Library Research Guides: Primary sources on women in IU collections: Primary sources

Relevant University Archives collections

C23 Indiana University Dean of the Faculties records, 1946-1982 (bulk 1960-1974)
On June 1, 1940, in response to increasing demands upon the President's Office, President Herman B Wells created the position of Dean of Faculties to assume many responsibilities once overseen by the university president. This collection includes records predominantly from the tenure of Ralph C. Collins (1959-1963), Ray L. Heffner, Jr. (1964-1966), Joseph L. Sutton (1966-1968), Joseph R. Hartley (1968-1969), and Henry H. H. Remak (1969-1974) and consists of correspondence, reports, committee files, minutes, and memos.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative files, 1946-1982
-Fees and Residency Requirements, Women, 1970-1971
-Grievance Procedures, Women, 1970-1973
-Salaries, Women, 1970-1973
C26 Indiana University Vice President and Dean of the Faculties records, 1940-1959
Herman T. Briscoe was the first Dean of Faculties at Indiana University. The new position assumed some of the responsibilities once overseen by the university president. This collection consists of correspondence, reports, committee files, minutes, and memos.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Chronological subject files, 1940-1945
1940-1941,
-Women, education of - miscellaneous
-Women, education of - Edward E. Edwards (School of Business)
1941-1942,
-Committee, Education of women, misc.
-Women, Education of (Edwards)
1942-1943,
-Deans of Women - Mueller, Kate H. and Kirby, Lottie
1943-1944,
-Committee, Women's Education
-Dean of Women - Mueller, Kate H.
1944-1945,
-Dean of Women (Mueller, Kate H.)
Series: Administrative Research Committee, 1944-1951
-24 - Occupations of women science graduates, 1946
-27 - Socio-economic background of Women Studies Graduates, 1946
-33 - What makes an educated woman pamphlet, 1949
C31 Indiana University Office of Military Information records, 1940-1946, bulk 1942-1945
The Office of Military Information was created 1 July 1942 at Indiana University to advise students, parents, faculty members and the general public about war service opportunities and regulations. Collection consists of subject files arranged alphabetically and spans the years 1942-1946. The collection includes correspondence with military and university personnel, directives from Washington, D.C. and regional military offices, and information on housing, courses, and instructors.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
-WATC (Women's Auxiliary Training Program) 1942-1943
C47 Indiana University Vice President for Administration records, 1971-1988, bulk 1975-1987
The records of the Vice President for Administration, incumbent Edgar Williams, comprises 27.4 cubic feet and spans the years 1971-1988. The correspondence in the collection is largely between Williams and other IU administrators, including Bloomington Vice President Robert O'Neil and Assistant Vice President for Administration H. Glenn Ludlow. The Subject and Committee files series document the administrative duties and tasks undertaken by Williams and includes records on a great variety of subjects and programs, such as affirmative action, computing, regional campuses, personnel, and scholarships and financial aid.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Alphabetical subject files, 1971-1987
-Woman's Affairs 1985-1986
-Woman's Intercollegiate Athletics, 1973-1976
C64 President Thomas Ehrlich speeches, 1987-1994
Collection consists of speeches given by Thomas Ehrlich during his tenure as president of Indiana University, 1987-1994.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Naming the Alice McDonald Nelson Halls of Residence Administration Building 24 Oct 1987
-First Office for Women's Affairs Faculty Award 30 Mar 1988
-Senior Women's Athletes Banquet 25 Apr 1988
C77 Indiana University President's Office records, 1884-1891
David Starr Jordan joined the IU faculty in 1879 as a professor of natural history. In 1885 at the age of 34, Jordan was appointed President of Indiana University. He served in that position until 1891 when he left IU to become the first president of the newly established Stanford University. The records of his presidency consist primarily of administrative files alphabetically arranged. The records also contain a few of Jordan's writings and addresses.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
Series: Administrative files
-Women's Gymnasium Report, June 1893
C79 Indiana University President's Office records, 1891-1893
Records dating from the tenure of Indiana University President John Coulter. Organized into two series, the collection primarily consists of incoming correspondence during Coulter's tenure.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
Series: Administrative files, 1891-1893
-Women's Gymnasium Report, June 1893
C81 University Interests Committee records, 1926-1929
The University Interests Committee, which had been organized in 1912, moved into action in the 1920s to lobby the state legislature for funds on behalf of Indiana University and to generate interest in the University among civic and community leaders throughout Indiana. Collection consists primarily of correspondence between University Interests Committee members, special representatives, county organizers, the university president, alumni, university supporters, and state legislators. Also contains questionnaires assessing support for the lobbying campaign and a few records of the Women's University Interest Committee.
C103 Indiana University Dean of Students records, 1941-2000
The office of the Dean of Students at Indiana University was created in 1945. The records span the period 1941-2000 and include annual reports, administrative and subject files primarily from the tenure of Dean Thomas Schreck.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
Series: Administrative and Subject files, 1941-2000
-Board of Trustees, Women's hours and guest privileges, 1966-1969
C123 Margaret I. Rufsvold papers, 1929-1979
Margaret I. Rufsvold came to Indiana University in 1938 to help develop a library science curriculum. In 1947 she was asked to serve as the director of the Division of Library Science, which was then part of the School of Education. In 1966, she was named dean of the newly created Graduate Library School, a position she held for two months before resigning from administrative duties. Rufsvold retired with the title of Professor Emeritus in 1973. The Margaret I. Rufsvold papers consist of correspondence, research files, reports, committee files, teaching files, speeches, Rufsvold's records relating to positions held as a consultant, and publications which document the professional activities of Rufsvold in state and national organizations, as well as in organizations and departments relating to Indiana University. Prominent in the collection are papers relating to her involvement with both Indiana and national library organizations such as the Indiana Library Association, the Indiana School Librarians Association, and the American Library Association. The ALA files are varied, but her work on their Committee on Accreditation and the American Association of School Librarians Committee are most prominent.
C125 Indiana University Office for Women's Affairs records, 1968-2012, bulk 1975-2012
Indiana University's Office for Women's Affairs was established on August 15, 1972 in response to the growing awareness of discrimination against women in the academic community. This collection contains over forty years’ worth of documents and materials from the OWA’s daily operations and interactions with the Indiana University, Bloomington campus. All matters pertaining to the OWA are now handled by the Office of the Dean of Students (for student concerns) or the Provost’s office (for staff and faculty concerns).
more...less...
Additional born-digital records from this office are available in the Archives of Institutional Memory here: https://institutionalmemory.iu.edu/aim/handle/10333/1281
C132 Indiana University Vice President and Chancellor’s records, 1963-1977
Byrum E. Carter was appointed Chancellor of Indiana University in 1969, after serving over two decades as an IU faculty member. Carter also played an important role in the political dynamics on campus during the heat of the Vietnam War. This collection is comprised of correspondence, reports, and administrative files dating primarily from Carter's years as Chancellor and Vice President of Indiana University's Bloomington campus, between July 1969 and June 1975.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Wage Freeze, Women, 1971
-Women, 1972-1973
-Women’s Affairs
-Women ’s Athletics, 1973-1974
-Women’s Studies
C133 Indiana University Department of Military Science records, 1918-2000, bulk 1965-1994
Although military training has a long history at Indiana University, the Department of Military Science and Tactics was established in 1917. The Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) fell under the auspices of the department and was a compulsory program for all male students at IU until 1964. The Department of Military Science (Reserve Officers Training Corps) records span the years 1918-2000. These records are organized into seven series: Correspondence, Historical information, ROTC organizations, Publications, Subject files, Realia, and Photos and scrapbooks. The bulk of the collection consists of the Organizations and Subject files series. All series except Correspondence are arranged alphabetically.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: ROTC organizations, 1966-1994
-Subseries: Crimson Cadettes, 1966-1969
C137 President Herman B Wells speeches, 1937-1962
Herman B Wells served as President of Indiana University 1938-1962. Consists of speeches given by Herman B Wells during his term as President of Indiana University, including 1937, when he served as interim President.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-"Greetings to the American Association of University Women" -Indiana University Nov. 1937
-"Outline of Remarks at the League of Women Voters Convention" -Indiana University May 16, 1940
-"Notes on the Renaming of Sarah Parke Morrison Hall." -Indiana University Morrison Hall. May 1942
-"Remarks at WAVES Graduation Ceremony." -Indiana University Auditorium. Feb. 1, 1943
-"Script used by President Wells in Radio Broadcast in Support of Recruitment of WAC's for the Air Corps." -Indiana University Alumni Hall. Feb. 18, 1944
-"Notes for Remarks to Last Graduating Class of WAVES: WAVES Farewell." -Indiana University Alumni Hall. May 29, 1944
-"Notes for Remarks at Annual Scholarship Banquet of Women's Residence Halls." -Indiana University Morrison Hall. April 20, 1950
C165 Dean of Women’s Office records, 1876-1951, bulk 1917-1945
The Dean of Women’s Office at Indiana University was created in 1901. Duties of the office covered all aspects of coed’s lives, from the classroom to a social environment. The collection consists of administrative files created by the Dean of Women’s office from 1917-1945.
C174 Indiana University President's Office records, 1893-1902
Records of Indiana University president. Organized in two series, the collection primarily consists of incoming correspondence during Swain's tenure. Included are several prominent IU professors such as William Lowe Bryan, David Starr Jordan, and Carl H. Eigenmann as well as a number of well-known public figures.
more...less...
See for example:
* President's Report to Board of Trustees, 1898-1899
* Breed, Mary Bidwell, IU Dean of Women 1901
* Gymnasium, Women's, 1894-1901
* Indiana Young Women's Christian Assn. 1896-1899
* Women's education 1895
C176 Indiana University Office of African American Affairs records, 1950-1998
The Office of Afro-American Affairs was established in the spring of 1968. Its purpose was to organize some of the social and academic activities of African American students at Indiana University. The collection is comprised of two series, Administrative and Information. The Administrative series spans 1950-1998 and is further organized in eight subseries, including Correspondence, Faculty and Student Information, and Proposals. The Information series spans 1972-1997 and is arranged chronologically. This series consists of information not initially generated by the Office of African American Affairs such as newspaper clippings and IU News Releases.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative 1950-1998
-Women's Affairs, Office of 1986-1993
-Women Studies Program 1978-1997
C178 Indiana University Auxiliary Services records, 1932-1995, bulk 1940-1991
The Auxiliary Services Office oversaw offices and departments at Indiana University that were self-supporting and encompassed the Auditorium, Bookstore, Campus Bus Service, Campus Foods, Communications, Halls of Residence, Indiana Memorial Union Building (IMU), Motor Pool and Parking Operations. Over the years, Auxiliary Services had several name changes. Those reflected in the records of this collection include Auxiliary Services, Business Manager's Office, and Service Enterprises. Records in this collection include, but are not limited to, correspondence, committee files, departmental files, reports and budgets.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Incumbent: Harold Jordan, 1932-1956
Series: Subject Files, 1932-1956
-Halls of Residence, Library Committee, Women's Residence Center, 1940-1941
-Conferences, AAUW (American Association of University Women) Convention, June 21-22, 1944
-Halls of Residence, Mueller, Kate Hevner, 1944-1945
-Halls of Residence, Mueller, Kate, 1947
-Halls of Residence, Counselors- Men's and Women's, 1947-1948
-Halls of Residence, Counselors- Men’s and Women's, 1948-1949
-Women’s Residence Centers Arts Council, 1953-1954
Incumbent: Theodore Jones, 1960-1990, undated
Series: Subject files, 1960-1990, undated
-Women’s Affairs, Office of, 1980
C179 Bloomington Faculty Council records, 1969-2019
