Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Get Help
Research & Instruction Librarian
Market Research
- Mintel Reports
This link opens in a new window
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. Note: Users must create a personal profile in order to download content from Mintel. Please see more below for additional instructions.
- MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts. - SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network
- This link opens in a new window
Market research from the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from various magazines.
Business Articles and News
These sources capture a wide variety of publication types (academic research, popular press, trade publications) on a range of topics, including marketing and consumer research.
Language matters when searching these sources! Looking for information on what causes consumers to purchase a particular product? Try including "purchase intention" (with the quotes) in your search. Wondering how much more a green product is worth? Try the phrase "willingness to purchase" (with the quotes), along with a variety of synonyms like (green or sustainable or environmentally-friendly), like this:
"willingness to purchase" AND (green or sustainable or environmentally-friendly)
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
Here is a table with more useful search language. It's not exhaustive, but should give you some good places to start. For more tips, see the Effective Searching tab in this guide.
| For this concept | Start with search strings like |
| Gen Z | ("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z") |
| socially responsible companies | ("mission driven retail" OR sustainab* or eco* or "fair trade") |
| Consumer psychology | ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior") |
| Purchase drivers | ("purchase intention" or "path to purchase" or "willingness to pay" or "shopping journey") |
| Mobile/online shopping | (mobile or online or ecommerce) and (shop* or purchas*) |
| Marketing | (marketing or advertising) |
| "grass roots" Marketing | ("word of mouth" OR EWOM OR influencer) |
More examples:
("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z") AND (marketing OR advertising)
("purchase intention" OR "path to purchase" OR "willingness to pay" OR "shopping journey") AND ("word of mouth" OR EWOM OR influencer)
** (You don't have to captialize AND and OR; it just helps make the search strings more readable)
Demographics
- SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- DataUSAProvides access to government data on wages, demographics, diversity and job growth for industries and for specific occupations. Also provides comparison of specific US cities with regard to income, education, housing, cost of living, diversity, health and safety, and more.
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world. - Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors. - BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.