SPH B403 Public Health Program Planning
Home
Greetings from the library!
Greetings B403 Students,
I'm glad you have found this research guide. My hope is that you will utilize it to aid you in any research assistance you find you need along the way! Included are lists of databases and journals I recommend you consider using, along with some writing resources.
I am available to you this semester for both in-person and virtual research consultations. Feel free to call me at 812-855-8155 or email alfordem@indiana.edu to set up an appointment.
Good luck this semester, and remember to reach out if you find yourself needing some extra guidance!
Emily Alford
Public Health Librarian
Using IU Libraries
Finding Quality Sources
The CRAAP Test
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search (EBSCO)Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- AgeLineAn online database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, dissertations, and videos.
- Alt HealthWatchCovers complementary, holistic, integrative, and alternative approaches to health care and wellness, from nearly 190 international journals.
- CINAHL CompleteA comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCitations to articles, books, conference papers, pamphlets, dissertations and other publications about gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.
- Health and Wellness (Gale)Consumer health information on diseases and health conditions, alternative medicine, drugs and other health-related resources.
- Health Source: Consumer EditionInformation on health-related issues including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Medline PlusAuthoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other health-related organizations to provide consumer health information.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in AmericaCovers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.
- Psychology DatabaseProvides access to psychology and psychosomatic publications.
- PTSDpubsSponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, PTSDpubs provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
- PubMedFree resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
Literature Reviews
A literature review discusses the literature published on a particular topic and combines both summary and synthesis. You might create a literature review to:
- demonstrate the ability to find, analyze, and synthesize literature in a specific field
- convey the importance or significance of a research question or topic
- identify what is known or not known about a research question or topic
- provide background or context for a research question or topic
The literature review process includes the following steps (also reflected in the tabs on the left). Some steps may need to be revisited once the research and writing process begins.
Literature Review Examples:
- Literature review in an undergraduate psychology paper (from Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
- Literature review in a scholarly article (from Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
Literature Review Resources:
Literature review overview created by the University of North Carolina's Writing Center.
Created by University Library at American University. Take a look at the "What I Need to Succeed?" section for tips on getting started.
A literature review e-lecture produced by Harvard's Gutman Library.
Giving Credit
Citation Resources
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Great resource with lots of examples using APA!
U.S. Government Publishing Office Style Manual
Includes information on citing government documents and reports
Fall 2022 IU Libraries Happenings
Relevant Workshops
Introduction to Citation Management With Zotero
Wednesday, August 31st 2:00PM-3:00PM
Stuck with a pile of literature to sort through? Let us help! Join one of our librarian experts to learn about Zotero, a citation manager that's sure to make your life easier.
Conducting a Literature Review
Tuesday, October 25th 11:00AM-12:00PM
Learn how to prepare, organize, and finish your next literature review. What is a literature review? It’s a survey of the scholarly research published on a given issue, meant as a foundation to your own project. We will discuss the basics of literature reviews, tools to organize your research, and how to develop a search strategy. This might sound daunting, but with a few tips and tricks you can do it!