The origins of the Bloomington Faculty Council can be traced back to a University reorganization begun by university president Elvis J. Stahr. In 1969 the Bloomington Faculy began their own council for policy and academic decisions, as the University Faculty Council became a legislative body for all faculty in the Indiana University system. This collection consists of the agendas, minutes, circulars and supporting documents of the Bloomington Faculty Council, the governing body of the university faculty on the Indiana University -Bloomington campus. The collection is organized into six series: Agendas, Minutes, Circulars, Supporting documents, Committee Files, and Subject Files.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Circulars, 1969-2019
-24-71, A Reply to the Committee on Educational Policy Report on Admissions Restrictions by the Concerned University Women, 1970
-17-72, Proposal to Recommend Appointment of a University Commission on Women, 1971
-19-72, Standards for Women in Higher Education: Recommendations made by American Association of University Women, Inc., 16 November 1971
-24-72, Report on the Status of Women Faculty Indiana University, Bloomington Campus, 7 December 1971
-29-72, Proposal for Women’s Representative on Chancellor’s Level, Faculty Council Circular 28-72, 8 February 1972
-34-72, The Impact of Current Hiring Practices on the Relative Ratio of Women Faculty, Indiana University Bloomington Campus, February 1972
-B35-85, Annual Report on the Status of Women and Minorities, 22 January 1985
-B22-91, Annual Report on the Status of Women and Minority Faculty and Minority Student Enrollment, 05 March 1991
-B29-98, Status of Women and Minority Faculty Bloomington Campus, Indiana University, Spring 1998, 18 March 1998
-B47-2004, Report to the Bloomington Faculty Council: Status of Women and Minority Faculty on the Bloomington Campus April 2004
Series: Supporting documents, 1969-2016
-Status of Women and Minority Faculty, Spring 1999
-Affirmative Action Report: Status of Women and Minority Faculty, March 2006
-Report to the BFC on the Status of Women and Minority Faculty, 2012
Series: Subject Files, 1995-2018
-Minority and Women Faculty, April 2008
C179 Bloomington Faculty Council records, 1969-2019
The origins of the Bloomington Faculty Council can be traced back to a University reorganization begun by university president Elvis J. Stahr. In 1969 the Bloomington Faculy began their own council for policy and academic decisions, as the University Faculty Council became a legislative body for all faculty in the Indiana University system. This collection consists of the agendas, minutes, circulars and supporting documents of the Bloomington Faculty Council, the governing body of the university faculty on the Indiana University -Bloomington campus. The collection is organized into six series: Agendas, Minutes, Circulars, Supporting documents, Committee Files, and Subject Files.
C180 Indiana University Faculty Council records, 1969-2015
The origins of the University Faculty Council can be traced back to a University reorganization begun by university president Elvis J. Stahr. In 1969 the University Faculty began a council for policy and academic decisions for the broader multi-campus University system, as the Bloomington Faculty Council became a legislative body for the faculty on the Bloomington Campus. This collection consists of the agendas, minutes, circulars and supporting documents of the University Faculty Council, the governing body of the university faculty throughout the Indiana University system.
C187 Special Assistant to the President's records 1970-1983,
In 1972, Indiana University alumnus George Taliaferro was named Special Assistant to IU President John Ryan. While he assisted Ryan on a number of fronts, at the time of his hiring, his stated responsibilities were to include the development of equal opportunity policies and programs for staff and students on all of the IU campuses and assisting in recruiting and counseling minority students. Collection consists of 1.6 cubic ft. of the Special Assistant to the President's records organized in three series: General files, University committees and task forces, Outside committees and groups, and Discrimination charges. The series and order of the records are as they came to the University Archives.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
Series: University Committees & Task Force, 1972-1982
-Women's Affairs Advisory Council 1972-1973
C211 Indiana University Division of Student and Educational Services, Dean and Vice President's records, 1951-1958
The Indiana University Division of Student and Educational Services was primarily concerned with the non-academic educational programs of the university. Offices the Division oversaw included the University Press, the School of Letters, and the Conference Bureau. Collection consists of correspondence, subject files, research reports and proposals, committee meeting minutes and files, and memos. Records date from John W. Ashton's tenure as Dean and Vice President of the Division.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative/Subject files, 1951-1958
-Association of Women Students, 1952-1955
-Women's Education
Series: Committees, 1951-1958
-University Committee on Women's Education, 1950
C213 Indiana University President's Office records, 1937-1962
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. Herman B Wells was named interim president in 1937 and president in 1938, a position he held until 1962. Collection consists primarily of correspondence, reports, and publications. A particularly rich collection, correspondence is to and from Wells and other high ranking university administrators. The files are arranged alphabetically.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Association of American University Women, 1939-1962
-Association of Women students on IU Campus
-Careers for Women Conference, April 10 & 11, 1939
-College Women as Community Leaders Conference, 1939-1940
-Faculty, Women’s Club, 1949-1962
-Freshman, Women Living in Dormitories, 1939-1940
-Indiana League of Women Voters, 1939-1949
-League of Women Voters, 1959-1961
-Mueller, Kate H
-Munro, Edna
-Naval Training School for Storekeepers - Women / WAVES
-Student Building and Association of Women Students, Annual reports
-Wells, Agnes E., Dean of Women
-Women Colleges, 1940-1942
-Women, Dean of; Women’s Dormitories, 1939-1940
-Women’s Education
-Women’s Residence Halls - Annual reports
-Women’s R.O.T.C. Training, 1942-1943
-Y.W.C.A
C267 Indiana University President's Office records, 1967-1969, bulk Aug.-Dec. 1968
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. After President Elvis Stahr resigned in 1968, the Board of Trustees asked University Chancellor and former president Herman B Wells to serve as the interim president. He served in this role from September 1, 1968 through November 30, 1968. Collection consists of records created or collected during Wells' tenure as interim Indiana University president.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
-Homecoming Queen Controversy, Oct.-Nov. 1968
C268 Indiana University President's Office records, 1964-1974, bulk 1968-1971
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. Joseph L. Sutton came to IU as an instructor in the Dept. of Political Science in 1955 and continued to advance until he came to serve as the thirteenth president of Indiana University from 1968-1971. The collection consists of records created or collected during Sutton's tenure as Indiana University president.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Association of University Women, American, March 1969-Dec. 1970
-League of Women Voters, 1969
-Women, 1969-1971
-Women’s Status
-Women Students, Association of, Sept. 1969
C270 Indiana University President's Office correspondence, 1902-1913
The first President of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. William Lowe Bryan served as president of Indiana University 1902-1937. Collection consists almost entirely of incoming correspondence from Bryan's early presidency, 1902-1913. The files are arranged alphabetically, most often by the name of the individual writing to the university, but also by subject or by name of the institution or department. Approximately half of the correspondence is addressed to Bryan while the remaining half is addressed to other high ranking IU administrators such as Registrar John W. Cravens or University Secretary Ulysses Howe Smith.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-(The) Associated College Women Workers, 1912
-Maxwell, Juliette, 1902-1913; Women, Dean of, 1902-1911
-Women’s Dormitory, Correspondence re., 1903
-Y.W.C.A., 1907-1912, undated
C286 Indiana University President's Office correspondence, 1913-1937
William Lowe Bryan served as president of Indiana University 1902-1937. This collection consists almost entirely of incoming correspondence from the years 1913-1937. The files are arranged alphabetically, most often by the correspondent’s surname, but also by subject or by name of the institution or department. The majority of the correspondence is addressed to Bryan but much of it is also addressed to other high ranking IU administrators such as Registrar John W. Cravens or University Secretary Ulysses Howe Smith.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-American Association of Univ. Women, 1923-1928
-Women Students Association, 1927-1937
-Women, Dean of—Trustees’ reports
-Women’s dormitory, 1924-1925
-Women’s dormitory
-Women’s League, 1915-1918
-Women’s Pan-Hellenic Council, c.1937
-Women—PhD’s, 1908-1928
-Women’s Self-Government Association, 1923-1927
-Women's War Service (WWI), undated
-Y.W.C.A.
-Marshall, Frances, 1915-1917
C304 Indiana University President's Office records, 1962-1968
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. Elvis J. Stahr, Jr. served as president of Indiana University from 1962-1968. Collection consists of records created or collected by the Indiana University Office of the President during Elvis Stahr's tenure, and includes correspondence, studies, and reports documenting the various administrative processes, committees, events and university departments and schools during this period.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-American Association of University Women, 1962-1965
-Young Women’s Christian Association, 1962-1968
-Women’s education, 1968
C344 President Adam W. Herbert speeches, 2003-2008, bulk 2004-2007
Adam W. Herbert served as President of Indiana University 2003-2007. Collection consists of speeches given by President Herbert during his tenure at Indiana University as well as a few speeches he delivered as President Emeritus.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-IU Women’s Colloquium, 5 November 2004
-Women’s Colloquium, 3 November 2006
C395 Indiana University Student Health Service records, 1927-1993
Health service for Indiana University students originated around the turn of the twentieth century as part of the university’s efforts to contain infectious diseases. The first formal Health Center was constructed in 1939 and was replaced by a larger facility in 1965, which has seen a number of renovations since. This collection consists of correspondence, memos, proposals, reports, organizational charts, policy information, news clippings, and informational pamphlets ranging from the late 1920s-early 1990s.
C454 Women in Communications, Delta Chapter records, 1913-1990
The Woman’s Press Club established the Delta Chapter of Theta Sigma Phi at Indiana University in 1913 as a professional sorority for women in journalism. Early on, their aim was to “unite women engaged in or planning to engage in journalism; work to set and achieve definite standards in journalism and letters; and inspire members to greater individual effort.” In 1972, the group changed its name to Women in Communications. The collection consists of scrapbooks, event files, newspaper articles, awards, meeting minutes, and other administrative files.
C459 Indiana University President's Office records, 1963-1990 (bulk 1971-1987)
John W. Ryan served as Indiana University's president for 16 years. This collection includes correspondence files, and administrative records related to the management of various offices and departments on campus and of the regional campuses.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative records,1963-1990, undated
-American Association of University Women
-Athletics, Intercollegiate for Women
-Women's Advisory Committees
-Committee on the Status of Women, 1972-1973
-Dean of Women's Affairs, 1972-1973
-Faculty, Women
-Sex Discrimination
-Sexual Harrassment, 1981
-Title IX
-Women
-Women’s Affairs
-Women Faculty
-Women’s Faculty Club Commission on the Status of Women, 1971
-Women, University Commission on, 1971-1972
-Women, University Commission on
-Women’s Studies
-Women, Henry H. H. Remak, 1972-1974
C501 Indiana University President's Office records, 1976-1995, bulk 1987-1994
Thomas Ehrlich served as the 15th president of Indiana University, from 1987 to 1994. He graduated from Harvard College and Harvard Law School, serving in several legal and academic posts before his appointment as IU president. The collection consists of administrative files and correspondence related to the performance of duties as IU president.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative files, 1976-1995, undated
-Athletics, Women's Intercollegiate Athletics
-Women Affairs
-Women's Safety
C502 Indiana University War Service Register, 1920-1946
The Alumni Office's War Service Register contains records relating to the men and women of Indiana University who served in a U.S. war between 1860 and 1945 (i.e., the Mexican War, the Civil War, the Spanish-American War, the first World War, or the second World War).
more...less...
In particular see the Pre-World War II War Service Register, 1922-1931 series.
C549 Indiana University Office of Affirmative Action records, 1972-1995
The Office of Affirmative Action was created to "provide leadership for the university's commitment and efforts to promote institutional equity and a diverse university community" and to provide "counseling, advice, and information to university administrators, deans, department heads, faculty, staff, and students in their efforts to create a diverse and inclusive learning and work environment free of discrimination and harassment." The collection consists of reports and reviews written by the Office, complaint files, and subject files.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Subject files, 1972-1987
-Analysis of Faculty Salaries by Sex, 1972-1973
-Professional Women and Minorities - A Manpower Resource Service, May 1975
-Retention of Women and Minority Faculty, 1979
-Title IX

