Global Health

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of nearly 1.6 million articles from more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique.
Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of ethnocentric publications. The voices of the Asian American, Jewish, African American, Native American, Arab American, Eastern European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, and many more. A majority of this content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database.

Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Includes cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:

• NEW YORK TIMES
• WALL STREET JOURNAL (Eastern and Western editions)
• CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR
• USA TODAY
• WASHINGTON POST

Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather.

Additional access options:

• Access to the New York Times Online (newyorktimes.com and via apps)
• Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.