Library Research Guides: LGBTQ+ primary sources in University collections: Primary Sources

Relevant University Archives collections

C736 New Horizons newsletters and flyers, 1975-1976
New Horizons was an independent community center founded in 1975 that intended to serve the increasingly open LGBTQ+ population in Bloomington. It did so by providing a physical space for the community to meet and gather, as well as supporting programming such as classes, organization for protests, and dances. This collection consists of newsletters and flyers produced by this organization.
C737 Bloomington Gay and Lesbian Alliance newsletters, 1979-1981
The Bloomington Gay Alliance was an umbrella organization that coordinated many smaller activist and social groups of the Bloomington LGBTQ+ community during the 1970s and 80s. This collection consists of ten newsletters the group published.
C738 Integrity/Bloomington Gabriel newsletters, 1980-1984
Formed in 1980, Integrity/Bloomington was the local chapter of Integrity/International, a nationwide LGBTQ+ advocacy and support group affiliated with the Protestant Episcopal Church. This collection consists of some of the newsletters it produced.

C125 Indiana University Office for Women's Affairs records, 1968-2012
Indiana University's Office for Women's Affairs was established on August 15, 1972 in response to the growing awareness of discrimination against women in the academic community. This collection contains over forty years’ worth of documents and materials from the OWA’s daily operations and interactions with the Indiana University, Bloomington campus. All matters pertaining to the OWA are now handled by the Office of the Dean of Students (for student concerns) or the Provost’s office (for staff and faculty concerns).
more...less...
See:
Gender Initiatives Team (GIT), 1996-2008, undated subseries- mentions case summaries from the GBLT Anti-Harassment Team .
C435 Indiana University LGBTQ+ Culture Center records, 1970-2019
The mission of the Indiana University LGBTQ+ Culture Center, formerly named GLBT Student Support Services, is to provide information, support, mentoring, and counseling to members of the IU campus and the larger community. The IU LGBTQ+ Culture Center seeks to fulfill their mission through networks, collaboration, education, and outreach in an attempt to create a climate where all members of the community are encouraged to promote and defend diversity. The collection consists of records relating to campus programming, speakers and events, conferences, groups, and office administration. There are also scrapbooks documenting GLBT issues on campus and the LGBTQ+ Culture Center.
C459 Indiana University President's Office records, 1963-1990
John W. Ryan served as Indiana University's president for 16 years. This collection includes correspondence files, and administrative records related to the management of various offices and departments on campus and of the regional campuses.
more...less...
See:
Administrative Records series - features file named Gay Awareness Conferences, 1974-1976
C577 Indiana University President’s Office records, 1999-2007
Adam Herbert served as the seventeenth president of Indiana University from 2003-2007. In November 2005, he received a vote of "no confidence" from an unofficial faculty vote and decided, in January 2006, not to renew his contract after it expired in 2008. After a new president was selected, Herbert resigned on June 30, 2007. The collection consists of records, correspondence, and administrative files from Herbert’s tenure as Indiana University president.
more...less...
See:
Administrative Files series- features file named Gay/Lesbian which spans the years of 2003-2006
C676 Indiana University Commission on Multicultural Understanding records, 1979-2010
The Commission on Multicultural Understanding was established in 1982 at Indiana University. The organization strove to make IU an environment in which students could feel safe and at home, regardless of race, age, religion, ability, gender, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status. The collection consists of minutes, reports, and correspondence regarding the yearly operation of the organization as well as details audiovisual and other educational resources on topics such as race, religion, gender identity, sexual identity, sexuality, and rape awareness.
more...less...
See:
Subject files series: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Issues, 1992
Accn. 99/006 and 2002/024 Vice President for Academic Affairs and Bloomington Chancellor records {Unprocessed collection]
Records of Ken Gros Louis which includes files on the Gay, Lesbian, & Bisexual Concerns Task Force and early files on the LGBTQ Center.
Accn. 2006/010 University Chancellor records {unprocessed collection]
From the files of Herman Wells - includes early files on the Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Student Support Services center.