Additional born-digital records are available via the Archives of Institutional Memory here: https://institutionalmemory.iu.edu/aim/handle/10333/1254
C561 Indiana University Dance Program records, 1927-2012, bulk 1953-2012
Jane Fox, a dancer and faculty member of Indiana University, introduced the art of contemporary dance to the Bloomington campus in 1927 with the inception of the Contemporary Dance Program under the auspices of the Physical Education program (renamed Kinesiology in 1989). While it was first considered a women's extracurricular physical fitness program, it quickly evolved into a respected major and minor field. The program's objective was to teach students to use modern dance to convey ideas and feelings through natural movements. This collection includes scrapbooks, newspaper next hit clippings, program booklets, photographs, film, sheet music, and miscellaneous records pertaining to the Program.
C569 Indiana University President’s Office records, 1987-2003, bulk 1995-2002
Myles Brand served as the sixteenth president of Indiana University from 1994 to 2002. Collection consists of records from his tenure and includes administrative files and correspondence related to his role as Indiana University President.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Athletics, Women's Intercollegiate Athletics at Kearney, 2001
-Women's Intercollegiate Athletics, 2002
-Women’s Affairs
C577 Indiana University President’s Office records, 1999-2007, bulk 2003-2007
Adam Herbert served as the seventeenth president of Indiana University from 2003-2007. In November 2005, he received a vote of "no confidence" from an unofficial faculty vote and decided, in January 2006, not to renew his contract after it expired in 2008. After a new president was selected, Herbert resigned on June 30, 2007. The collection consists of records, correspondence, and administrative files from Herbert’s tenure as Indiana University president.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative Files, 1999-2007
-Women Affairs, 2004-2005
-Women's Intercollegiate Athletics, 2004-2005
C595 Indiana University Folklore Institute's Joy Unspeakable Project records, 1978-1984
Joy Unspeakable is a 1981 documentary that was produced by Indiana University Folklore Institute researchers and film crews from IU’s Radio & Television Services. Examining the spiritual lives of Pentecostals living in Bloomington—especially women—the ethnographic film earned academic and public accolades. It also represented an early success in the research career of Elaine Lawless, an esteemed folklorist whose 1988 book God's Peculiar People: Women's Voice & Folk Tradition in a Pentecostal Church undertook a broader exploration of southern Indiana Pentecostalism based partly on the materials gathered in this project.
C598 Indiana University Department of Home Economics records, 1911-1999, bulk 1945-1995
The Indiana University Department of Home Economics, established in 1913, taught students "the principles and processes involved in the science and art of homemaking." The department also ran a practice Home Management House, which served as a practical laboratory for students to practice running a house on their own. In January 1987, the department name changed to Apparel Merchandising and Interior Design. The collection consists of documents and audio-visual materials pertaining to the formation and development of the Department and information about the practice house that the department maintained on the Bloomington campus.
C602 New University Conference records, 1968-1971
The New University Conference was a national, radical organization that was active on the Indiana University campus from 1968-1971. The leftist group was made up of graduate students and faculty members who were involved in causes such as educational reforms, women's liberation, anti-war, and more. The local Bloomington group was dedicated to exposing problems on the Indiana University campus, especially regarding those issues specifically connected to the national organization's overarching causes. The collection consist of records created by both the National organization and local Bloomington chapter of the New University Conference.
C722 Indiana University What Makes an Educated Women bulletins, 1945-1959
The Educated Woman bulletin was first published by the Faculty Committee on Women's Education in order to get young women to enroll in Indiana University. The bulletins were produced seven times between 1945 and 1959. The bulletins describe the four features that make an "educated" and well-rounded woman, answer frequently asked questions, and show sample four-year course plans for each major. Additionally, the booklet explains what skill set a student in the major will develop and the types of jobs they will be qualified for after graduating.
C652 Women in Folklore Oral History Project records, 1982-2002
The Women in Folklore (WIF) Oral History Project was a centennial initiative of the women’s section of the American Folklore Society. The project aimed to capture the experience of women folklorists across the country. Mary Ellen Brown, Professor of Folklore at IU, organized the project and donated the interviews in her possession to the IU Folklore Archives in 2000. The project was physically housed at the Oral History Research Center, now part of the Indiana University Center for Documentary Research and Practice, and coordinated by a graduate assistant in folklore. Interviewees include Edith Fowke, Eleanor Long, Helen Creighton, Linda Degh, Shirley Arora, Thelma Jones, Eleanor Long, and Frances Cattermole-Tally. The collection contains correspondence, project information, transcriptions, and audio recordings of interviews, primarily on cassette tapes.
Office of Academic Support and Diversity
Campus Assessment Committee on Gender & Faculty Satisfaction
Review team to evaluate the Indiana University Bloomington campus’s diversity climate

