Schedule a Virtual Consultation
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Getting Started
J596 assignments and projects will require using a variety of information sources packaged in different formats, including:
- Analyst reports
- Company and competitor profiles and reports
- Industry and market reports
- Scholarly, trade, and news articles
You will need to access these sources using a variety of tools and platforms (not just Google), and synthesize information found across them to address your research questions.
When producing written and oral outcomes, cite the following:
- "Facts, figures, ideas, or other information that is not common knowledge.
- Ideas, words, theories, or exact language that another person used in other publications.
- Publications that must be cited include: books, book chapters, articles, web pages, theses, etc." (MIT, n.d., para. 3)
The Business/SPEA Citation Guide provides examples of how to cite information from business databases in both APA and MLA citation style.
If you have questions about the resources or strategies in this guide or need further assistance, schedule a virtual research consultation, use the chat box in the left-hand column, or e-mail the Business/SPEA Information Commons.
External Analysis:
- Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors. - IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- World Bank Open Data
This link opens in a new window
World Bank publication that tracks the annual movement of international capital flows to developing countries.
Internal Analysis:
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
- MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Includes access to Investext reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries. - Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. Note: Users must create a personal profile in order to download content from Mintel. Please see more below for additional instructions.
- PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL INDIANA UNIVERSITY EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
General/Corporate Strategies & Implementation:
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.