Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Gender

A guide to researching topics at the intersection of visual art and gender. Includes tips for researching artists, as well as a list of sample artists working in different media.

Books

Painting the Difference

This book explores the role of the picture plane in modern painting and the relationships it creates among the artist, the subject, and the spectator. It traces the history of female subjects as they began to gaze out of the picture to confront and engage their viewers. The book considers works by artists such as Renoir, Manet, Degas, Cézanne, Picasso, and Matisse, as well as Rothko, Warhol, Cindy Sherman, and many more.

Women Italian Renaissance Art

This richly illustrated books tells the story of the different ways in which women were represented in Italian Renaissance painting. It is clearly arranged into four distinct areas that relate to the function of the art work: marriage furniture, portraiture, the nude and depictions of female saints.

Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Transgender + Nonbinary + Genderqueer Drawing/Painting/Printmaking Artists

Interviews

Articles

Books

Media

Interviews

Articles

Interviews

Articles

Books

Cis Drawing/Painting/Printmaking Artists

Artist

Search IUCAT for books and other resources in the IU Libraries.

Search OneSearch for articles and other resources in the IU Libraries and elsewhere.

Search the Archives of Sexuality and Gender for primary source materials.

Search the IU LGBTQ+ Library catalog for books and other resources.

Archival collections

Artist's Website

Alison Bechdel

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Alison Bechdel papers

https://dykestowatchoutfor.com/

Rosa Bonheur

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Collection of Rosa Bonheur  correspondence

Frank Coombs

OneSearch

Beauford Delaney IUCAT OneSearch Archives of Sexuality and Gender   https://research.utk.edu/oried/2022/03/10/ut-libraries-acquires-beauford-delaney-collection/  

Harmony Hammond

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Harmony Hammond Archive

http://www.harmonyhammond.com/

Keith Haring

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Keith Haring Foundation Archives

https://www.haring.com/

Anna Elizabeth Klumpke

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Eardley Knollys

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Eardley Knollys papers

Michelangelo

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Casa Buonarroti

Kate Millett

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Kate Millett papers

Mickalene Thomas

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

http://www.mickalenethomas.com/

Kehinde Wiley

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://kehindewiley.com/

David Wojnarowicz

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

David Wojnarowicz Papers