It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to researching topics at the intersection of visual art and gender. Includes tips for researching artists, as well as a list of sample artists working in different media.
The Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) provides an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Artstor includes a broad spectrum of images related to gender. The Schlesinger Library of the History of Women in America may be of particular interest. This archive represents the work of both professional and amateur artistic and documentary photographers, including many women.
Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.
Designed as a tool for reference, teaching, and exploration, A Space of Their Own is regularly updated and expanded to provide new insights about historical and contemporary women artists. The database launched in early 2022 with a core group of records documenting the lives and careers of women artists working in Europe and the United States between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Full-text archive of magazines comprising research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Access is for Art & Architecture Archive Collection 1.
Art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as areas of architecture and architectural design.
Features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. Also includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Designed for use by art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Supersedes Art Full Text and includes all the material available from that database.
Includes roughly 75,000 images of art, architecture and world cultures, from the Fine Arts Visual Resources Center and licensed sources. Available system-wide. Some images are IUB only.
The Indiana University Department of the History of Art Dido Image Bank is dedicated to the storage of low resolution (72 dpi) images from the Fine Arts Slide Library collection of over 400,000 images. Encompassing the full breadth of art historical periods and media, the Image Bank contains c.60,000 images, both in-house production and commercially licensed. This compendium of digitized images permits convenient use and access with a graphic web browser. The images are presented in thumbnail and 800 x 600 screen res sizes, and many are also now available in a 1024 x 768 screen resolution. Access to the images is available through keyword search. The DIDO home page also has links to other selected image collections available at IU and on the web.
Most of the content of DIDO is available to the IU system, but commercially licensed images are available only on the Bloomington campus.
Online digital library of unique images sourced from the world's leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections, with unlimited access to over 530,000 images, all copyright cleared for educational use.
Encyclopedia articles about artists, architects, and artistic movements & periods, as well as bibliographies for further research. Also includes thousands of searchable images.
Provides access to Oxford’s art reference works, including the Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