C12 Martha Vicinus papers, 1969-1980
Martha Jeannette Vicinus was a faculty member of the Indiana University English Department from 1968-1982. Her papers comprise 1 cubic foot and span the period of 1971-1980. Consists largely of newsletters, flyers, pamphlets, minutes, form letters, mass mailings, interdepartmental memos, and a small amount of personal correspondence relating to the activities of American Federation of Teachers Bloomington local, women's movement in Bloomington, the creation of Women's Studies program at Indiana University, and the Modern Language Association Radical Caucus. Items are arranged chronologically within each series.
C30 Martha Lipton papers, 1939-2006
Martha Lipton was a prolific performer at the New York Metropolitan Opera as a mezzo-soprano for sixteen seasons. She was a soloist who sang under the direction of many renowned conductors before coming to Indiana University Bloomington as a Professor of Voice in 1960. This collection contains professional promotional materials, clippings and performance programs spanning her career.
C46 Charlotte Lowe Bryan papers, 1873-1948
Charlotte A. Lowe, born September 7, 1867, in Indianapolis, Indiana, was the wife of William Lowe Bryan. The collection consists of personal papers, correspondence, and writings of Charlotte Lowe Bryan in four series: American Association of University Women, 1932-1933, consisting of loan fund reports for the Bloomington chapter; Addresses and presentations, 1929-1937, containing copies of speeches given both by and for Bryan; Correspondence, 1873-1937, containing correspondence both to and from Bryan; and Publications, 1933-1937, consisting of typescripts and galley sheets of articles written by Bryan.
C59 Rosa Smith Eigenmann papers, 1880-1927
The Rosa Smith Eigenmann papers comprise 0.2 cubic feet spanning 1880-1927. The collection of the internationally known ichthyologist includes some of her correspondence, memorabilia, and research.
C76 Barbara Shalucha papers, 1935-1992
Barbara Shalucha founded the Hilltop Garden and Nature Center in Bloomington, Ind. in 1948 and served as its director until 1986. Shalucha first came to Indiana University as an instructor in the Botany Department. She was hired for her special perspective on applied botany which incorporated youth involvement. The Barbara Shalucha papers comprise 7 cubic feet and span 1935-1992. The collection includes correspondence, speeches, publications, subject files, and teaching materials.
C93 Agnes Davis papers, 1927-1967
Agnes Davis was a soprano and professor of voice in the Indiana University School of Music. Her career highlights include winning the Atwater Kent singing competition in 1927 and touring with the USO from 1943-1945. Collection includes both business and personal correspondence, newspaper clippings documenting her career, and several programs from her performances.
C96 Avis Tarrant Burke papers, 1858-1984
Avis Tarrant Burke was the wife of Indiana University fine arts professor Robert E. Burke. Avis was active with the IU Extension Division and wrote several articles for its bulletin. Together she and Robert traveled extensively, which served as the subject of articles she wrote for the Bloomington newspaper from 1932-1953. After her husband's death, Avis developed a reputation for her philanthropic work, including her donation of nineteenth-century clothing and eighteenth and nineteenth-century fans to Indiana University, which now comprises a core part of the Elizabeth Sage Costume Collection at IU. The collection consists of correspondence, files on groups and organizations with which Burke was involved, essays, articles, general and travel diaries, as well as a small amount of records from the Tarrant family, including 19th century love letters written to Avis's mother, Avis Booth Tarrant.
C123 Margaret I. Rufsvold papers, 1929-1979, bulk 1950-1962
Margaret I. Rufsvold came to Indiana University in 1938 to help develop a library science curriculum. In 1947 she was asked to serve as the director of the Division of Library Science, which was then part of the School of Education. In 1966, she was named dean of the newly created Graduate Library School, a position she held for two months before resigning from administrative duties. Rufsvold retired with the title of Professor Emeritus in 1973. The Margaret I. Rufsvold papers consist of correspondence, research files, reports, committee files, teaching files, speeches, Rufsvold's records relating to positions held as a consultant, and publications which document the professional activities of Rufsvold in state and national organizations, as well as in organizations and departments relating to Indiana University. Prominent in the collection are papers relating to her involvement with both Indiana and national library organizations such as the Indiana Library Association, the Indiana School Librarians Association, and the American Library Association. The ALA files are varied, but her work on their Committee on Accreditation and the American Association of School Librarians Committee are most prominent.
C170 Kate Hevner Mueller papers, 1909-1981
Consists of personal papers, research notes, copies of published works, class and lecture notes, and the public speaking notes of Kate Hevner Mueller. Mueller served as the Dean of Women from 1938-1949. She also taught in the Education Department, focusing on psychology and then later personnel and guidance.
C202 Theophilus A. Wylie papers, 1814-1992, bulk 1830-1895
Theophilus A. Wylie was the cousin of Indiana University's first president Andrew Wylie and spent most of his adult life at IU, beginning in 1836,serving as its librarian, professor, vice president, and at one point, its interim president. Collection consists of Wylie's correspondence, diaries, sermons, drawings, and writings.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
Series: Indiana University History Research, 1882-1890, undated
-Admission of women
C203 Wylie family collection, 1822-1990
The Wylie family represented in this collection are all family members or descendents of Indiana University's first president, Andrew Wylie. Many of the earliest family members were closely associated with the university themselves. The collection includes correspondence, financial records, newspaper clippings, obituaries, academic records, journals, scrapbooks, drawings, and poetry. In addition to family affairs, the collection includes information about Indiana University and Bloomington, Indiana, including land deeds and a 19th century account book from Bloomington's McCalla store.
C239 Ivy Leone Chamness papers, 1885-1973
Ivy Chamness was a teacher, editor and a writer, and was actively involved on many committees. Her papers demonstrate that her life revolved around education through copies of her editorials, her personal correspondence, minutes from various committees upon which she served, journals from her travels, and various documents relating to her work here at IU pre and post-retirement.
C239 Ivy Leone Chamness papers, 1885-1973, bulk 1925-1935
Ivy Chamness was a teacher, editor and a writer, and was actively involved on many committees. Her papers demonstrate that her life revolved around education through copies of her editorials, her personal correspondence, minutes from various committees upon which she served, journals from her travels, and various documents relating to her work here at IU pre and post-retirement.
C240 Ketcham-Piercy family collection, 1830-1995, bulk 1854-1946
The Ketcham and Piercy families were prominent in Indiana politics, journalism, and education during the 19th and 20th centuries. This collection consists of photographs, correspondence, journals, diaries, publications, speeches, legal documents, genealogical materials, and academic regalia from the Ketcham and Piercy families. Family members represented in this collection include: Colonel John Ketcham, John Lewis Ketcham, Reverend John H. Ketcham, Martha S. Ketcham, Charles B. Ketcham, Mary Ketcham Piercy, her husband, journalist and Indiana University faculty member Joseph W. Piercy, and Indiana University faculty member Josephine K. Piercy.
C313 Annie L. Butler papers, 1960-1979
Annie L. Butler taught in the Indiana University School of Education from 1960-1979. Her area of expertise was early childhood education. This collection primarily contains Butler's professional correspondence and publications, including manuscripts of Play as development and Early childhood programs, which she co-authored.
C352 Virginia MacWatters papers, 1862-1994, bulk 1919-1994
Soprano Virginia MacWatters was known not only for her impressive operatic career during which she performed in opera houses throughout the United States, Europe, and South America, but also for her dedication to teaching. In 1957 she joined the voice faculty of the Indiana University School of Music where she remained until her retirement in 1982. She was awarded the prestigious the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award for excellence in teaching in 1979. The collection consists of biographical materials, clippings, programs, teaching files, correspondence, photographs, and scrapbooks.
C370 Myrtle Scott papers, 1965-2006
Myrtle Scott was a professor of educational psychology at Indiana University from 1970 until her retirement in 2002. Her primary teaching responsibilities were in the Human Development program with a focus on child development, while her research interests centered on developmental and ecological psychology. Scott's papers include biographical files, teaching files, publications, and research notes with some correspondence, with the bulk of the collection consisting of Scott's publications and research notes from 1965-2003.
C371 Mary Jo Weaver papers, 1972-2010
Mary Jo Weaver served as a professor in the Department of Religious Studies at Indiana University from 1975 until her retirement in 2006. Her teaching career, scholarly activities, professional service, and publications are represented in the contents of this collection.
C380 Anna Borovkoff's teaching manuals, 1955-1965
Anna Borovkoff was a Resident Lecturer in Russian for the Indiana University Department of Slavic Languages and Literature from 1960-1974. The collection consists of Borovkoff’s teaching manuals for the Russian language.
C404 Ruth Clifford Engs papers, 1947-2015
Ruth C. Engs served as a professor of applied health sciences at Indiana University, joining the faculty in 1973 and retiring with emeritus status in 2003. Her main areas of research included the study of the determinants of drinking behavior, especially that of university students, and the study of the role of alcohol in society in cross-cultural and historical contexts. The Ruth C. Engs papers contain documentation on her scholastic career, including files related to research, publications, and professional activities. The collection also contains subject correspondence, teaching files, personal and administrative files, and audiovisual and computer media.
C408 Newell and Eleanor Long Show files, 1939-1982
Newell Long was a member of the School of Music faculty at Indiana University from 1935 until 1975, while his wife Eleanor taught English from 1939 until 1962. Over the course of their marriage they collaboratively composed a number of pageant scores, musical plays, and skits for university and local celebrations. This collection consists of music scores, programs, scripts and audio visual material.
C413 Cecilia Hennel Hendricks family papers, 1843-1971
This collection consists of the family papers of Indiana University professor Cecilia Hennel Hendricks spanning the period from 1839 through 1970. Included are papers relating to the academic careers of Cecilia, Associate Professor of English, and her sister Cora, Professor of Mathematics at Indiana University, as well as manuscripts and writings by both women. Also found in the collection are papers and correspondence of family members: father Joseph B. Hennel, mother Anna M. Thuman Hennel, Cecilia's husband John Hendricks, and sister Edith Hennel Ellis.
C414 Joan Sterrenburg papers, 1970-2004
The textile and papermaking artist Joan Sterrenburg joined the faculty of the School of Fine Arts at Indiana University in 1970 and remained until her retirement in 2004. This collection consists of teaching and research material, exhibition and professional service information, materials related to student work, and correspondence.
C418 Susan Gubar papers, 1975-2011
The groundbreaking feminist scholar and literary critic, Susan Gubar, began teaching at Indiana University in 1973 and retired as Distinguished Professor Emerita of English in 2010. This collection contains teaching and research material; material related to professional activities such as conferences, workshops, and committees; an extensive collection of news clippings with reviews and interviews; Gubar’s publications and information related to the development of those publications, and both personal and professional correspondence.
C455 Martha M. McCarthy papers, 1976-2014
Martha M. McCarthy is the Chancellor’s Professor Emerita of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Indiana University. McCarthy’s research focuses primarily on Education Law. Collection includes publications, drafts, teaching materials, grant proposals, and project reports. Also included are materials relating to McCarthy’s involvement in professional organizations, conferences, and research data.
C460 Orah Cole Briscoe papers, 1929-1972
Orah Cole Briscoe was an Indiana University alumna and wife of chemistry professor and Dean of Faculties Herman T. Briscoe. Collection consists of correspondence, research and writings, and general files.
C497 Camilla Williams papers, 1947-2010, bulk 1978-1996
Camilla Williams was an internationally acclaimed soprano opera vocalist who broke racial bias barriers in society as well as professionally. Miss Williams came to Indiana University in 1977 as a professor of voice at the Jacobs School of Music. The collection contains performance posters, correspondence, clippings about her career and former student’s accomplishments, photographs, awards, plaques, and scrapbooks.
C500 Marina Svetlova papers, 1924-1963
Collection consists of the papers of Marina Svetlova, a highly accomplished ballet dancer, choreographer, and late Indiana University Professor. The collection contains a journal, performance programs, correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and scrapbooks.
C545 Mary Ellen Brown papers, 1971-1998
Mary Ellen Brown is a Professor Emerita of Folklore whose research during the 1970s and 1980s focused primarily on the works of Scottish poet and lyricist Robert Burns. The collection consists of research notes and manuscripts related to Robert Burns.
C554 Jane Fox papers, 1926-1969
Jane Fox taught modern dance at IU from 1927-1965. Her papers include correspondence, research notes, papers and course materials and some publications by others on dance.
C558 Edward E. Edwards papers, 1915-1942, bulk 1936-1942
Edward Everett Edwards was a researcher and educator in the area of finance and education. As a long-time friend and colleague of Herman B Wells, he became involved in the University first as a student, then as Wells's assistant and as a professor of finance. This collection contains papers that were created or collected chiefly during his time as assistant to Wells, including his research for the University and his work with professional organizations like the Indiana Banker's Association.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Research, 1924-1942, undated
-Comparisons, Courses of I.U. Freshmen Women and I.U. Freshmen Men, 1939-1940
-Courses taken by, I.U. Freshmen Women 2nd semester, 1939-1940
-Courses taken by, I.U. Freshmen Women 1st semester, 1939-1940
-Summary of Freshman Women and Scholastic Honors, 1939-1940
-Women's Education
C584 Barbara and Charles Jelavich papers, 1870-2006
Both graduates of the University of California, Berkeley, Barbara and Charles Jelavich were hired at Indiana University in 1962 as specialists in Eastern European History by then Chair of the History Department Robert Byrnes. The majority of the collection reflects the work of Barbara while a small portion of the work of Charles is included with publications.
C621 Alma Eikerman papers, 1915-1995 (bulk 1947-1990)
Alma Eikerman (1908-1995) was a metalsmith and professor Indiana University (1947-1978), where she developed the Department of Fine Arts metals program. This collection spans most of her lifetime, providing documentation of her artwork, teaching career, travels, family, friends, and students.
C633 Claire Robertson papers, 1964-2012
Claire Robertson is an Emeritus Professor of Women's Studies and History at Ohio State University and has been a visiting scholar, lecturer, and adjunct professor at Indiana University, Bloomington at various times since 1978. This collection consists of a portion of Robertson’s teaching materials, research, and writings on the history and culture of women in Africa, as well as records related to her career and professional activities at Indiana University.
C648 Betty Jo Irvine papers, 1963-2013
This collection consists of the personal research, publications, correspondence, and teaching materials of Betty Jo (B.J.) Irvine, the Director of the Indiana University Fine Arts Library from 1969 to 2007. It also contains work related to her activities with professional organizations such as Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA).
C651 John and Hilda Jay family papers, 1842-2008
This collection consists of the family papers of Indiana University alumni John and Hilda Jay. The collection primarily consists of correspondence between John, Hilda, and family or friends largely spanning 1939-2002, as well as several home movies from circa 1939-1946.
C684 Frank de Caro and Rosan A. Jordan papers, circa 1910s-2014
Frank de Caro and Rosan Jordan are both folklorists who worked at Louisiana State University. They co-authored several books together. This collection includes drafts and correspondence pertaining to published works, de Caro’s family history, as well as some of Jordan’s teaching materials and research on Day of the Dead. Included in the collection are an extensive amount of postcards that were collected from various travels.
C687 Esther Thelen papers, 1977-2005
Esther Thelen (1941-2004) was a professor of psychology at Indiana University Bloomington and a well-known researcher in the field of developmental psychology. She is known for applying the dynamic systems theory to the study of infant motor development; this has since become the dominant theoretical viewpoint in the field. Much of Thelen’s research was done at Indiana University Bloomington’s Infant Motor Development Laboratory, which she established and directed. This collection contains personal files and correspondence; documents related to public speaking appearances, publications, and roles in professional organizations and committees; educational materials from psychology courses taught by Thelen; and materials related to Thelen’s research, including handwritten notes, drafts of studies, and videotapes of research subjects.
C695 Sandra Dolby papers, 1960-2010
Sandra Dolby is an alumni and faculty member of the department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology at Indiana University. She taught Folklore courses at IU from 1979 to 2010, during which time she also taught American Studies at Norway as a Fulbright Traveling Scholar. The collection reflects her interests in pedagogy, American Studies, and the application of literary theory to the study of folklore and personal narrative. It contains syllabi and teaching materials, manuscripts and presentations about her research, and documents from her service in and out of the university, as well as biographical materials.
C705 Edna Hatfield Edmondson correspondence, 1922
Edna Hatfield Edmondson was a faculty member in the Indiana University Extension Division from 1919 through 1942. This collection consists of letters that Edmondson wrote to Frank R. Elliott, Director of Publicity at IU, while she was on a trip to Japan with the Indiana University baseball team in April-May 1922.
C707 Betty van der Smissen papers, 1954-2008
Betty van der Smissen was an alumna of the University of Kansas and Indiana University and an educator, writer, and consultant in the field of outdoor recreation and risk management. Contents of this collection date from 1954 through 2008 and consist mainly of teaching material such as course syllabi, correspondence, readings, and exams; research and drafts of publications; handbooks and self-assesment material for park and recreation agency accreditations; and material related to van der Smissen’s participation in professional organizations and conferences.

