Library Research Guides: BUS A440 Applied Professional and Empirical Research in Accounting and Auditing: Library Resources

Company Reports

MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Financial information for public companies. See the Investext tab for analyst reports.
Access to U.S. Company Data and International Company Data. Allows users to access reports on companies based around the world, searching by company name or ticker symbol, or searching across all global boundaries to find companies that match specific financial and/or textual search criteria. Also includes detailed information, such as history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.
D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
Integrates business and financial information from data providers throughout the world.
Includes information on more than 170 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets.

Industry Reports

For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.
Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world.
Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
Frost & Sullivan provides research and analysis in new market opportunities for corporate growth. Frost & Sullivan covers the following markets and sectors:

Aerospace & Defense

Automotive & Transportation

Chemicals, Materials & Food
Chemicals & Materials
Food & Beverages

Energy & Power Systems Energy & Power
Power Supplies & Batteries

Environmental & Building Technologies
Building Management Technologies
Environmental

Healthcare
Clinical Diagnostics
Drug Discovery Technologies
Healthcare & Life Sciences IT
Medical Devices
Medical Imaging
Patient Monitoring
Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology

Industrial Automation & Electronics
Automatic Identification & Security
Electronic Devices
Industrial Automation & Process Control
Power Transmission
Semiconductors
Sensors & Instrumentation
Surface Mount Technologies
Test & Measurement

Information & Communication Technologies
Communications Services
Conferencing & Collaboration
Contact Centers
Digital Media
Enterprise Communications
IP Communications
IT Services & Applications
Mobile & Wireless Communications
Network Security
Next Generation Carrier Infrastructure
Smart Cards
Space & Communications
BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.

Academic Research

Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
Proquest Business
- This link opens in a new window
Allows users to search across six ProQuest business databases: ABI/INFORM Complete‎, EconLit‎, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)‎. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal, and The Women's Wear Daily Archive.

Individual Publications

More accounting journals

News sources

The Financial Times
- This link opens in a new window
Sign up for access to FT.com here, or access content through Access World News.

Wall Street Journal Online
- This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal Online is a New York based newspaper with a focus on business and financial news; this entry enables access to wsj.com and via their apps. Additional access options for the Wall Street Journal are available. Wall Street Journal allows access for current IU Bloomington faculty, staff, students, and retired faculty only.

Account Setup: The first time eligible IU Bloomington users access the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) Online they will be asked to register for an account. They should use their IU email address to register. Following activation, IUB users can go directly to the Wall Street Journal online at https://www.wsj.com or to WSJ apps and log in with the username and password they created during account registration.

Click more for account renewal information, mobile app availability, and additional access options.
Once your account is activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. To retain access via apps and the website, you must validate your account every 90 days by logging in using your IU credentials via https://libraries.indiana.edu/databases/wsj.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://now.wsj.com/mobile/

After creating an account, you will be able to save articles. They will be permanently stored in your WSJ account and can be access via WSJ.com from any web browser on any device. To locate saved articles on WSJ.com, after logging in, click the arrow next tor your name in the right-hand corner to expand the drop-down menu, then select "Saved Articles."

Wall Street Journal Online is not available for unaffiliated users.

Additional access options:
Access to the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000
Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1984 - current

The Economist
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.

BUS A440 Applied Professional and Empirical Research in Accounting and Auditing

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

Company Reports

Industry Reports

Academic Research

News sources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

BUS A440 Applied Professional and Empirical Research in Accounting and Auditing

Company Reports

Industry Reports

Academic Research

News sources

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries