Composers Equity Project: From Chamber Music America, a database of ALAANA (African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American), women, and gender non-conforming composers.
Institute for Composer Diversity: "The Institute for Composer Diversity works to encourage the discovery, study, and performance of music written by composers from historically excluded groups."
ICD is one of the more comprehensive resources for locating composers from marginalized backgrounds due to its popularity. However, it has been criticized for outing queer composers without their consent, conflating queer identities, and for retaining data on composers after their requests to be removed. You can read about some of these issues here:
Library of Congress Performing Arts Research Guides: The Library of Congress has created numerous guides listing internal and online resources for finding music. Notable guides include American Women Composers, Black Composers, Early American Sacred Music, Latin American Composers, and LGBTQ+ Performing Arts Resources.
Diversity the Stand: “Diversify the Stand provides educational music for younger musicians by commissioning composers marginalized by race, ethnicity, nationality, gender, and orientation.” Their website includes commissioned composers, educational resources, and programming resources.
BIPOC Canadian Composers: This is a dataset of composers who identify as Black, Indigenous, or People of Color (BIPOC) with a connection to Canada.
__________________________________________________
For Voice
BIPOC Voices: "BIPOC Voices is a resource to help you program works for solo voice(s) and instruments by composers who are Black, Indigenous, or People of Colour."
For Trumpet and Brass
Ashley Killam Repertoire Catalog
Ashley Killam’s website includes a catalog of trumpet and brass works by composers from marginalized backgrounds. This catalog was initially focused only on gender-marginalized composers but has since expanded to include composers of other identities and backgrounds. The creator encourages users to use this resource as a starting point and go beyond the initial search to build relationships with composers and program their music. She has received consent from all living composers whose music is included in the catalog.
AfriClassical.com: Provides a list of composers of African descent, including "Africans, African Americans, and Afro-Europeans"
The African American Art Song Alliance: "Founded in 1997, this is the home of interchange between performers and scholars interested in art song by African-American composers. Here you will find information and links to assist with your discovery of our contribution to song."
African Diaspora Music Project: "The African Diaspora in this context is defined as those composers throughout the world descended from people of West and Central Africa"
Music by Black Composers: An Introductory Resource: Composers and repertoire compiled by the faculty at Juilliard.
The Black Music History Library: "This is a living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. Resources are organized chronologically and by genre for ease of browsing."
Black Composers - Scores: Links to library holdings of scores of Black composers of classical music.
Music of Asian America Research Center: "The Music of Asian America Research Center (MAARC) strives to increase knowledge and awareness of Asian American history and experience through collecting and conducting research on materials related to music-making by Asian Americans."
Sphinx Organization: "The Sphinx Organization is a social justice organization dedicated to transforming lives through the power of diversity in the arts."
Latin American Music Collections at IU: Search IUCAT for scores (as you normally would), but use the left-side menu to limit your results to: Collections : Cook Music Library (IUB) - Latin American Music Collection.
Chamber Music List of Black and Latinx Composers: This google document is compiled by the San Francisco Symphony.
International Alliance for Women in Music: "The IAWM is the world’s leading organization devoted to the equity, promotion, and advocacy of women in music across time, cultures, and genres."
The BIG LIST of Women Composers, from Donne: You can limit by time period, genre, and more. "Donne, Women in music is a charitable foundation that celebrates, advances and amplifies women in music. We are a global community of women, gender minorities and allies in the music industry."
...And We Were Heard: "Bringing you quality recordings of works by underrepresented composers." Includes searchable databases for works for wind band and orchestra.
LGBTQ Band Project: "The intent of project is to compile a list of pieces by composers who identify as members of the LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and additional gender/sexuality minorities) community and who have written works for band."
Music By Women: List of composers with option to choose time periods.
Classical Queer: Includes a database of Canadian Queer+ conductors, composers, and performers.
Donne Foundation: Donne is a charitable foundation that “celebrates, advances, and amplifies women in music.” Website includes reports on global repertoire diversity, a consulting service for implementing diverse programs, and a searchable list of women composers from medieval times to the present day.
Ring of Keys: “Ring of Keys is a nonprofit artist service organization that fosters community and visibility for musical theatre artists who self-identify as queer women, transgender, and gender non-conforming artists.” Website includes a wealth of resources, including directories of performers, awards, organizations, and more.
Feltkamp, A. K., & Tobenski, D., eds. Anthology of New Music: Trans and Nonbinary Voices. (Vol. 1). NewMusicShelf, 2021.
Collection of 21 works for solo voice and piano in all vocal ranges and in multiple music styles. Each work has a trans or nonbinary composer or lyricist or was written for/premiered by a trans or nonbinary singer.
B.R.A.H.M.S. Database on Contemporary Music: Hosted by the Institute for Research and Coordination in Acoustics/Music (IRCAM), this website includes short biographies, stylistic analyses, lists of works, and scholarly resources on numerous contemporary composers. Its focus is on European composers, especially those connected to spectral or electro-acoustic music. Users can keyword search by composer name or composition title, or browse alphabetically, by year of birth, or by nationality. Some text is available only in French.
The Historic New Orleans Collection: Well-known as the birthplace of jazz, New Orleans has had a long and often overlooked musical history, beginning in the nineteenth century when it was the operatic capital of the United States. Also find print and audio resources on Louis Moreau Gottschalk, Basile Barès, Jelly Roll Morton, and many others when you browse the public catalog of The Historic New Orleans Collection or visit their Williams Research Center in the historic French Quarter.
I Care If You Listen: "Through a unique blend of music criticism, promotional features, and multimedia content, ICIYL strives to be a leading advocate for artists who have been historically underrepresented or marginalized in Western classical music by highlighting equitable programming, facilitating challenging conversations, cultivating a safe platform, and creating educational resources."
Mexico City Cathedral Archive: includes digitized manuscripts
Moravian Music Foundation: The Moravians were some of the United States' first and finest composers, active mainly from 1760 to 1840. Including composers like Johann Friedrich Peter, John Antes, and Johannes Herbst, the American Moravians wrote sacred choral music, instrumental sonatas, and symphonies. The Moravian Music Foundation with offices in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania and Winston-Salem, North Carolina publishes and lends scores. In addition to physical archives, numerous resources are also available online.
Música Colonial Archive: A Scores list is available.
Muddle Instead of Music: Indiana University alumnus Matt Ertz introduces contemporary classical music on this streaming radio program. With nearly 300 episodes, including new episodes aired most Mondays, the focus is decidedly avant-garde and experimental. Those new to new music will discover a wealth of unfamiliar sounds as will those already engaged with contemporary music.
New Music USA: "Advocating for new music and our community of performers, composers, and appreciators is at the heart of everything New Music USA does."