IU's Online Map Collections
- Indiana Historic MapsIndiana Historic Maps provides images of a small portion of maps that focus on Indiana. The majority of this collection focuses on maps produced prior to 1923 unless known to be in the public domain as state or federal documents. In addition, Indiana University Bloomington holds an outstanding collection of print maps by and about geographic areas covering the state of Indiana.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsIU's collection of scanned Sanborn maps in the public domain (pre-1923). Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps were made for the interests of fire insurance companies, but because they are detailed, building-by-building depictions of most urban areas, they are useful for many kinds of research.
- Russian Military Topographic MapsThe bulk of Indiana University’s Russian Military Topographic Map Collection is made up of the Soviet Red Army topographic maps, which were produced for defense and economic planning. This collection came to Indiana University from the duplicate map room of the Library of Congress Map Collection in the early 1990s. These maps cover not only parts of Russia and Eastern Europe, but extend as far north as Scandinavia, as far west as Germany and the Netherlands, and as far south as Iran.
Subscription Databases
- Zambia Maps
IUB Libraries map collection includes several sheets of topographic maps for Zambia as well as these digitized sheets.
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970
Access to Sanborn maps for all fifty states, large-scale plans containing data that can help estimate the potential risk for urban structures.
- Fire Insurance Maps Online
Access to high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.
- SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Social Explorer
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
Other Map Collections
- David Rumsey Map CollectionThe David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.
- Persuasive Maps (Cornell)PERSUASIVE CARTOGRAPHY
The PJ Mode Collection
This is a collection of “persuasive” cartography: more than 800 maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools , including allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion; unusual use of projections, color, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social. - UNT WWII NewsmapsThe University of North Texas has digitized a wide array of the U.S. Army Newsmaps, in their collection of Federal Newsmaps. To see the originals at IUB, contact libgimms@indiana.edu.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - UT AustinUT Austin map collection
- Stanford EarthworksGeoportal from Stanford that includes scanned maps
- USGS TopoViewAccess to USGS topographic maps
- BTAA Geoportal
Provides access to geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.
- Wiley Digital Archives
Provides access to historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world. Includes access to the archives of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI), the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS), Royal Geographical Society, 1478-1953 (RGS) ; The Royal College of Physicians (RCP).
