SPH H351, Complementary and Alternative Approaches to Health

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Also includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Subject areas covered include: aromatherapy, body work, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, and osteopathy.

Also includes full-text health reference books and encyclopedias such as American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia, Complete Guide to Prescription & Nonprescription Drugs 2012, Cornell Illustrated Encyclopedia of Health, Mayo Clinic Family Health Book.

Indexes foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material. The resource covers biomedical life sciences, public health, health promotion, public health emergencies, epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, nutrition and food sciences, infectious diseases and parasitology, tropical and international health, and health systems.

Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS.

Also includes more than 500 health pamphlets; full text of health-related articles from more than 1500 general interest periodicals. Also includes reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

Health and society in video covers medical progress in health and wellness issues. The collection uses documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews to bridge the gap between medical research and public understanding of health. The videos are designed for use by students, instructors, and the general population to better understand the realities of illness, wellness, and the modern healthcare system. Focus is on public health and medicine, epidemiology, pathology, geronotology, nutrition and wellness, childhood development, cultural and environmental health issues, mental health, and the experience of living with chronic conditions and diseases, such as multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy, cognitive disorders, fibromyalgia, and obesity.

Includes full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, and streaming video. Also includes a broad collection of reference works, such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets. As well as Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish-language search filter.

Details all aspects of healthcare administration, as well as other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management.

Features searchable full text for nearly 80 full text magazines and 110 full text reference books. Also includes more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports and full text for current health pamphlets.

Provides users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from many of the important nursing journals.