Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Topic Identification and Exploration
Use these databases to browse for controversial policy issues and topics, and to explore the various facets and viewpoints of those topics.
- CQ Researcher
This link opens in a new window
Full-text discussion of current, controversial public policy issues; coverage of newsworthy global affairs and issues from a variety of international viewpoints. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Access provided by the Jerome Hall Law Library. Provides full-text of historial treaties, regulations, and presidential documents. Also includes numerous law resources. - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Social issues series for coverage of current events topics. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, and primary documents. - PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) indexes articles, books, studies, selected official documents and other resources on public policy issues, public administration, law, politics and government.
- Policy ArchiveThe Policy Archive is a free digital archive of non-partisan public policy research from the Center for Governmental Studies. It collects and disseminates summaries and full-texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research. NOTE: Always check the think tank individually for specific bias.
- Policy File Index
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for U.S. public policy research. Includes timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
- Political Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
Access to political science, public policy, and international relations journals. Also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
- Social Sciences Research NetworkSSRN provides access to abstracts of scholarly working papers, forthcoming papers, and some downloadable full-text documents for a variety of disciplines, including policy and political science.
News and Scholarly Sources
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
eBooks
We have many ebooks on public policy issues. Try searching IUCAT, our catalog, to find books.
Try the following searches, depending on your interests. Or search another subject by putting it into the search box on IUCAT.
Citation and Style Guides
Citation involves properly crediting the authors of information sources used in a paper or presentation. You will need to cite if sources are directly quoted and/or paraphrased or if reading a source contributed to the ideas presented.
Always cite your sources.
Different disciplines use certain citation styles. Use these Quick Style Guides, the full citation manuals, or ask library staff for citation assistance.
Quick Style Guides
- APA Style Guide
- Business/SPEA Citation Guide
- Purdue OWL APA Guide
- MLA Style Quick Guide
- Chicago Style Quick Guide
- APA Style Quick Guide
- Citing U.S. Government Publications
Full Style Manuals
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433805592Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection--Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Other Citation Resources: