Jewish Studies Primary Source Collections

"The American Jewess (1895-1899) described itself as "the only magazine in the world devoted to the interests of Jewish women." It was the first English-language periodical targeted to American Jewish women, covering an evocative range of topics that ranged from women's place in the synagogue to whether women should ride bicycles."

"The website of piyut and prayer is a unique and innovative project whose purpose is to preserve and revive traditions, songs, prayers and Jewish music that are thousands of years old. The site, operating since 2005, provides the public with access to well-known and lesser-known productions alike, and spreads them daily both in Israel and across the world in order to present a multi-cultural and diverse picture. "

"The Center for Jewish Art (CJA) is a research institute at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, devoted to the documentation and research of Jewish visual culture. Established in 1979, it documented and researched objects of Jewish art in ca. 800 museums, libraries, private collections and synagogues in 41 countries. Today, the Center's archives and collections constitute the largest and most comprehensive body of information on Jewish art in existence. The CJA’s research and documentation is included in the Bezalel Narkiss Index of Jewish Art. "

Large collection of digitized newspapers and magazines from Eastern Europe. Most are in Yiddish, Hebrew, German, or Polish.

Includes over 400 periodicals, some of which are newspapers or magazines. Most are in German.

"The Jewish press in its many and varied languages is first and foremost a source of information on the history and culture of world Jewry and on the countries of Jews' residence in the modern era. The Historical Jewish Press website brings the data and Digital Humanities revolution to this field and offers the possibility to perform a full search of all the published text of a given newspaper throughout all the years of its publication. Using the Veridian powered digital newspaper platform of the Veridian-Software company, the website hopes to make available online the majority of Jewish newspapers and journals published in the past, including extremely rare newspapers to which access has been previously impossible."

The London-based Jewish Chronicle was founded in 1841 and is the oldest continuously published Jewish newspaper. Note that some content on the website, including the archives, requires a subscription or payment. Issues from 1845 to 1949 are available on microfilm.

"The Jewish Telegraphic Agency is the definitive, trusted global source of news and analysis on issues of Jewish interest and concern. Our reporting reflects the wide spectrum of religious, political and cultural identity that exists among Jews today. With correspondents in New York, Washington, Israel, Europe and cities around the globe, JTA provides extensive coverage of political, economic and social developments affecting Jews all over the world. Since its founding in 1917, JTA has earned a reputation for journalistic integrity, outstanding reporting and insightful analysis. JTA also serves as an international syndication service for more than 70 Jewish publications and websites that depend on JTA for Jewish news outside of their local community."

“The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project makes available more than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh. Digitized page images capture daily life in Pittsburgh from the 1890s to 2010, with particular focus on Jewish communities. Life-cycle events, synagogue and organizational activities, arts, entertainment, and sports events are presented in detail. The collection offers extensive coverage of local, national, and international news, often from a perspective largely missing from the mainstream press.”

“This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.”

"This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time."

"The Recorded Sound Archives (RSA) is a unit of Florida Atlantic University Libraries Special Collections department. Originally established in 2002 as a small project dedicated to the preservation of recorded Jewish music, it has matured into a robust digitization operation for all types of sound recordings."

"This website showcases over 100 years of recorded Sephardic music, from the 78 rpm era to the present. It first explores in detail the earliest Sephardic recordings, the artists that made them, and their repertory and performance practices. These early recordings tell a rich story of Sephardic musical life in the first half of the 20th century."

"Smithsonian Folkways Recordings is the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, the national museum of the United States. "