C54 Sarah Parke Morrison papers, 1855-1913
Sarah Parke Morrison became the first woman admitted to Indiana University in 1867. Collection consists of personal papers of Sarah Parke Morrison in three series: Correspondence, 1897-1913, consisting primarily of outgoing correspondence. Frequent correspondents include former Indiana University President William Lowe Bryan and Registrar John W. Cravens. The correspondence all dates from the years after she left IU and much of it discusses her desire that women become members of the various University boards. Schedules, 1855-1856, consists of a single schedule of a typical day for Morrison at the Western Female College; and Writings, 1911-1912, includes a handwritten account of Morrison's entrance and experience as the first female student at IU and a small pamphlet of Morrison's poetry published in 1912.
C164 Della J. Evans papers, 1894-1956
Della J. Evans was an Indiana University alumna who graduated in 1897. She was a writer and sometimes wrote under the pseudonym Julian Allen. Collection consists of sketches, correspondence, journals, essays, plays, short stories, and poetry.
C168 Frank O. and Daisy Beck papers, 1890-1969
Retiring from long careers in urban ministry and social work in 1934, Indiana University alumni Frank O. Beck and his wife Daisy returned to their alma mater to serve as unofficial counselors to the student body and the administration. Collection consists of correspondence, research, publications, biographical material, and records relating to their gift of Beck Chapel. Prominent in the collection are Frank’s research and writing on race relations, aging, and social and economic equality in Chicago.
C191 Mary Geraldine Hatt papers, 1929-2000
Mary Geraldine Hatt studied history at Indiana University and went on to complete an MA in International Relations before teaching social studies in South Bend, Indiana. Her international experience includes serving in the American Red Cross Hospital in Europe and receiving the first Fulbright Scholarship for travel to South Africa. Her papers consist of correspondence beginning with her freshman year at I.U., various materials relating to Miss Hatt's time in South Africa as a Fulbright Scholar, and travel diaries which record her frequent trips throughout the world.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Correspondence, Subseries: Indiana University, 1929-1931
Series: Personal, 1929-2000, undated
-Diary 1929-1933
-I.U. dance cards 1929-1933
-I.U. programs, etc. 1929-1933
C343 Ruth Norman Halls Scrapbooks and journals, 1943-1983
Ruth Norman Halls graduated from Indiana University in 1919 with a degree in Latin. After her death in 1990, she left many of her books to IU’s Lilly Library and the largest legacy up to that time ever received by the university’s Foundation - $11 million. The fund was directed to support the arts and humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences. The collection consists of inspirational journals and scrapbooks created by Halls spanning 1943 to 1983.
C386 Pauline Montgomery Indiana tombstone photographs and records, circa 1960s
Wayne County, Indiana resident Pauline Montgomery spent most of her life as a Latin and English teacher. The Indiana University alumna was also a local historian and author of one book, Indiana Coverlet Weavers and Their Coverlets. This collection consists of Montgomery’s approximately sixteen-hundred photos and negatives of Indiana tombstones and the accompanying ledgers documenting their appearance, locations, and placement dates.
C413 Cecilia Hennel Hendricks family papers, 1843-1971
This collection consists of the family papers of Indiana University professor Cecilia Hennel Hendricks spanning the period from 1839 through 1970. Included are papers relating to the academic careers of Cecilia, Associate Professor of English, and her sister Cora, Professor of Mathematics at Indiana University, as well as manuscripts and writings by both women. Also found in the collection are papers and correspondence of family members: father Joseph B. Hennel, mother Anna M. Thuman Hennel, Cecilia's husband John Hendricks, and sister Edith Hennel Ellis.
C448 Mildred Valeda Daum diary and scrapbooks, 1919-1924
Mildred Daum Ridenour, an Evansville native, attended Indiana University 1919-1922. Upon graduation, she went on to teach English in Evansville and Petersburg. She married W.W. Ridenour in June 1926. This small collection consists of a diary and two scrapbooks that date chiefly from her time as a student at IU.
C470 Dolores C. Whitney papers, 1946-1964
Dolores C. Whitney graduated from Indiana University with an M.S. in 1950. This small collection consists of two scrapbooks as well artwork.
C592 Faye Calvert Abrell papers, 1922-1999
Faye Calvert Abrell attended Indiana University and graduated with both a BS in Education in 1936 and a MS in Education in 1941. Following her time at Indiana University, Abrell spent 1946-1947 teaching in the Dependents School Service in war-torn Frankfurt, Germany and was involved in the Allied Forces mission of effecting a permanent peace. The majority of the collection reflects Abrell’s year spent teaching abroad and includes correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks she made and souvenirs she collected while in Germany.
C593 Effa Funk Muhse papers, 1895-1915, bulk 1904-1915
Effa Funk Muhse was Indiana University's first woman to earn a Ph.D. at Indiana University, bestowed upon her in 1908 (Zoology). Prominent scientists Carl Eigenmann and Charles Zeleny advised Muhse’s doctoral dissertation, “The Cutaneous Glands of the Common Toad,” which was published in the American Journal of Anatomy in 1909. After obtaining her Ph.D., Muhse entered the lecture circuit speaking on topics from the Mendelian laws of heredity to rural sanitation to eugenics, before settling in Washington, D.C. Muhse’s laboratory notes and drawings are included in this collection, as well as copies of the papers she published and laboratory slides.
C597 D. Joan Neff’s Indiana University scrapbooks, 1945-1949
Doris Joan Richards Neff graduated from Indiana University in 1949 with a BA in Physical Education with High Distinction. This collection consists of four scrapbooks she compiled while she was at IU, one for each school year, containing materials related to her social activities during that time.
C601 Kathleen McKee Butts papers, 1904-1977
Kathleen McKee Butts attended IU Bloomington from 1918-1921, though she did not complete her degree. The bulk of materials included are her writings, which consist of radio scripts, stories, and editorials published in the Plainfield Messenger circa 1934. Personal materials consist mainly of items retained by Butt's father, Dr. Joseph Fennell McKee, and are comprised of correspondence, legal documents, newspaper clippings, and pocket-sized notebooks.
C616 Emma Phillips family papers, 1899-1967
Emma J. Phillips was born in 1900 in Alexandria, Indiana to schoolteachers J. W. Phillips and Arvia Phillips. She graduated with Distinction from Indiana University with a Bachelor of Arts in Romance Languages in 1923. Upon graduation, she returned home to teach French and English at Alexandria High School. In 1934, she completed her Master of Arts in English with her thesis titled The Technique of George Whyte - Melville's Novels . In 1967, she received a Ph.D. in English from Indiana University. Her dissertation was titled Mysticism in the Poetry of Emily Dickinson . She died on April 11, 1991 in Alexandria, Indiana. The collection consists of course notes, assignments, theses, miscellaneous correspondence, clippings, pamphlets published by professional societies, and commencement materials.
C617 Kathleen Cavanaugh scrapbooks, 1960-1965
Kathleen Cavanaugh Holland (1942-2016) attended Indiana University as an undergraduate student from 1960-1964. These scrapbooks were compiled by Cavanaugh from 1960-1965 and consist of materials related to campus events and student activities and organizations at IU, as well as greeting cards and other mementos from family and friends.
C622 Sally A. Lied papers, 1963-1987
Sally Lied received her M.S. in Education from Indiana University in 1963, her Ed.D in 1972 and J.D. in 1974. She also worked for the university as a residential counselor at Foster Quadrangle and later director of the Foster Project. This collection includes materials pertaining to social movements and residential programs at IU in the late 1960s, as well as materials from Robert F. Kennedy's presidential campaign in 1968.
C625 Margaret Werling scrapbook, 1951-1953
Margaret Albersmeyer Werling graduated from Indiana University with a BS in Education in 1953, and she earned an MS in Education in 1961. Werling's scrapbook contains photographs of campus buildings, the 1953 NCAA championship campus celebration, Little 500, the Fall Carnival parade, and commencement as well as tickets and programs from football games, IU Auditorium events, dance cards, and clippings related to campus life.
C626 Carolyn J. Fink's "Nightingales in the Branches" manuscript, 1955
The collection contains a manuscript of "Nightingales in the Branches", Carolyn J. Fink's memoir about life at Indiana University after World War II.
C644 Myra Montgomery Arthur collection of Indiana University dance cards, 1922-1929 (bulk 1925-1926)
Myra Montgomery Arthur received her A.B. degree in English from Indiana University in 1927. The dance cards in this collection document various social events sponsored by IU fraternities, sororities, and other student organizations during the 1920s. The cards often provide the names of musical groups that performed at the dances, including Hoagy Carmichael and the Carmichael Collegians.
C657 Helen Hopkins Wampler papers, 1911-1996 (bulk 1915-1918)
Born in 1897, Helen Dale Hopkins entered Indiana University as a freshman in the fall of 1915. She was an active member of the Classical Club, Browning Society, Pi Beta Phi, and was elected to the student honorary Phi Beta Kappa. She graduated with an A.B. in Latin with Distinction in 1918. Following graduation, she married Donald Wampler in 1928 and retired as a Latin teacher from Ben Davis High School in 1963. This collection consists primarily of correspondence between Helen and her mother during her time as a student at Indiana University.
C659 Catherine Ruby Force's Indiana University scrapbook, 1915-1920
Catherine Ruby Force was an undergraduate student at Indiana University (A.B. Botany, 1919) from 1915-1919, during which time she was a member of Delta Gamma sorority and the Botany Club. This scrapbook documents her time at Indiana University and includes photos of Force's friends and family, as well as booklets, pamphlets, cards, and other memorabilia from sorority events and gatherings.
C662 Emma K. Schmidt Indiana University scrapbook, 1916-1918
Emma K. Schmidt was a student at Indiana University from 1916 to 1918. This collection consists of a scrapbook she made to document her time at IU and includes information on campus buildings, booklets from campus events, local newspaper clippings, school and financial documents, and miscellaneous memorabilia. There is also an IU Red Book, a publication with class and event schedules, faculty and student directories, and information pertaining to different groups or organizations on campus.
C690 Joan Norton scrapbooks, 1951-1959
Ellen Joan Norton (Houston) attended Indiana University from 1952 through 1955 and was a member of several student organizations. This collection contains two scrapbooks (1951-1955) and a small amount of loose photographs and ephemera that mainly document Norton’s time at IU. The scrapbooks include photographs of dances and other social functions, news clippings, and academic awards received by Norton.
C698 Geraldine K. White Indiana University course notes and scrapbooks, 1922-1926
This collection documents the activities of Geraldine Katherine White, who completed a B.S. in Commerce from the Indiana University School of Commerce and Finance in 1926. The materials date from 1922-1926 and consist of notes from Geraldine’s classes and scrapbooks illustrating her life at IU.
C708 Pauline Day scrapbook and planners, 1911-1916
Pauline Day (1894-1981) attended Indiana University as an undergraduate from 1912-1916. This collection contains one scrapbook and two annotated planners that document student life at IU through materials such as dance cards from social events, personal notes, newspaper clippings, theater programs, and commencement programs. A small amount of scrapbook material also pertains to Purdue University, which Day also visited to attend student social events.
C739 Dorothy Dorland scrapbook, 1925-1929
Dorothy "Dot" Dorland (married: Luzadder) was an undergraduate student at Indiana University from 1925-1929 where she earned her degree in history. During her time as a student, she compiled a scrapbook to thoroughly document her college experiences, particularly those involved with rushing the Delta Delta Delta sorority and social life as a sorority member. This scrapbook includes a wide range of memorabilia including letters, dance cards, photos, newspaper clippings, as well as personal commentary and descriptions.
C727 Bonnie Louise Williams scrapbooks and papers
Bonnie Louise Williams attended Indiana University from 1966 to 1970, graduating with a B.A. in Geography. This collection includes scrapbooks and papers pertaining to the academic and social activities of Williams.
C720 Una Camp papers, 1913-1937
Una L. Camp was an undergraduate student at Indiana University from 1913-1917. This collection consists of a scrapbook compiled by Una to document her time at IU, which includes photos, letters, mementos, local newspaper clippings, programs from campus events, and other items. Additionally, the collection includes Una's diplomas and a certificate from Pi Lambda Theta.

C21 Indiana University Women's Club records, 1913-2004
The University Women’s Club was established at Indiana University on April 24, 1913, under the name of the Faculty Women’s Club. The goal of the club was to hold social gatherings for members. In 1959 the group changed its name to the University Women’s Club to avoid further confusion with the Women’s Faculty Club. The collection consists of meeting minutes and reports, subject files and scrapbooks.
more...less...
Additional born-digital records are available via the Archives of Institutional Memory here: https://institutionalmemory.iu.edu/aim/handle/10333/3348
C80 Memorial Fund Campaign records, 1919-1951, bulk 1921-1931
This collection consists of the records of the Memorial Fund Campaign, a series of drives to raise funds for the construction of an athletic stadium, women's dormitory, and student union building as memorials to IU students and former students who had participated in World War I.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Scrapbooks and Narrative Reports, 1921-1926
-Women's Part in Memorial Campaigns, 1923-1924
C95 Indiana University Board of Aeons records, 1920-2013
The Board of Aeons was established on March 29, 1921 to function as a link between the student body and the administration. It is composed of 8 to 12 students of at least junior standing and meets regularly but informally once or twice a week with the President, Vice-President, Chancellor or other administrative officials. The Board of Aeons records include minutes, agendas, reports, correspondence, and officers' notebooks.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
Series: Correspondence, 1926-2013
-Wells, Agnes E., Dean of Women, 3 Oct 1932 - 22 Apr 1935
C185 Indiana University Dames Club records, 1953-1976
Indiana University joined the National Association of University Dames on 11 May 1931. Collection consists of 1.2 cubic ft. of the University Dames Club records organized in six series - Officers and members, Publications, Activities and informational, Certificates and awards, Publicity, and Budget.
C200 IUSA Safety Escort Service records, 1981-1996
Collection consists of 1.4 cubic feet of the Indiana University Student Association Safety Escort Service records spanning 1981-1996. Includes correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, and departmental memos.
C206 Indiana University Student Senate records, 1938-1979, bulk 1944-1973
The Indiana University Student Senate was formed in 1948 due in large part to the influence of IU President Herman B Wells. The Student Senate was charged with upholding the ideals proclaimed in the Student Government Constitution. This collection is predominantly comprised of administrative files such as meetings minutes, bills and resolutions, and subject files covering the period 1938 through 1979.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative files, 1938-1979
-B-14 Bill Calling for the Abolition of All Women’s Regulations, 28 September 1967
-April-May 1967, R-1 An Emergency Resolution Concerning Women’s Regulations, 20 April 1967
-April-May 1967, R-2 Resolution Requesting A Re-Evaluation By the Association of Women Students (AWS) of Their May 11 Decision Concerning Women’s Hours, 20 April 1967
-April-May 1967, R-14 Resolution Requesting the Association of Women Students (AWS) and the Director of Counseling and Activities to Create a Procedure to Permit Interested Women to Remain in Senate Sessions, 18 May 1967
-February 1968, R-66 Resolution Requesting Elimination of Hours for Freshman Women Over Little 500 Weekend, 29 February 1968
-March-04 April 1968, R-67 Resolution Concerning Hours Regulations, 07 March 1968
Series: Subject files, 1938-1979, undated
-Women in Education, 1972-1973
-Women's Issues, 1970-1973
-Women's Regulations, 1948-1968
C209 American Association of University Women, Bloomington Branch records, 1907-1997, bulk 1940-1989
The American Association of University Women, Bloomington Branch was established on 12 February 1913 as the Association of Collegiate Alumnae with 60 charter members. They later became the AAUW in 1921. The goal of the group was to improve the status of women in higher education and to debunk myths concerning women academics. This collection is comprised of correspondence, financial records, governance files, meeting notes, reports, and scrapbooks. The collection also contains numerous subject files including those relating specifically to the Bloomington branch, and those relating to the Indiana and national divisions of the organiztion. These files contain materials on the history of the organization, various programs, committees, membership, conventions, and publications relating to the organization.
C234 Indiana University Student Association records, 1953-2010, bulk 1973-2010
Student government at Indiana University was officially formed in April 1948 due in large part to the influence of IU President Herman B Wells. Following a series of name changes, student government in 1973 became known as the Indiana University Student Association (IUSA), as it is known today. This collection consists of the records of the IUSA including: Meeting minutes and agendas; resolutions; administrative files; records of the IUSA President , Vice-President for Senate/ Congress, Vice- President for Administration, Treasurer and the Supreme Court; association, committee and department files; and issue, project and subject files. These records primarily cover the period from 1973-2010.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Resolutions, 1973-2010
-1973-1974, SEA 066 To Reimburse Women`s Affairs
-1975-1976, SEA 109 To Fund Women’s Affairs
-1977-1978, SEA 275 Women’s Affairs Budget
-1980-1981, SEA 413 (80-9-9) Women’s Services Letter Writing Campaign
-1981-1982, SEA 440 (80-9-34) To Support Report of the Task Force on Women’s Concerns
-1981-1982, SEA 444 (80-9-38) To Indicate Respect for Women
-1981-1982, SEA 446 (81-6-1) To Support Paid Women’s Wheels Coordinator
-1983-1984, SEA 583 (83-6-9) To Allocate funds for Women’s Affairs Lecture
-1983-1984, SEA 594 (83-8-8) Budget Request (Women’s Affairs)
-1984-1985, SEA 758 (85-2-13) To Sponsor a Speaker for Women’s Awareness Week
-1986-1987, SEA 947 (87-2-2) To Fund and Support the Women’s Safety Program
-1987-1988, SEA 1005 Womens Safety and Concerns
-1988-1989, SEA 1193 Women’s Safety
-1992-1993, 92-6-6 Resolution to Combine Two IUSA Departments, Women’s Wheels and Walking Escort, into one Department, Safe Escort
-1992-1993, 93-3-6 Resolution to Fund the Students Concerned About Violence Women’s “Take Back the Night” March
-1993-1994, Resolution to Establish the Walking Escort Department as a Part of IUSA and to combine the Women’s Wheels Department and the Walking Escort Department into One Department Called Women’s Wheels and Walking Escort Service
Series: President’s files, 1974-2006, undated
-1992-1993, College Women Student Leaders
-1992-1993, Men Against Violence Against Women (MAVAW)
-1992-1993, Women`s Wheels
-1994-1995, Vice-president’s Office – Women’s Wheels
-1988, IUSA Women’s Wheels
Series: Associations, Committees, and Task Forces, 1967-2010, undated
-Office for Women’s Affairs Advisory Council
Series: Departmental Files, 1964-2002, undated
Subseries: Assisted Interorganizational Development (AID), 1978-2002, undated
Student Organization "Permanent Files," 1985-2002, undated
-Asian Women Coalition, 1992-93
-Graduate Women in Business, 1986-93
-Graduate Women in SPEA, 1987
-Returning Women Students Organization, 1991-93
-Students Concerned About Violence Against Women, 1994-95
-Task Force for Women’s Concerns, 1986-88
-Women in Business, 1992-95
-Women in Communications, 1991-92
-Women’s Student Union, 1990-95
1995-1996
-Returning Women’s Student Association
-Students Concerned About the Violence Against Women
-Women in Business
1996-1997,
-Returning Women’s Student Association
-Students Concerned About Violence Against Women
1997-1998,
-Returning Women Students
-Students Concerned About Violence Against Women
-Women’s Student Association
1998-1999,
-Returning Women Students
-Women’s Student Association
2000-2001,
-Women’s Student Association
2001-2002,
-Women’s Student Association
Subseries: Health and Safety, 1987-2001, undated
-1996-1997, Women’s Concerns
-Subseries: Women’s Wheels, 1986-1995
Series: Issues, 1960-2005, undated
-Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women, 1977
-Women and Work, 1976-80
-Women’s Issues
-Women’s Studies, 1973-82
Series: Projects, 1971-2008, undated
-Women’s Week
C253 Gamma Phi Omega records, 1989-1999, bulk 1992-1999
The Alpha Chapter of the Latina-oriented sorority Gamma Phi Omega was founded in 1991 and was recognized as an official sorority at Indiana University in 1992. The National Board of Directors for the group was established in 1995 with the headquarters located at IU, though they have since relocated to Chicago, Ill. Collection includes records from both the Alpha Chapter and National Board of Directors of Gamma Phi Omega and consists of agendas, minutes, correspondence, membership lists, and constitutions.
C254 Gateway Club (Indiana University) records, 1947-1962
Founded on 12 December 1947 by Mrs. Herman T. Briscoe, the purpose of Gateway (General Association of Teachers, Employees, Wives, Administrators of the Yooniversity) was to promote sociability among the members of the entire University family. Membership was available to all women who were employed in any capacity by the University, to wives and other homemakers of persons employed by the university, and to all retired persons and widows who were eligible at the time of their retirement or widowhood. This collection contains one series arranged chronologically, Administrative files. Contained within this series are the Gateway Club minutes, the Presidents books, and a financial notice regarding the withdrawal of Gateway Club funds from the Indiana University Credit Union.
C261 Indiana University Panhellenic Association records, 1888-2003
Established in 1902, the Panhellenic Association is the coordinating student organization for sororities at Indiana University. Collection consists of correspondence, publications, agendas, budget information, and scrapbooks.
C272 Pi Lambda Theta Iota Chapter records,1920-1995
Pi Lambda Theta was founded in 1910 as an honor and professional association for women in education. In 1920, the Iota chapter was chartered at Indiana University. In 1974, the organization began admitting men. Collection consists of minutes, a ledger book, constitutions, membership information, publications, and scrapbooks.
C307 Indiana University Newcomers Club records, 1932-1985
The Newcomer’s Club was established at Indiana University under the University Women’s Club. The goal of the club was to organize and implement social and cultural events for members. In 1959 the group became part of a new organization called the University Club, which acted as an umbrella organization for four smaller Indiana University clubs, including the Newcomer’s Club. The collection consists of meeting minutes, and subject files.
C308 Indiana University Women’s Faculty Club records, 1923-1988
Established on the Indiana University campus in 1923, the Women’s Faculty Club’s mission was to organize and implement social and cultural events for members. In 1959 the group became part of a new organization called the University Club, which acted as an umbrella organization for four smaller Indiana University clubs, of which the Women’s Faculty Club was a part. The collection consists of the constitution, budget records, subject files, meeting minutes, publicity material and programs.
C341 Indiana University Young Women’s Christian Association records, 1929-1973, bulk 1960-1973
The Indiana University chapter of the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA) was founded in 1886 by Mrs. Jenny Bryan, sister to future IU president William Lowe Bryan. Open to all interested women in the Bloomington community, the YWCA aimed to encourage the personal development, religious growth, social sensitivity, and civic responsibility of its members. It sought to provide leadership training in the many areas of life and to provide volunteer leaders for community service in Monroe County. This collection consists of various publications, administrative material and financial records created by the organization from 1929 through 1973.
C394 American Association of University Professors, Indiana University chapter records, 1929-2010, bulk 1983-2003
The American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is a nationwide organization established in 1915, and is open to membership by faculty, librarians, and academic professionals at accredited public and private colleges and universities. Its mission is to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define professional values and standards within higher education, and to ensure higher education’s contribution to the common good. There is evidence that the Indiana University Bloomington Chapter of the American Association of University Professors was active on campus as early as 1916 and remains active to the present. The collection consists of group publications, minutes, notes, correspondence, and other related materials.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
-Study on the Status of Women Faculty at Indiana University, Bloomington Campus, 1971
C454 Women in Communications, Delta Chapter records, 1913-1990, bulk 1940-1960
The Woman’s Press Club established the Delta Chapter of Theta Sigma Phi at Indiana University in 1913 as a professional sorority for women in journalism. Early on, their aim was to “unite women engaged in or planning to engage in journalism; work to set and achieve definite standards in journalism and letters; and inspire members to greater individual effort.” In 1972, the group changed its name to Women in Communications. The collection consists of scrapbooks, event files, newspaper articles, awards, meeting minutes, and other administrative files.
C475 Indiana University Mortar Board Alumnae Club records, 1936-1966
The Mortar Board Alumnae Club collection includes an address list of members, ledgers, club records, newsletters, newspaper clippings and a historical synopsis of the organization.
C478 Indiana University Association of Women Students records, 1921-1969, bulk 1960-1968
Established in 1895 as the Women’s League, the Indiana University Association of Women Students worked to give an official voice to women students. The collection consists of meeting minutes, budgets, handbooks, program and issues files, and general administrative records of the organization.
C491 Indiana University Pleiades minutes, 1926-1943
An all-female organization, the Pleiades was founded on Indiana University Bloomington’s campus on September 24, 1921. The group initially was formed to organize various social events but expanded and became an established organization on campus after its initial successes. Membership was limited to 25 women who excelled both academically and socially. Collection consists of one minute book documenting activities and members from 1926-1943.
C495 Indiana University Hesperian Society records, 1870-1878
The Hesperian Society was established by women at Indiana University on October 28, 1870. The goal of the literary society was to provide an organization dedicated to creating social and cultural activities for IU women students. The Collection consists of one record book consisting of by-laws, constitutions and meeting minutes along with their debate topics and administrative planning for events. The collection also includes documentation on the society's exhibit programs and anniversary celebrations.
C496 Edgeworthalean Society constitution, by-laws, and minutes, 1841-1844
The Edgeworthalean Society was a ladies’ literary society founded in 1841 by twelve women of Monroe County in Bloomington, Indiana, and was named after the English author, Maria Edgeworth. The goal of the society was to cultivate and improve the minds of the women through recitations, composition arguments, reading, writing, diction, analyzing sentences, and so on. Each meeting a question for debate was posed and roles assigned for the next meeting. The society met on a weekly basis in the Monroe County Female Seminary which was founded for women in 1818. The date of the last recorded meeting minutes was June 14, 1844. There is no indication of why the society ended. The collection consists of one minute book containing the society’s constitution, by-laws, and meeting minutes.
C568 Union Board scrapbooks, 1932-2012
The Union Board serves as the governing body for the Indiana Memorial Union, which organizes various events and activities for students on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Established in 1909, the Union Board has since developed into the largest student programming body at Indiana University. The Collection consists of scrapbooks which were created by staff annually from 1932 to the present.
C607 Indiana University's Girl Friday Club scrapbook, 1964-1975
The Girl Friday Club was founded in 1964 as a social club for secretaries and female office workers of Indiana University. It was run by a Steering Committee that planned luncheons, entertainment, and outings for the women in order to encourage familiarity among women working in different departments. The scrapbook covers activities from 1964-1972 with a few papers about the activities of 1975.
C631 Indiana University women’s residence hall scrapbooks, 1925-1959
This collection consists of 82 scrapbooks produced by the residents of Forest Hall, Memorial Hall East, Memorial Hall West, Morrison Hall, Sycamore Hall, and Walnut Hall, most of which were women’s residence halls located in the Agnes E. Wells Quadrangle on the Indiana University campus in Bloomington, Indiana. The scrapbooks were created between 1925 and 1959 and contain photographs of dormitory residents, residential counselors, and various locations on the Bloomington campus. Many scrapbooks also contain memorabilia and ephemera such as dance cards, invitations, correspondence, event programs, sports schedules, newspaper clippings and other items related to campus events and activities that were either sponsored or hosted by the dormitories or attended by the women residing there.
C639 Alpha Lambda Delta, Indiana University Chapter records, 1924-2009 (bulk 1931-1959)
The Alpha Lambda Delta fraternity was founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois as an honor society for freshmen women. The chapter at Indiana University was established in 1931. This collection consists of membership information, rules, awards, and the history of the organization.
C646 Indiana University Archives dance card collection, 1909-1954 (bulk 1927-1933)
This collection was created from numerous loose dance cards acquired by and held at the IU Archives. The dance cards are from a number of events sponsored by student organizations and other social activities that were held at IU between 1909 and 1954. Each provides space for the women to document their dance partners' names and often provides information about the sponsoring student group, the dance chaperones, and the musicians performing for the event.
C676 Indiana University Commission on Multicultural Understanding records, 1979-2010
The Commission on Multicultural Understanding was established in 1982 at Indiana University. The organization strove to make IU an environment in which students could feel safe and at home, regardless of race, age, religion, ability, gender, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status. The collection consists of minutes, reports, and correspondence regarding the yearly operation of the organization as well as details audiovisual and other educational resources on topics such as race, religion, gender identity, sexual identity, sexuality, and rape awareness.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Subject files, 1983-2001
-Women’s History, 1996
-Women’s Holidays, undated
-Women’s Issues, 1993-1994
-Women’s Studies, 1989-1990
-Women’s Week, 1986
C693 Indiana University May Festival collection, 1897-1928
Indiana University faculty members and student groups organized campus springtime May Day celebrations as early as 1897. From 1908 through at least 1928, the Women's Athletic Association and IU Department of Physical Education for Women organized the official campus May Festival, which featured dance exercises by female students and musical performances. This collection contains May Festival programs dating from 1897 through 1928, as well as a student ticket to a 1926 May Day event.
Pageantry at IU
The Pageantry at IU student organization is a leadership development organization designed
to provide opportunities for students to develop leadership skills, interviewing skills,
performing arts skills, and philanthropic connections to the community. The Organization
aims to promote interest in Miss Indiana University and to act as an advisory board in the
planning and execution of the annual Miss Indiana University Scholarship Pageant, a
preliminary to Miss Indiana/Miss America, on the Indiana University-Bloomington campus.

