Library Research Guides: Kelley Direct On Campus: Boys &amp; Girls Club: Home

Indiana State- and County-Level Data

Data: Statistics about Bloomington Indiana
IU Libraries guide to data related to Bloomington and Monroe County, Indiana.

SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application. It has variables like
- family demographics
- business count for childcare centers
- business count for schools
Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”

Nonprofit Resources

GuideStar Pro
- This link opens in a new window
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides information and data on nonprofit organizations.
Allows users to search and filter organizations by granular income, expense, assets, and number of employees, as well as analyze an organization's year-over-year profit, revenue, expenses. Users can also verify organizations’ current IRS status with GuideStar Charity Check, and see nonprofit contractors. In-depth nonprofit information is available for download, users are limited to 1,000 downloads per month.

Fundraising for Nonprofit Organizations

Foundation Directory Online
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based database from the Foundation Center, a foundation-supported clearinghouse of information on private funding sources. Provides information on over 140,000 independent and company-sponsored foundations, corporate givers, and grantmaking public charities. Foreign foundations and nonprofit organizations other than foundations are excluded.
Includes a database of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, as well as a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers. Also includes a database of sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. IU subscribes at the professional level.
PIVOT
- This link opens in a new window
Offers several databases for approximately 25,000 private and federal funding sources. Grants in the non-science areas are included.
Comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities combined with a unique database of over 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Pivot's proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to Indiana University and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive COS Pivot database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside IU.

Recommended Databases

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
See the reports on
- Civic, Social & Youth Organizations in the US
- After-School Program Providers in the US
- Day Care Providers in the US
- Indoor Sports Facilities Management in the US
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.
Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. Note: Users must create a personal profile in order to download content from Mintel. Please see more below for additional instructions.
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Reports may be downloaded as RTF (rich-text format) files; tabular data may also be saved as CSV (comma-separated values) files.

Access and downloading instructions:
1. All users will have to agree to the Academic permissions and prohibitions, which prohibits systematic copying, use without attribution, use for commercial purposes, or distribution to non-IUB students and employees.
2. After accepting the above permissions and prohibitions, you must create an individual profile in order to download reports.
3. Select "Log into your profile..." to create a new (or log into an existing) Mintel profile.
4. After logging in, downloading is available by either using the direct download option for a report or by using the My Presentations feature which also offers the direct download option for the report.
MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView, and prior to that Simmons Choices3) provides data on adult U.S. consumers based on national surveys. The data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income ...), consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes ...) and buying and media habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.

Article Search

Business Source Complete, ProQuest Business and EBSCO Management are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.

For this concept	Start with words like
Gen Z	("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z")
Consumer psychology	("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior")
Purchase drivers	("purchase intention" or "path to purchase" or "willingness to pay" or "shopping journey")
Mobile/online shopping	(mobile or online or ecommerce) and (shop* or purchas*)
Marketing	(marketing or advertising)
"grass roots" Marketing	("word of mouth" OR EWOM OR influencer)

Examples:

("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z") AND (marketing or advertising)

("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z") AND ("word of mouth" OR EWOM OR influencer)

Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.

Doing multiple searches and looking at several pages of results is the key to success.

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
Proquest Business
- This link opens in a new window
Allows users to search across six ProQuest business databases: ABI/INFORM Complete‎, EconLit‎, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)‎. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal, and The Women's Wear Daily Archive.

Kelley Direct On Campus: Boys & Girls Club

Schedule a Research Consultation

Business/SPEA Library

Librarian

Indiana State- and County-Level Data

Nonprofit Resources

Fundraising for Nonprofit Organizations

Recommended Databases

Article Search

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Kelley Direct On Campus: Boys & Girls Club

Indiana State- and County-Level Data

Nonprofit Resources

Fundraising for Nonprofit Organizations

Recommended Databases

Article Search

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries