Library Research Guides: REL C303 Superheroes and Religion in American Culture: Scholarly Articles

Searching advice

Don't be afraid to change up your search terms. Skim your search results and use the terminology and themes that you are finding to improve your next search. Didn't find what you expected or wanted? Just try a different combination of search terms or a different database.
Make use of the filters and features that are built in to each of the search tools. Look for filters like subject and publication date, as well as features that recommend related articles.
Get the most out of one really great source. Search for the sources that are cited in that article, and use Google Scholar to locate other works which have cited that article.
Search in at least two databases to find a broader range of sources. Many databases include unique journals, and, even when there is overlap, the search algorithms may surface different results in a different order.

General Databases

Academic Search (EBSCO)
This database provides access to scholarly articles, as well as popular and trade publications. Use the Peer Reviewed limiter to narrow your results.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is particularly useful for locating related articles by using the Cited by tool. Copy and paste the title of a great article, then click on Cited by underneath that article to find the articles that have cited it thus far. Can't access the full-text? Copy and paste the article title into Academic Search or WorldCat to locate it.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.
OneSearch@IU
Limit your results to Peer Reviewed to locate scholarly articles from a broad range of disciplines. Open up All Filters to filter results by Subject.
ProQuest One Academic
Limit your results to Scholarly Journals to access a wide variety of titles. Use the Document Type filter on the left to limit your results to features and articles.

Humanities Databases

Arts & Humanities Database
Search for humanities-focused scholarly articles by checking the Peer Reviewed box.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
This index connects you with both full-text PDFs and citations to locate sources relevant to religion and religious perspectives. Check the Academic Journals box to limit results to scholarly articles.
Coverage in the database begins in 1908, and there is indexing for some journal titles back into the nineteenth century. Full text is available for many electronic articles and book reviews in over 100 journals.
Humanities International Complete
This index includes results from a broad range of humanities publications. Check the Academic Journals box to limit results to scholarly articles.
JSTOR
One of the most prominent databases for research in the humanities, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals, book chapters, and more.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
MLA International Bibliography
Access full-text articles and citations for journals focused on literature, linguistics, folklore, film, and more. Check the Academic Journals box to limit results to scholarly articles.
It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.
Project Muse
This database provides full-text access to both scholarly journals and ebooks. Use the robust set of filters on the left to narrow your search results.

REL C303 Superheroes and Religion in American Culture

Associate Librarian

Searching advice

General Databases

Humanities Databases

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

REL C303 Superheroes and Religion in American Culture

Searching advice

General Databases

Humanities Databases

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries