Director, University Archives
Source collections
This assignment should be fun! As a refresher, you will be researching an IU alum or former student who is included in our Indiana University War Service Register records. This was an effort by the Alumni Office in the 1920s and 1940s to gather information on all former students and alums who served in some way in a US war from 1860 through World War II. There will be alums who never replied but you will see that many (many many) did and the entirety of the collection has been digitized.
Many of the respondents sent along photographs and these have all been pulled and digitized. In order to make your selection process a bit more manageable and because the assignment guidelines indicate you must use a specific number of images in your blog post, Professor Osgood and I have decided that you must choose as your subject a student who sent an image so that you will have someplace to begin. All of these can be found in our Photo Database. That link should take you directly to the appropriate results but if not, navigate to http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/archivesphotos/ and do a search for C502. You'll see there are over 500 results, so plenty of options!
Accessing Digital Collections
Indiana University War Service Register records: http://purl.dlib.indiana.edu/iudl/findingaids/archives/InU-Ar-VAD4127
To the left of the page will be a camera icon and "Items Online." If you click on "Items Online" it will show you a list of digitized files/items out of context so I recommend clicking on "Entire Document" and scroll through the folder list. Alternatively, under the "Content List" you will see the groupings (called "series") of the records. Click directly into the your appropriate series. Within the folder list, click on the camera with "View Item(s)" to display the digitized image. Need more help? Watch this helpful tutorial!
Where to find information
Google: Yes, your librarian is suggesting you start with Google. It's where I oftentimes begin my own searches on individuals; you never know where it is going to take you. In addition to doing a general search for the name, I also suggest searching by the name AND Indiana University, e.g. "Dina Kellams Indiana University"
- Find a GraveLots of photos of gravemarkers, obituaries, and links to other biographical resources!
- Indiana University Pro Patria ListA list compiled by the Indiana University Alumni Association in 1945 of Indiana University affiliates who died in World War II. Each entry contains the following information (if known or applicable): Officer name, rank, division, decorations, cause of death, place of death, place of burial and contact information of family members. There are a total of three hundred and four casualties listed.
- The Golden BookThe Golden Book’s 152 pages include the names of 25,000 who served from 1812 through World War II; the digitized version includes veterans of more recent conflicts.
Newspapers
- Newspapers.com World Collection
This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
- Hoosier State ChroniclesProject operated by the Indiana State Library featuring Indiana newspapers from 1804-2011.
- NewspaperARCHIVE
- This link opens in a new window
This includes several Bloomington and Monroe County newspapers including the Indiana Daily Student BUT a huge limitation is that it only includes papers through 1923. I suspect everyone's subject will have served in World War II but if the student is older, it's possible you'll find them. Worth a quick search. - Chronicling America
This link opens in a new window
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Search historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Publications
- Indiana Alumni MagazineAlumni Magazine through HathiTrust, spans 1938-1948. Full text searchable, frequently featured former students serving in World War II.
- Indiana University Alumni QuarterlyPredecessor to the Alumni Magazine, full text available via HathiTrust. Spans 1914-1938
Databases
- Ancestry Library Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Did you know you have access to Ancestry through the IU Libraries? Yes!
In addition to searching for your individual, you have access to a near complete run of the IU yearbook (Arbutus) through Ancestry. To locate: Scroll to bottom of Ancestry home page->Schools, Directories & Church Histories->US School Yearbooks->on right hand side, choose Indiana-Bloomington-Indiana University. Voila!
- IU Alumni databaseAs a current student, you may create an account that will allow you to search the IU Alumni database. If your alum is still living (or passed away not too long ago), you may be able to find a record that will tell you their current city, degree info, and *sometimes* you can even email them through the system.
Scroll down the red bar that says "Who has access to the Alumni Directory?" and you will see a link where you can create an account. I seem to remember it takes a few days to process so I recommend you create one as soon as possible!
Collections
- Bicentennial Oral History ProjectThis oral history project, which began in 2008, includes a handful of interviews with WWII veterans. Worth a quick search!