Arbutus yearbook

Digital versions are available online via Issuu, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive.

C610 Indiana University News-Letter, 1913-1945
This collection consists of a mostly-complete run of the Indiana University News-Letter from 1913 to 1945. The newsletter, originally titled Alumni News-Letter of Indiana University, was a monthly publication primarily used to communicate Indiana University news with alumni.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-1924, "The Young Women's Christian Association at Indiana University" vol. XII, no. 10
-1924, "Dormitories for Women at Indiana University" vol. XII, no. 12
-1926, "Residence Halls for Women Indiana University" vol. XIV, no. 6
-1927, "Self- Help for Women Students at Indiana University" vol. XV, no. 8
-1928, "Self- Help for Women Students at Indiana University" vol. XVI, no.9
-1930, "Self- Help for Women Students at Indiana University 1930" vol. XVIII, no. 7
-1932, "Self- Help for Women Students at Indiana University 1932" vol. XX, no. 7
-1934, "Self- Help for Women Students at Indiana University 1934-35" vol. XXII, no. 8
-1936, "Self- Help and Budgets for Expenses for Women at Indiana University 1935-37" vol. XXIV, no. 7;
-1939, "Indiana University Physical Education for Women " vol. XXVII, no. 4
-1939, "Self- Help and Suggested Budgets for Men and Women Students at Indiana University 1938- 39" vol. XXVI, no. 7
-1941, "How Indiana University Trains Young Women for Home Economics" vol. XXIX, no. 7
-1942, "Careers for Women" vol. XXX, no. 7
-1942, "Wartime Jobs for Men and Women" vol. XXX, no. 10
-1942, "Careers for Women in the Legal Profession" vol. XXX, no. 12
-1943, "How Indiana University Trains Young Men and Women as Leaders for a Physically and Mentally Fit America" vol. XXXI, no.5
-1944, "Preparing Women for Today's Opportunities" vol. XXXII, no. 5
Register of the graduates of Indiana University. ... 6th ed. 1830-1916.
An Indiana University publication listing IU graduates from 1830-1916 which includes the names of IU's women graduates.
Catalogue.
An incomplete run of the IU Catalogues from 1857-1858 to 1921-1922. These catalogues were published annually by Indiana University and provided information on the university including IU's history, IU's buildings, IU's academic departments, and a list of courses offered.
more...less...
In particular, see the following catalogues:
-Catalogue. 1885/86-1887/88
-Catalogue. 1904/05-1906/07.
-Catalogue. 1921-22.
Catalogue - Indiana University.
The IU Catalogues from 1915, 1918, and 1920. These catalogues were published annually by Indiana University and provided information on the university including IU's history, IU's buildings, IU's academic departments, and a list of courses offered.
more...less...
In particular, search the text of the catalogues for the word women.
Indiana University Alumni Quarterly
The Indiana University Alumni Quarterly was published annually from 1914 to 1938 by the Alumni Association of Indiana University. The volumes provided information on the history of the university and current happenings at IU at the time.
more...less...
In particular, search the text of the books for the word women.
Indiana alumni magazine.
The Indiana Alumni Magazine was first published in 1938 as a continuation of the Indiana Alumni Quarterly. The magazine was published monthly and reported on news related to IU and IU alumni.
Indiana Daily Student
Student newspaper running from 1867 to the present day. Issues from 1867-1924 are accessible through newspaperarchive.com, while later issues are available on microfilm.

Archives Photograph Collection
The IU Archives holds a vast photograph and negative collection that comprises approximately two-million images. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University’s Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty.
Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection
Charles Weever Cushman, amateur photographer and Indiana University alumnus, bequeathed approximately 14,500 Kodachrome color slides to his alma mater. The photographs in this collection bridge a thirty-two year span from 1938 to 1969, during which time he extensively documented the United States as well as other countries.
Will Counts photograph collection
Will Counts was a photographer nearly his entire life, and for 32 years served as a Professor of Journalism at Indiana University. He worked for the Arkansas-Democrat in Little Rock, Arkansas, and The Associated Press in Chicago, but is well known for the photographs he shot of desegregation at Little Rock's Central High School in 1957. His book, A Life is More Than A Moment, documents the event through his images and text.

Bicentennial Oral History Project
The Bicentennial Oral History Project consists of interviews with IU alumni, faculty, and staff. The mission of this project is to record, preserve, and make available to future generations the memories and experiences of IU alumni, faculty, and staff university-wide. Capturing an institutional history of IU that is not written solely from the perspective of administrators, with a focus on documenting underrepresented voices, helps to provide a better understanding of the broader history of Indiana University. The online collection of the interviews is continually being added to.
more...less...
The interviews listed here are just a couple of examples of the many interviews related to women at IU.
* Harrison, Nancy. Jun 24 2010
* Brand, Nancy and Mahaney, Ruth. Aug 03 2013
To find other interviews, try search terms such as woman, women rights, feminist, sorority, and sexism.

The following are a few examples available through Media Collections Online. New content is being continuously added to this portal, so check back frequently!

Coast Guard Spars
A recruitment film during World War II, encouraging women to join the ranks of the Coast Guard Spars.
Indiana University : 150 Years (1820-1970)
Celebrates the 1820-1970 sesquicentennial of Indiana University by surveying its history and current programs. Points out the admission of women and students from other countries. Covers the development of the schools of music, medicine, education, business, and law, as well as the growth of the College of Arts and Sciences. Features brief scenes of the five regional campuses and of various athletic programs. Includes footage of Chancellor Herman B Wells, former President Elvis J. Stahr, and current President Joseph Sutton.
more...less...
In particular, see the 8:08 mark of the video that discusses women at IU.
IU Women's Basketball Coach Teri Moren
What’s next for IU Women’s basketball after winning the WNIT championships last spring? Dean Shanahan sits down with head coach Teri Moren to talk about the future of the team, her coaching philosophy, and the changing face of collegiate basketball.
More than a place to live
A video produced by the IU Panhellenic Association discussing life in a sorority.
WAVES and lady marines at IU WWII
A video from 1941 of WAVES (Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service) and lady marines at IU marching.
Women in IT at IU
Media School Dean James Shanahan talks with Maureen Biggers (pictured), director of the Center of Excellence for Women in Technology at IU, and Laurie Burns McRobbie, IU's first lady who helped establish CEWiT.
Your daughter at I.U.
Discusses the varied reasons for college education for women, and describes many educational opportunities for women available through degree programs at Indiana University. Points out that IU has a full-time director of women's educational programs, Assistant Dean of Faculties Eunice Roberts.

Primary sources on women in IU collections

Relevant University Archives collections

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Primary sources on women in IU collections

Relevant University Archives collections

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries