Beyond the Canon: A Guide for Performers and Educators to Find Repertoire from Underrepresented Composers and Overlooked Music

Expanding the Music Theory Canon: Provides a collection of inclusive music theory examples. 

Music Theory Examples by BIPOC Composers: a spreadsheet that includes columns for topic, sub-topic, identity, and more. 

Teaching Music History: From the Pedagogy Study Group of the American Musicological Society. Offers a suite of resources including lesson plans and repertoire suggestions with options to search via geographic area, audience, and century. 

Inclusive Early Music: A collective whose goal is to introduce students to musical voices and communities and points of contact typically left out of college survey courses. Teaching resources available. 

Music By Women, Theory Examples Database: Search facets include meter, instrumentation, cadences, and more.

Suggestions for other sources? Let us know! mlref @ indiana.edu

These resources cover vocal pedagogy for transgender singers and methods for fostering inclusive spaces in music ensembles and classrooms.

Blurring the Binary: Resource for music educators aimed at addressing challenges that trans individuals face in music ensembles: uniforms, voicing, sections, standing arrangements, etc. Includes an extensive bibliography of resources for students and educators.

Queering Choir: Practical educational resources including recommendations for inclusive choir policies and bibliographies of resources regarding trans and gender-expansive singers and lesbian, gay, and bisexual singers.

Bartolome, S. J. & Stanford, M. E. “'Can’t I sing with the girls?;”: A Transgender Music Educator’s Journey." In B. C. Talbot, ed., Marginalized Voices in Music Education, ed. B.C. Talbot,114-36. Routledge, 2017.
Highlights issues of gendered conventions in choral music education by “exploring the experiences of Melanie, a transgender woman navigating the world of music education, and Sarah, a music teacher who finds her way to becoming a better trans advocate.”

Garrett, M. L., & Palkki, J. (2021). Honoring Trans and Gender-expansive Students in Music Education. New York: Oxford University Press.
In this practical resource, authors Matthew Garrett and Joshua Palkki “encourage music educators to honor gender diversity through ethically and pedagogically sound practices. … Part I of the book establishes the context needed to understand and work with trans and gender-expansive (TGE) persons in school music settings by presenting essential vocabulary and foundational concepts related to trans and gender identity and expression. Part II focuses on praxis by connecting research and teaching pedagogy to practical applications of inclusive teaching practices to honor TGE students in school music classrooms.”

Hearns, L. J., & Kremer, B. (2018). The Singing Teacher’s Guide to Transgender Voices (1st edition). Plural Publishing.
In The Singing Teacher’s Guide to Transgender Voices, Hearns and Kremer aim to “aid in the development of a successful vocal pedagogy for the training of transgender singers.” They thoroughly address topics including gender inclusivity in the classroom, voice classification and repertoire, special considerations for transgender singers, effects of hormone therapy, and voice health for transgender singers.

Sauerland, W. (2022). Queering Vocal Pedagogy : A Handbook for Teaching Trans and Genderqueer Singers and Fostering Gender-affirming Spaces. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield.
Queering Vocal Pedagogy provides a model for music educators for the training of gender-expansive vocalists. Case studies cover practical applications including lesson pacing, vocal exercises, and repertoire selection, and the appendices include useful resources for selecting music composed by or for trans and genderqueer musicians, writing affirmation policy statements, and becoming familiar with LGBTQ+ terms.