HIST A300 Unwritten Histories of IU: Name, Place, and Belonging
University Archivist
Outreach and Public Services Archivist
Carrie Schwier
Contact:
Indiana University Archives
1320 E. 10th Street
Herman B Wells Library E460
Bloomington, IN 47405
1320 E. 10th Street
Herman B Wells Library E460
Bloomington, IN 47405
(812)855-3322
Website
Subjects: IU Archives, IU History
Recommended online sources
- Google ScholarSpecial version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryShared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries. HathiTrust has made a large collection of ebooks and other library materials temporarily available due to COVID-19 IU Libraries closures.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, they provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.
- JSTORJSTOR provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
- Marquis Biographies OnlineDatabase containing profiles on over 1.5 million individuals from all fields, including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and more.
- WikipediaWikipedia is an open-source online encyclopedia.
- Indiana Biography IndexThis is an online version of the Indiana Biography Index, which indexes select books and periodicals with information about people with strong connections to Indiana.
- Who's who in Indiana : a biographical dictionary of leading men and women of the commonwealth.A book providing biographical information about notable people from Indiana.
- Blogging Hoosier HistoryBlogging Hoosier History is the blog of Indiana University Archives. The blog includes posts highlighting the people, stories, and materials that make up the collections of University Archives.
- Voices from the IU BicentennialFrom 2016 through 2020, numerous student interns from the Office of the Bicentennial undertook the task of digging into the history of Indiana University and writing about unknown people, places, and events.
- The AlumnusA first attempt at an alumni publication but it was only in print for one year. This link takes you to the one issue that has been digitized. Additional print issues are available through the Wells Library: https://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/2156250
- Indiana Alumni Quarterly, 1914-1938Great source for information on faculty, staff, and alumni.
- Indiana Alumni Magazine, 1938-1948Successor to the Alumni Quarterly. Publication continues to today. There are some additional issues online but it is pretty scattered - reach out to us for further information.
- History of Indiana University.History of Indiana University is comprised of two volumes covering the history of IU from 1820-1937.
- Bibliography of Indiana University HistoryThis guide provides extensive sources on the history of Indiana University. Originally compiled by Associate Professor Andrea Walton with the help of her graduate students, this bibliography focuses on General Topics, Schools and Programs, and People and Figures of Indiana University. This is an excellent resource for students, faculty, staff, and general public looking for information on the history of Indiana University.
- Indiana university, 1820-1904 : historical sketch, development of the course of instruction : bibliography / edited by Samuel Bannister Harding.A book published by Indiana University in 1904 and edited by IU history professor Samuel Harding. The book discusses the history of IU, traces the development of IU's curriculum, and provides a list of publications by IU faculty, alumni, and students.
- Indiana University : its history from 1820, when founded, to 1890 : with biographical sketches of its presidents, professors and graduates : and a list of its students from 1820 to 1887 / by Theophilus A. Wylie.A book written by Theophilus A. Wylie that was published in 1890. The book provides information about IU"s history and IU's presidents, faculty, and students.
- Indiana university, 1820-1920; centennial memorial volume.This book is primarily comprised of addresses given by different speakers on the history of IU and the future of education.
- Indiana University, midwestern pioneer [by] Thomas D. Clark.A four volume work by historian Thomas D. Clark that provides a comprehensive history of Indiana University
- Trustees and officers of Indiana University, 1820 to 1950A book published in 1951 by Indiana University that provides information about the trustees, presidents, vice-presidents, and other officers of Indiana University from 1820-1950.