Locating Materials
General Searching (Multi-Disciplinary) Databases
These resources are helpful when searching for information broadly to find out more about a topic or when a research question is multi-disciplinary. These databases are best to start with when you begin information seeking.
- OneSearch@IU
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- Google Scholar
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
- Scopus
A citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles.
Psychology Databases
These databases provide information specific to the field of psychology. PsycINFO is one of the most popular psychology databases IU Libraries has access to, but there are plenty of other tools listed below.
- APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Access to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, social sciences, and mental health fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
This link opens in a new window
- Psychotherapy.net
This collection offers streaming videos which show actual psychotherapy sessions, and experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.
- Psychological Experiments Online
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries.
- Psychiatry Online
Online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) of Mental Disorders fifth edition
Survey & Instrument Resources
- APA PsycTests
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database provides access to thousands of test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. - PhenX Toolkit
The PhenX Toolkit (consensus measures for Phenotypes and eXposures) provides recommended standard data collection protocols for conducting biomedical research. The protocols are selected by Working Groups of domain experts using a consensus process, which includes the scientific community. The Toolkit provides detailed protocols for collecting data and tools to help investigators incorporate these protocols into their studies. Using protocols from the PhenX Toolkit facilitates cross-study analysis, potentially increasing the scientific impact of individual studies. PhenX is funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). - PROMIS (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System)
PROMIS® (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System) is a set of person-centered measures that evaluates and monitors physical, mental, and social health in adults and children. It can be used with the general population and with individuals living with chronic conditions.
Other Helpful Databases
- Dataplanet
Data analysis resource for social science researchers and students. Includes access to 13.5 billion U.S. and international datasets from over 90 sources. Users can manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, chart trends over time, and map data on a single interface, as well as create customizable visualizations of the data.
Resources A-Z
Are you interested in seeing all resources available through IU Libraries? Check out the A-Z list:
https://libraries.indiana.edu/all-resources
- IUCAT Online Library Catalog
The Indiana University online catalog. Find books, magazines, journals, movies, sound recordings, government publications, digital collections, and more.
This link opens in a new windowThings to keep in mind:
-
E-Books can only be accessed if the link says "IU Bloomington" or "All Campus Access"
-
Request delivery allows you to borrow books from other campuses or branch libraries (Education, Neal-Marshall, etc.) and have books delivered to one convenient location. You can request delivery once you are logged into IUCAT.
-
Renewing books is as simple as logging into IUCAT and clicking "My Account" and "Renew."
Sample Psychology & Neuroscience books from IU Libraries
Psychology (E-Book) by ISBN: 9781138552258Publication Date: 2019This compact introduction is the ideal primer for anyone looking for an accessible overview of the basic principles of psychology, the fascinating science of mind and behavior. In everyday life we often ask why people act the way that they do, especially when we encounter or hear about puzzling behavior. Psychology: The Basics introduces everyday explanations of behavior, considering them through a psychological lens. Illustrating how behaviour can be explained through fundamental psychological principles, the book covers the core areas of cognitive, developmental and social psychology, as well as discussing behaviorism, the human brain, our emotions, personality and individual differences, and psychological disorders. This book which includes further reading in each chapter for those wishing to study more deeply, is the perfect easy-to-understand introductory text for students, teachers, health personnel, human resource managers, administrators, and anyone interested in the human mind and behavior.
Ethical Conflicts in Psychology (E-Book) by ISBN: 9781433829871Publication Date: 2019First published in 1995, Ethical Conflicts in Psychology has long been a definitive resource for students, researchers, and practitioners. Widely adopted as a textbook in graduate psychology courses in ethics and continuing education development, this innovative volume presents readers with over 100 different perspectives on crucial and tricky ethical issues, including the duty to protect, multiple relationships, privacy, privileged communication, navigating federal regulations governing the transmission of health care records under HIPAA, testifying as an expert witness, and practicing ethically within the boundaries of managed care. Material has been excerpted from a wide variety of publications to illuminate the most salient points related to ethics. Excerpts are linked to original commentary that highlights opposing viewpoints, poses lively discussion questions, offers numerous vignettes, and suggests additional readings. This extensively revised and updated fifth edition includes more than 40 articles and studies published since 2010 on topics ranging from the research replication crisis, and acculturation in ethical thinking, to providing telepsychological services, and the ethics of internet research.
Own Your Psychology Major! by ISBN: 9781433830662Publication Date: 2019Congratulations on declaring your psychology major Psychology is among the most popular majors in college today---yet, it's possible that you chose it without realizing how very broad and technical the field is. Not to worry. In this book, you'll get a bird's eye view of the whole curriculum, from rat mazes and statistics to abnormal psychology and psychotherapy, and you'll dive into some of the field's most enduring debates. Beyond the what and why of the psychology major, this book provides you with tips you can put into practice from day one. These include: -How to maximize your learning inside and outside the classroom -Advice on landing a solid internship -Where to find research and service opportunities -Steps for applying (and paying) for graduate programs When you finish this book, you'll have a clear idea of why you're learning what you're learning, and how the skills you build in your psychology major will help you solve real-world problems. You'll be able to take an active hand in your education--and own your psychology major.
The Brain in Context: A Pragmatic Guide to Neuroscience (E-Book) by ISBN: 9780231177368Publication Date: 2019The human brain is the most complex object in the known universe. The field of neuroscience has made remarkable strides in recent years in understanding aspects of the brain, yet we still struggle with seemingly fundamental questions about how the brain works. What lessons can we learn from neuroscience's successes and failures? What kinds of questions can neuroscience answer, and what will remain out of reach? In The Brain in Context, the bioethicist Jonathan D. Moreno and the neuroscientist Jay Schulkin provide an accessible and thought-provoking account of the evolution of neuroscience and the neuroscience of evolution. They emphasize that the brain is not an isolated organ--it extends into every part of the body and every aspect of human life. Understanding the brain requires studying the environmental, biological, chemical, genetic, and social factors that continue to shape it. Moreno and Schulkin describe today's transformative devices, theories, and methods, including technologies like fMRI and optogenetics as well as massive whole-brain activity maps and the attempt to create a digital simulation of the brain. They show how theorizing about the brain and experimenting with it often go hand in hand, and they raise cautions about unintended consequences of technological interventions. The Brain in Context is a stimulating and even-handed assessment of the scope and limits of what we know about how we think.
The Idea of the Brain: The Past and Future of Neuroscience by ISBN: 9781541646858Publication Date: 2020An "elegant", "engrossing" (Carol Tavris, Wall Street Journal) examination of what we think we know about the brain and why -- despite technological advances -- the workings of our most essential organ remain a mystery. "I cannot recommend this book strongly enough."--Henry Marsh, author of Do No Harm For thousands of years, thinkers and scientists have tried to understand what the brain does. Yet, despite the astonishing discoveries of science, we still have only the vaguest idea of how the brain works. In The Idea of the Brain, scientist and historian Matthew Cobb traces how our conception of the brain has evolved over the centuries. Although it might seem to be a story of ever-increasing knowledge of biology, Cobb shows how our ideas about the brain have been shaped by each era's most significant technologies. Today we might think the brain is like a supercomputer. In the past, it has been compared to a telegraph, a telephone exchange, or some kind of hydraulic system. What will we think the brain is like tomorrow, when new technology arises? The result is an essential read for anyone interested in the complex processes that drive science and the forces that have shaped our marvelous brains.
Trade publications are neither considered academic or popular; they are resources written for those who work in a specific industry. These publications tend to publish news, statistics, trends and other information relevant to their industry. Authors can be staff editors, journalists, practitioners or academics in the field. They made be published by trade or professional associations. Articles may be short and may not include references, or not nearly as many references as scholarly journal articles.
Examples of trade publications include:
Monitor on Psychology
The Psychologist
The Scientific Mind
