A263 Contemporary Social Issues in the African American Community - Digital Project Resources

When you are selecting images for your project, it is important to use copyright-free images. IU students also have access to Adobe stock images - About Adobe Stock at IU.

Copyright Librarian Naz Pantaloni provides these useful sources of public domain or free images. You can learn more at Using Images - Copyright - Library Research Guides at Indiana University 

• Creative Commons Search (http://search.creativecommons.org/):  Search engine to find images licensed for free use.
• Getty Images (http://www.gettyimages.com/embed) has a collection of images that can be embedded on websites, blogs, and social media for no fee.
• Historic American Buildings Survey (http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/hh/):  Thousands of buildings across the United States.
• Library of Congress (http://www.loc.gov/pictures/): Dozens of collections of photographs from the United States and abroad, including historic figures and events, as well as a general collection (http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/cph/) organized by Library of Congress Subject Headings that can be used as stock photographs.
• MorgueFile (http://www.morguefile.com/):  A stock photo collection.
• Wikimedia Commons (http://commons.wikimedia.org):   A collection of user-contributed and historic photographs.

* You can use Wikimedia Commons to host your own photographs that you hold the copyright to by creating an account and uploading them to the commons.