Why Care About Search?
Searching large multidisciplinary/multi-publication databases requires efficient and effective strategies to obtain a set of manageable and useful search results.
Why use Boolean operators?
Most library databases use Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT).
Use them to narrow or broaden search results.
- AND for records that include both terms (narrows search)
- OR for records that include either term (broadens search)
- NOT to exclude irrelevant concepts (narrows search)
Example: Iran AND China AND (energy OR petroleum OR oil)
Adapted from SAIS Library, Johns Hopkins Univ. "Database Search Tips" Guide (no longer extant).
Boolean Operators
Use AND, OR, and NOT to narrow or broaden search results.
Using AND
- narrows results
- ALL terms must be in each search result
Note: in most, but not all, databases, the AND is implied. For example, Google automatically puts an AND in between search terms.
Example: renewable energy AND China
Using OR
- broadens results
- searches for ANY of the terms in search results
- connects similar concepts (synonyms)
Example: renewable energy OR solar OR wind
Using NOT
- narrows results
- exclude words from search
This operator is great when you notice your search term is used in different disciplines. You might use this example when researching peacekeeping in the context of interpersonal conflict but your search results in documents about international conflict.
Example: peacekeeping NOT United Nations
Adapted from SAIS Library, Johns Hopkins Univ. "Database Search Tips" Guide (no longer extant).
Database Search Fields
Records in library databases are made of "fields." Fields can help narrow your search.
Example of common fields in databases:
- author
- title
- journal title
- abstract
- publisher
- date/year of publication
- subject/descriptor
- all text (searches the full text, if available)
Improving Search Results with Fields
- Most databases automatically search by keyword (looking for the term anywhere in the record).
- Limit the field for a search term to narrow the results.
- Fields are usually in drop down boxes.
- If the database has a single search box with no drop-down menu, look for an "Advanced Search" option.
-
Adapted from SAIS Library, Johns Hopkins Univ. "Database Search Tips" Guide (no longer extant).
Brainstorming Keywords
Identify effective search terms for database and web resources. (From Portland State University.)