Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
General Country Resources
- CIA World Factbook
This link opens in a new window
Country-specific statistics and overview of political, social, and economic landscapes. - DHL Global Connectedness IndexPublished by NYU’s Stern School of Business and DHL, this index measures globalization based on international flows of trade, capital, information, and people. The website provides detailed information on these flows for more than 160 countries and publishes annual reports and white papers on the state of globalization.
- Freedom HouseFreedom House supports frontline activists in their efforts to defend fundamental rights, including to document abuses, advocate for justice, end impunity, and fortify the self-protection of human rights defenders. We also provide emergency assistance to human rights defenders who come under threat and work with activists to broaden public support for upholding human rights.
- globalEDGESelect a "Global Insights" then country or industry.
- GlobeSmart
This link opens in a new window
In-depth information and advice about business, culture, and travel-related topics in more than 80 countries.
Note: To access GlobeSmart, choose "Register here" from the log-in screen and use your @indiana.edu e-mail address to create and register your account. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.
- The Heritage FoundationThe mission of The Heritage Foundation is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.
- MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Transparency InternationalSurveys and reports on corruption at the government and industry levels.
- World Economic ForumSearch "Australia" to find several articles about trade relations between Australia and Asian countries.
Country Reports & Forecasts
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- Business Enabling Environment (BEE)
- This link opens in a new window
Succeeds the World Bank Group’s Doing Business Project which was discontinued in 2021 because some of the data for 2018 and 2020 had been manipulated. The BEE website has links to several resources on the economic and business climate in many different countries and regions in the world. There are also links to legacy Doing Business reports from 2004 to 2020.
• Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Some freely available country analysis (historical, political, infrastructural, and economic trends, including business conditions) from The Economists' EIU website. Note that we do not subscribe this resource.
Developed by the United States Department of Commerce's Commercial Service, the Export.gov website brings together resources to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies. The Country Commercial Guides and market research library provide information about market conditions, purchasing power, consumer trends, distribution channels, navigating entry constraints, best sectors, key contacts, and more. Coverage varies by country.
• Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
A partnership between the London Business School and Babson College that provides country-specific reports and data on the state of entrepreneurship.
- Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
Data & Statistics
- International Financial Statistics (IFS)
- This link opens in a new window
IFS is a monthly publication providing international and domestic finance for most countries of the world. IFS Online is cumulative and interactive.
• International Statistical Agencies
A portal of country-specific statistical agencies compiled by the United States Census Bureau.
- OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal for Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publications and statistics. Source for internationally comparable statistical, environmental and socio-economic reports and data. OECD works with policy makers, governments and citizens to inform public decision-making.
• UNdata
A data service that allows one to search the United Nations statistical databases.
• UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
• World Development Indicators (WDI Online)
WDI contains statistical time-series data for over 550 development indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
- Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.