Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon

First English-language edition of the classic work of reference. Incomparable source of art-historical information. Revised and expanded for a wider audience. Over 170,000 entries.

The Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006) is the largest, most up-to-date compendium of artists' biographies in the English language, and for the last century has been an indispensable resource for art researchers. The dictionary is a standard reference work for art research and is known for its coverage of lesser-known artists, images of artists' signatures, and inclusion of auction sale records. Although Benezit is best known for its coverage of European artists, from its beginnings it has taken a global approach and has long been recognized as an important resource on Asian art, particularly the Chinese and Japanese traditions. The Benezit Dictionary Asian Artists consists of more than 4,700 entries on artists from throughout Asia, including the Middle East, from antiquity to the present. Most of the articles were selected from the 2006 edition of Benezit, with an additional 100 revised and 50 new articles on contemporary artists selected by Advisory Editor Pamela Kember of the Asia Art Archive and University of London. The artists represent a broad range of media, from traditional ink painting to performance and video art. (Benezit Dictionary of Asian Artists does not include architects and photographers who did not also work in another medium represented in the dictionary's scope.) Entries provide straightforward, concise narratives of the artists' lives and careers, and many entries include bibliographies, auction sale records, exhibition histories, and museum collection holdings. This collection also includes 39 images of artists' signatures. This spinoff serves as a compact, affordable alternative to the fourteen-volume Benezit for specialists and collectors in the fields of Asian art.

The Benezit Dictionary of British Graphic Artists and Illustrators consists of over 3,000 entries on a range of British artists, from medieval manuscript illuminators to contemporary cartoonists. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on British graphic artists and illustrators from the2006 Benezit Dictionary of Artists with an additional 90 revised and 60 new articles. The collection highlights the rich history of British printmaking-both fine art prints and mass print media-and related activities in the production and illustration of printed books and manuscripts. Because ofBenezit's focus on European artists of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, this collection provides comprehensive coverage of British graphic art and illustration during their most significant periods of development.Entries provide straightforward, concise narratives of the artists' lives and careers, and many entries include bibliographies, auction sale records, exhibition histories, and museum collection holdings. This collection also includes over 200 images of artists' signatures.The Benezit Dictionary of British Graphic Artists and Illustrators serves as a compact, affordable alternative to the fourteen-volume Benezit for specialists and collectors in the fields of British art and/or printmaking.

Christians speak of “being saved,” but all too oftendon’t follow the phrase to its logical reply: “Savedfrom what?” How do we answer this question when we share thegospel with others? Far from being a matter of semantics, the issueholds critical importance for believers and non-believers alike. Isit really sufficientto say that we are saved from oursins? R. C. Sproul uses Scripture to show that the question, in itsmost important sense, should be phrased, “Saved fromwhom?” The answer: God himself. God, in righteous wrath,stands against us in our sin. But the glory of the gospel is thatthe one from whom we need to be saved is the very one who saves us.It is when we truly grasp the significance of Christ’sredeeming work that we begin to understand the serious demands andjoys of repentance. Thoughtful readers will be strengthened andchallenged by this insightful volume. Now available inpaperback.

This book includes some 200 complete entries from the award-winning Dictionary of Women Artists, as well as a selection of introductory essays from the main volume.

This volume provides thorough biographical, bibliographical and critical information on 350 of the world's most prominent and influential 20th century women artists, including important new artists.

This reference work boasts worldwide coverage of modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day. It features A to Z entries on movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, schools, and galleries. A valuable resource for artists, art students, and art lovers, it gives indication of public collections and publicly sited works as well as suggestions for further reading within entries. For this new edition the existing entries have been revised and updated, and more than 80 new entries have been added, greatly expanding the international coverage of the dictionary.

The Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art illuminates important artists, styles, and movements of the past 70 years. Beginning with the immediate post-World War II period, it encompasses earlier 20th century masters, including Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Henry Moore, Alberto Giacometti, Joan Mir , Jean Dubuffet, Stuart Davis, Georgia O'Keeffe, and other well-known figures, who remained creatively productive, while also inspiring younger generations. The book covers subsequent developments, including abstract expressionism, happenings, pop art, minimalism, conceptual art, arte povera, feminist art, photorealism, neo-expressionism, and postmodernism, as well as the contributions of such artists as Jackson Pollock, Willem de Kooning, Mark Rothko, Helen Frankenthaler, Joan Mitchell, Robert Rauschenberg, David Hockney, Ellsworth Kelly, Francis Bacon, Louise Bourgeois, Lucio Fontana, Andy Warhol, Richard Serra, Donald Judd, Joseph Beuys, Christo, Anselm Kiefer, Judy Chicago, Ai Weiwei, and Jeff Koons. Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography, including more than 900 cross-referenced entries on important artists, styles, terms, and movements.This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about contemporary art.

This two-volume set provides an historical and critical review of the important artistic achievements of the Western world, and their creators. The volumes describe and illustrate the artistic period from the renaissance to the present day.

A biographical narrative on 500 notable black American women, this book offers information on their various fields of activity and includes statements from the subjects themselves. Figures included in the book are Althea Gibson, Vivian Malone, and Eartha Kitt.

In this dictionary of American art, more than 1600 alphabetically arranged entries cover painters, sculptors, graphic artists, photographers, printmakers, and contemporary hybrid artists, along with important aspects of the cultural infrastructure.

Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this dictionary contains clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources). For this new edition, entries have been thoroughly revised and updated, and almost fifty new entries have been added.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history.The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes.The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.