Created by the Indiana General Assembly in 1820, the Board of Trustees is Indiana University's governing board, legal owner, and final authority. The current nine-member board meets six times a year on various IU campuses around the state. The minutes from the Board of Trustees meetings include official acts, resolutions, policies, agreements, personnel actions, and other business records pertaining to the governance of Indiana University. This website is the result of a cooperative project between the Indiana University Libraries Digital Collections Services, the Indiana University Archives, and the Board of Trustees Office to make historical and current meeting minutes available online, allowing full-text search and browsing. The digital collection is updated with new meeting minutes as they are processed. To see the full coverage to-date, browse the minutes by year.
This site is a portal for accessing descriptions of Special Collections and Archives - ones chiefly containing materials other than books - from libraries, archives, and other units at Indiana University Bloomington and from other institutions around the state of Indiana. As descriptions of items in such collections, such as correspondence, diaries, photographs, and audiovisual materials, do not generally appear in IUCAT (IU's online catalog), Archives Online at IU offers access to these detailed collection guides to assist you in determining the content of a collection and whether it will fulfill your research needs. Archives Online at IU includes a variety of different types of collection descriptions (also called finding aids) with various levels of detail. In addition, collection guides may include links to digital images of items in the collections. Some collections are digitized entirely; others only partially, and some not at all.
Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. We seek to provide free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers by digitizing our collection, and assisting other organizations in making their collections digitally available.
Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.
African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, Series 2
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922: From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion
Early American Newspapers, Series 7, 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment
Early American Newspapers, Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press
Early American Newspapers: Series 18, 1825-1879: Racial Awakening in the Northeast
Early American Newspapers: Series 19, 1766-1877: The Politics of Race in the South
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection
Hispanic American Newspapers
The continuously growing digital collections of the Indiana State Library. The digital collections include government documents, oral histories, letters, diaries, trade catalogs, photographs, and other materials.
Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. It is a gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media. As a portal to the collections, Indiana Memory assists individuals to locate materials relevant to their interests and to better appreciate the connections between those materials.
Indiana Legacy combines existing Indiana State Library databases with the Vital INformation Exchange (VINE), a collaborative statewide database composed of Indiana local history and vital records from Indiana libraries, historical societies, genealogy societies, and related organizations. It is designed to allow participants and users to obtain access to Indiana local history and vital records through searching across all indexes or a single index. The database is searchable by county, event, or through a general surname search of all records. These records are available to the public at no charge and include a host of records such as: birth, marriage, death, divorce, obituaries, court records, newspapers, scrapbooks, yearbooks, military records, and many other record types.
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context) is a free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world.
Popular consumer online genealogy resource that includes birth, death, and marriage records as well as searchable manuscript census records for the U.S. 1790-1930. Similar records are also available for the U.K., Germany, and a few other countries. Only works with the latest versions of Firefox, Chrome, and Safari browsers.
The Indiana Archives and Records Administration (IARA) assists State and local governments in the cost-effective, efficient and secure management of governmental records, by providing services throughout the life cycle of records, including creation, use, storage, and disposition.
The Indiana Historical Society collects and preserves Indiana’s unique stories; brings Hoosiers together in remembering and sharing the past; and inspires a future grounded in our state’s uniting values and principles.
Through its history, the Indiana State Library has developed strong collections in the fields of Indiana history and culture, Indiana state government and United States government publications, Indiana newspapers, genealogy and family history resources on Indiana and the eastern United States, Braille, large print, and books on tape for the visually impaired, library science, and American history, politics, and economics. Its collections in these areas support research by state agency employees, scholars, genealogists, librarians, students, Indiana residents who are blind or physically challenged, and the general public.
The Monroe County History Center collects, preserves, researches, interprets and presents the genealogy, history and artifacts of Monroe County, Indiana, and provides an accessible learning environment for all to enjoy.