Data Sets and Mapping Tools - Social Justice in Statistics | Resource List - Library Research Guides at Indiana University

Data

ICPSR
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) supplies the numeric raw data from a variety of sources, including survey research, censuses, and administrative records. PLEASE NOTE: Users must log in to an individual account to access all content. Please see More Info for account setup instructions.
ICPSR holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data. ICPSR datasets were originally collected for specific research or administrative purposes. However, the data have research potential that outlives the original purposes for which they were collected. ICPSR preserves these valuable data resources and makes them publicly available for secondary analysis. ICPSR Direct is a new service providing direct access to the ICPSR data holdings for all students, faculty, and staff at ICPSR member institutions.

Individual Account Login Instructions
1. Go to ICSPR and click the Log In button
2. Select Access through your institution
3. In the Finder your institution search box, enter “Indiana University”
4. Click the Log in with your institution button and log in with your IU network credentials.

Data.gov
U.S. government's open data.
The Education Trust | Data Tools
Data visualization tools and infographics based on government reporting and gathering on education policy and programs.
Harvard Dataverse
The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets. (from website)
IEA (International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement) | Data Tools
(from website) IEA (International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement) is an international cooperative of national research institutions, governmental research agencies, scholars, and analysts working to research, understand, and improve education worldwide.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) | Data Tools
List of data tools based on use & topic. (from website: The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences.)
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health)
Initiated in 1994 and supported by five program project grants from the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) with co-funding from 23 other federal agencies and foundations, Add Health is the largest, most comprehensive longitudinal survey of adolescents ever undertaken. In addition to five waves of Add Health study data, Add Health investigators have initiated satellite projects including the Parents (2015-2017) and OMICS projects.
The Opportunity Atlas
The Opportunity Atlas is an initial release of social mobility data, the result of a collaboration between researchers at the Census Bureau and Opportunity Insights (a research and policy group based at Harvard University).

more... less...

What do the estimates on the map represent?

Our estimates show the average outcomes in adulthood of people who grew up in each Census tract (small geographic units containing about 4,000 people) and were born between 1978 and 1983. Importantly, many children move to different areas in adulthood, but we always map the data by where children grew up, regardless of where they live as adults. For example, a child who grew up in a tract in Minneapolis but moved to New York as an adult would still be included in the data for his or her childhood tract in Minneapolis.

The data provide information on the average actual outcomes of children who grew up in each area. Each estimate is specific to a selected group of children from each tract, defined by their race, gender, and parental income level. For instance, one estimate might look at the outcomes in adulthood for black men who grew up in low-income families in a specific tract.
Program for International Student Assessment (PISA)
Coordinated by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), PISA surveys 15-year olds in the major industrial countries every 3 years to assess the knowledge and skills.
World Bank Education Statistics
(from website) The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures, policy, and equity. Data sources include administrative country data from UIS; international learning assessments (PISA, TIMSS, PIRLS, PIAAC, and EGRA) and three regional learning assessments (SACMEQ, PASEC, LLECE); World Bank databases, household surveys such as LSMS, DHS, MICS surveys.

Mapping Tools

SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.

Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”
One Mail instructions:
On May 2, 2025, SimplyAnalytics support updated all active accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed for users who had active SimplyAnalytics accounts.
Social Explorer
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
Users may create individual accounts with their iu.edu email. Select Create Account and follow the registration instructions.
One Mail instructions:
If you setup your Social Explorer account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. See the below instructions for updating accounts.
1. Log into your account.
2. Select the drop-down menu under your initials in the upper right corner and chose My Account.
3. Input your iu.edu email in the email address field.
4. Select Update Email.
5. You will be prompted to enter your password again to complete the update.
6. You will receive an automated email indicating the change was successful.

Social Justice in Statistics | Resource List

Ask the Education Library

Education Library Support

Data

Individual Account Login Instructions

Mapping Tools

One Mail instructions:

One Mail instructions:

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Social Justice in Statistics | Resource List

Data

Individual Account Login Instructions

Mapping Tools

One Mail instructions:

One Mail instructions:

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries