Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Gender

A guide to researching topics at the intersection of visual art and gender. Includes tips for researching artists, as well as a list of sample artists working in different media.

Books

The Making of Bamana Sculpture

This book discusses how Bamana sculptors compare the process of producing a ritual object both to sexual intercourse and to childbirth. Her study details how Bamana sculptors become 'great' artists, how this process requires a shift from a 'male' to a 'female' gender identity, and why the Bamana believe that the ambitious artist must make tragic sacrifices to win renown.

Abstract Bodies

Original and theoretically astute, Abstract Bodies is the first book to apply the interdisciplinary field of transgender studies to the discipline of art history. It recasts debates around abstraction and figuration in 1960s art through a discussion of gender's mutability and multiplicity. Abstract Bodies makes a case for abstraction as a resource in reconsidering gender's multiple capacities and offers an ambitious contribution to this burgeoning interdisciplinary field.

Sculpture, Sexuality and History

This book investigates the wide-ranging connections between sculpture, sexuality, and history in Western culture from the eighteenth century to the present. Sculpture has offered a privileged site for the articulation of sexual experience and the formation of sexual knowledge. As historical objects, sculptures also draw attention to the different ways in which knowledge about sexuality is facilitated through an engagement with the past.

Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Transgender + Nonbinary + Genderqueer Sculptors

Interviews

Articles

Books

Media

Cis Sculptors

Artist Search IUCAT for books and other resources in the IU Libraries. Search OneSearch for articles and other resources in the IU Libraries and elsewhere. Search the Archives of Sexuality and Gender for primary source materials.

Search the IU LGBTQ+ Library catalog for books and other resources.

Archival collections Artist's Website
Leilah Babirye IUCAT OneSearch        

Félix González-Torres

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://www.felixgonzalez-torresfoundation.org/foundation-activities/archives

https://www.felixgonzalez-torresfoundation.org/

Harmony Hammond

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Harmony Hammond Archive

http://www.harmonyhammond.com/

Michelangelo

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Casa Buonarroti

Kate Millett

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Kate Millett papers

Allyson Mitchell

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://allysonmitchell.com/

Jody Pinto

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://www.jodypinto.com/