Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUS M402: History of Music and Literature II

This guide will assist Dr. Rogers' students in locating sources for their research projects.

ATM Assignment: Collection Indexes

You are tasked with visiting the Archives of Traditional Music (ATM) Library (in Morrison Hall), and using one of our collection indexes! 

First steps: 

  1. Navigate to the ATM Reading Room (Morrison Hall 120)
  2. Locate a shelf of binders, and select any binder of indexes
  3. Within that binder, choose ONE index for any collection or recording

Submit to your AI via Canvas: 

  1. A photo of one index page
  2. Whether it is a field, broadcast, demonstration, or commercial recording
  3. BRIEF 1-2 sentence summary of the recording contents

When you are done with the binder please leave it on the table or the circulation desk.

Bookshelves with binders of various colors.

Bookshelf with index binders. You may choose any binder from any shelf to locate your index.

Extra Credit Opportunity

Think the ATM might have something that would work for your semester project? Get extra credit by talking to us! 

  1. Ask an ATM Staff Member (ATM Librarian, ATM Director, or student Library Assistant at ATM front desk) about a collection or recording that you might be interested in using for your semester project
  2. Be sure to give us your last name and section so we can be sure to let your AI know to give you the extra credit

HELPFUL INFO

The Archives of Traditional Music is open Monday - Friday, 9AM to 5PM. Please plan accordingly. Be sure to check our social media or hours widget on our website for any up-to-date information on hour changes. 

 

Information on navigating to the ATM Reading Room can be found on our website here

 

When completing your assignment, be sure to refer to Searching ATM Collections tab if needed for information on accession numbers.