papers selected from the 6th Conference on the Acquisition of Spanish and Portuguese as First and Second Languages, which was held at the University of New Mexico on October 16-18, 2003. The papers discuss how children and adults learn Spanish and Portuguese, examining the acquisition and development of phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, lexicon, discourse, and narrative.

"The Role of Adjectival Features in the SLA of Copula Choice" By Kimberly Geeslin

Theory, Practice, and Acquisition is a selected proceedings of the 6th Hispanic Linguistics Symposium and the 5th Conference on the Acquisition of Spanish and Portuguese, which were held together at the University of Iowa on October 18-20, 2002. The volume is organized into five sections: (1) phonetics, phonology, morphology, and historical linguistics, (2) syntax and semantics, (3) language use, (4) L2 acquisition: syntax, morphology, phonology, and (5) applied linguistics.

"Linguistic simplification: Past, present and future links to second language acquisition" By Kimberly Geeslin

This selected proceedings contains 16 papers from the September 2000 Second Language Research Forum held at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The papers are organized into four sections: Formal Investigations of SLA, Cognitive Accounts of SLA, SLA in the Classroom, and Methodological Issues.

"A new approach to the study of the SLA of copula choice in Spanish" By Kimberly Geeslin

The 1999 Conference on the L1 & L2 Acquisition of Spanish and Portuguese was held at Georgetown University in October 1999 in parallel with the 3rd Hispanic Linguistics Symposium. As the name of the conference indicates, the talks focused on the acquisition of Spanish and Portuguese both as first and second languages. The proceedings includes 12 papers selected from the conference, covering morphosyntax, reading, bilingualism, phonology, and writing.

"The second language acquisition of variation in adulthood" By Kimberly Geeslin, Travis Evans-Sago, Stephen Fafulas, and Tom Goebel-Mahrle

This volume connects the latest research on language acquisition across the lifespan with the explanation of language change in specific sociohistorical settings. This conversation benefits from recent advances in two areas: on the one hand, the study of how learners of various ages and in various sociolinguistic contexts acquire language variation; on the other, historical sociolinguistics as the field that focuses on the study of historical patterns of language variation and change. The overarching rationale for this interdisciplinary dialogue is that all forms of language change start and spread as the result of individual acts of acquisition throughout the speakers' lives. The thirteen chapters in this book are authored by an international group of both established and emerging scholars. They encompass theoretical overviews of specific research areas within the broader realm of the acquisition of language variation, as well as case studies applying these theoretical advances to the exploration of language change in a wide range of sociohistorical contexts in the Americas, Oceania, and Asia. This volume will be of interest to students and researchers in the area of language acquisition, language variation and language change, especially those interested in interdisciplinary and crosslinguistic connections among these areas.

"An analysis of co-occurrence of the Spanish copulas with adjectives: How variable are they really?" By Kimberly Geeslin

We are pleased to assemble this volume in honor of Dr. Rudolph C. Troike, in celebration of his long and distinguished career. As a researcher, administrator, teacher, and mentor, Rudy has dedicated his life to linguistics and language, and through his scholarly contributions, teaching and personal generosity in many ways, he has touched the lives of many people across national boundaries and in several academic disciplines. In this volume some of his students and colleagues have joined together to celebrate his achievements. It is a great honor to dedicate this volume to him.

"The parameter of aspect: Evidence from the SLA of Spanish" By Kimberly Geeslin

This selected proceedings contains 22 papers from the September 1999 Second Language Research Forum held at the University of Minnesota.