C234 Indiana University Student Association records, 1953-2010
Student government at Indiana University was officially formed in April 1948 due in large part to the influence of IU President Herman B Wells. Following a series of name changes, student government in 1973 became known as the Indiana University Student Association (IUSA), as it is known today. This collection consists of the records of the IUSA including: Meeting minutes and agendas; resolutions; administrative files; records of the IUSA President , Vice-President for Senate/ Congress, Vice- President for Administration, Treasurer and the Supreme Court; association, committee and department files; and issue, project and subject files. These records primarily cover the period from 1973-2010.
C580 Indiana University Collins Living-Learning Center (CLLC) records, 1924-2014
Indiana University's Collins Living-Learning Center (LLC) was established in 1972 - one of the first in the country - in the Men's Residence Center (MRC). Eventually the LLC took over the entire MRC and was renamed after IU professor and administrator Ralph L. Collins. It has since expanded to include “The Hill,” Brown and Greene, and Hillcrest (apartments for juniors and seniors). The Collins community is intentionally academically diverse, and students pursue majors across the university. Collins is host to a wide variety of programs and events planned through one of many student groups such as the Board of Education Programming (BOEP), Arts Council, Community Council, and the Board of Programmers (BOP), or as student Q projects through CLLC-Q 199: Residential Learning Workshop. The materials in the Collection represent both the administrative and student aspects of the Collins Living-Learning Center.
more...less...
See for example:
Student publications - Collins Columns
The Spectator
Bi-weekly student publication from 1967-1970.
more...less...
All paper copies available through the University Archives.

C12 Martha Vicinus papers, 1969-1980
Martha Jeannette Vicinus was a faculty member of the Indiana University English Department from 1968-1982. Her papers comprise 1 cubic foot and span the period of 1971-1980. Consists largely of newsletters, flyers, pamphlets, minutes, form letters, mass mailings, interdepartmental memos, and a small amount of personal correspondence relating to the activities of American Federation of Teachers Bloomington local, women's movement in Bloomington, the creation of Women's Studies program at Indiana University, and the Modern Language Association Radical Caucus. Items are arranged chronologically within each series.
more...less...
Of particular note, look for information on the Lesbian Liberation movement in the Women's movement series
C220 Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis speeches, 1979-2011
Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis was a long time Indiana University administrator. Gros Louis served as Vice President of the entire Indiana University multi-campus system as well as Chancellor of the Bloomington campus. In 1994 Indiana University President, Myles Brand, expanded Gros Louis' role in the university's administration changing his Vice Presidential title to Vice President for Academic Affairs. The collection consists of speeches made by Gros Louis during his academic career between 1979 and 2011.
more...less...
See the speech GLBT 10th Anniversary, March 2004

The Indiana University Bicentennial Oral History Project began in 2008 with volunteers from the Office of the President and Indiana University Archives interviewing alumni from IU Bloomington. The project was staffed through the Office of the Bicentennial in 2016 and expanded to interviewing alumni, faculty, and staff at all Indiana University campuses. The mission of this project is to record, preserve, and make available to future generations the memories and experiences of IU alumni, faculty, and staff university-wide. Capturing an institutional history of IU that is not written solely from the perspective of administrators, with a focus on documenting underrepresented voices, helps to provide a better understanding of the broader history of Indiana University.

When searching through Oral Histories, the following search terms yield the best results: LGBTQ, Gay, and Lesbian.

Here are some featured interviews:

Doug Bauder - October 21, 2016
Angela Green - November 27, 2017
Sheila Kennedy - February 20, 2019
Nichole Mann - October 10, 2016
Sara Julian - January 30, 2010
Marc Kaplan - September 28, 2010

LGBTQ+ primary sources in University collections

Relevant University Archives collections

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

LGBTQ+ primary sources in University collections

Relevant University Archives collections

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries