Test Prep and Professional Resources for Teachers

Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated.

All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Covers more than 400 core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Includes materials from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) to provide educators with an estimate of the result's read difficulty and approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Ladybug, Spider, Highlights, and Junior Scholastic.

The database includes two series from Gale publishers:Something About the Author and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series.
The series contain illustrated biographies of children's authors and illustrators, searchable by keyword, full text, named author, and illustration caption.
Although concentrating on English-language writers, Something About the Author does include authors writing in other language, for example Aesop, Charles Perrault, Antoine de Saint-Exupery and the Brothers Grimm. Entries contain bibliographies of the authors' works and may also note adaptions of their works for the theater, film or television.

Historical coverage in the collection ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas. You may sign in to create, edit and share playlists or clips.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup an Artstor account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your Artstor account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact Artstor support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.

Debuting on American motion picture screens in February 1935, The March of Time newsreels blended confrontational journalism and docudrama, often using actors to stage events that had not been photographed on newsreel cameras. The March of Time expressed the worldview of Time magazine creator Henry Luce, who candidly described the series as “fakery in allegiance to the truth.” The series began with brief segments in the 1930s and eventually grew in length and scope to television programs of in-depth coverage of a single topic. Though extremely popular worldwide, the series eventually ceded viewers to the popularity of television programming, ending movie theater presentations in 1951 and airing its last television segment in 1967.

Includes access to two volumes:

Theatre in Video: Volume I: access to plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video.  Covers 20th century theater history, from productions of Shakespeare to in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett.

Theatre in Video: Volume II: greater focus on new and international productions. Includes new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup an Artstor account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your Artstor account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact Artstor support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.