Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC G206 Introduction to Counseling Psychology

This guide contains information and resources to support counseling psychology.

Find Materials

General Searching (Multi-Disciplinary) Databases

These resources are helpful when searching for information broadly to find out more about a topic or when a research question is multi-disciplinary. These databases are best to start with when you begin information seeking. 

 

Psychology Databases

These databases provide information specific to the field of psychology. PsycINFO is one of the most popular psychology databases IU Libraries has access to, but there are plenty of other tools listed below. If you are looking for scales and measures, check out PsycTESTS.

 

Education Databases

Educational Resources Information Center covers over 1085 periodicals and nearly a half a million documents. Fulltext documents since 1993.

 

Health Databases

Biomedical citations and abstracts (MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Additional citations, approximately 1% of the database, are from other sources.

A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.

Consumer health information on diseases and health conditions, alternative medicine, drugs and other health-related resources.

Check out the APA guidelines for locating tests and measures.
 

Test Specific Databases and Websites

Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database provides access to thousands of test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
Indexes primary and secondary sources of testing instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, rating, etc.) in the fields of health, psychology, organizational behavior, library science, information science.
Things to keep in mind:
  • Physical books can be borrowed from other IU Libraries (Kokomo, South Bend, IUPUI, etc.), but if IU Bloomington has an available copy, you will get it quicker.
  • E-Books can only be accessed if the link says "IU Bloomington" or "All Campus Access"
  • Request delivery allows you to borrow books from other campuses or branch libraries (Education, Neal-Marshall, etc.) and have books delivered to one convenient location. You can request delivery once you are logged into IUCAT.
  • Renewing books is as simple as logging into IUCAT and clicking "My Account" and "Renew."

 

Featured Books from IU Collections

Can't find what you're looking for? Luckily Document Delivery Services (DDS) and Inter-Library (ILL) Loan can help! 
Articles and books from other non-IU libraries can be borrowed for free. Articles will be digitally sent as PDF files to your email and books are delivered and picked up from Wells Library. 

Need to make a request? 
  • Fill out this form to request an article or book chapter that can be delivered electronically (email)
  • This form is to request a complete work (physical book, CD, video, etc.)