Pertains to acting for the stage, directing, criticism, theory and philosophy, theatre history, costume, lighting, set design and scenography, stage movement, sound engineering, puppetry, voice and diction, and dramaturgy.
Alternative Press Index Archive offers both international and interdisciplinary coverage of a variety of alternative sources, indexing information on topics of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Includes three indexes: "Palmer's" covering The Times (London) 1790-1905, the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980 and the NYT 1863-1905 and 1913-1922.
Historical Newspapers includes indexes to The Times (London) up to 1905 and the New York Times from 1863 to 1922 (with a few missing years).
The titles correspond to the printed index to the New York Times which the library owns from 1851 to the present (Wells Library, Reference Department); and to Palmer's Index to the Times and The Official Index to the Times, both owned in a complete run (Wells Library, Reference Department).
Full text of both newspapers is also available on microfilm and online.
Index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages and dialects, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Bibliographic information can be searched separately for every journal indexed in PIO. In addition, researchers can access a list of issues for each journal and a table of contents for each issue.
Primary and secondary materials by some of the era's most enduring figures: William Wells Brown, Herman Melville, Matthew Arnold, Christina Rossetti, and Emily Shore.
Digital archive of 1,000 American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S.
Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.
Collections included:
African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, Series 2
Caribbean Newspapers
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922: From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion
Early American Newspapers, Series 7, 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment
Early American Newspapers, Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection
Hispanic American Newspapers
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature is a bibliography compiled by the Modern Humanities Research Association. ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations.
Contains more than 1 million records, from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates. It indexes more than 850 journals and is a resource for literary criticism published between 1892-1962.
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
Alternative Press Index Archive offers both international and interdisciplinary coverage of a variety of alternative sources, indexing information on topics of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
The Indiana University online catalog. Find books, magazines, journals, movies, sound recordings, government publications, digital collections, and more.
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Multidisciplinary index to articles predominately in the German language with some citations in English, French and other languages.
The IBZ covers international periodical literature in all fields, including philosophy, theology, psychology, communication, law, pedagogics, politics, sociology, economics, literature, language, art, music, theater, film, archaeology, ethnography, natural sciences, biology, anthropology, agriculture, ecology, medicine, mathematics, statistics, earth sciences and technology. Database is updated monthly, and contains articles from some 11,300 journals from 1983 to the present.
Entries in the IBZ are predominantly German-language, but include citations in English, French and other languages.
Print source: The IBZ in print covers the years 1885-1993. See IUCAT for the IUB Library holdings.
The MLA Bibliography indexes material in modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
It contains references to scholarly research in more than 3000 journals and series, in monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospectiveprovides citation-level access to English-language articles contained in the equivalent of 46 printed index volumes. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
Includes three indexes: "Palmer's" covering The Times (London) 1790-1905, the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980 and the NYT 1863-1905 and 1913-1922.
Historical Newspapers includes indexes to The Times (London) up to 1905 and the New York Times from 1863 to 1922 (with a few missing years).
The titles correspond to the printed index to the New York Times which the library owns from 1851 to the present (Wells Library, Reference Department); and to Palmer's Index to the Times and The Official Index to the Times, both owned in a complete run (Wells Library, Reference Department).
Full text of both newspapers is also available on microfilm and online.
More than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States.
The Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database documents more than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States. The database traces performance programming from early live presentations on experimental TV stations, to contemporary productions released on broadcast television. Musicals presented on television can take many forms. A program described as a "TV musical" can range from a complete or adapted Broadway show or original musical written for television, to a situation comedy with a musical format. The database documents full and abridged versions of book shows with both original and borrowed scores, and a sampling of other program forms with limited musical values. The database is an on-going research project. Records will be added and existing records enhanced as new information becomes available.
Covers the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast, circus, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.
A multimedia web site about the life and career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981).
This multimedia web site is part of an 18-month project to catalog, digitize, and preserve every item in Indiana University's extensive collections pertaining to the life and career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981). The site presents a complete catalog of the entire Carmichael Collection, access to selected digital objects, and supplemental research information, such as genealogy. The Hoagy Carmichael Collection contains sound recordings of Hoagy's music, letters, photographs of him and his family, print and handwritten musical compositions, and more.
Sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana is a search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society. Funded through a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), IN Harmony features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state.
A virtual and searchable catalog of sheet music from UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, Duke University, Library of Congress and other collections.
The Sheet Music Consortium is a virtual and searchable catalog of sheet music in the United States collected from Sheet Music Consortium member institutions (UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, and Duke University) and those of the Library of Congress and other collections.
A tool produced by the Google search engine that searches the contents of books that they have scanned.
Public domain and out of copyright books are readily available through Google Books, in downloadable, PDF format. Items still under copyright may not be entirely viewed, nor may they be printed or copied. Books may be in full view, limited preview, spippet view, or no preview available.
Online compilation of the Gale literary criticism series.
The 10 individual, award-winning Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Titles include:
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Shakespearean Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Poetry Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Drama Criticism
Children's Literature Review
The dramatic, poetical, and theoretical texts of Bertolt Brecht.
In co-operation with the German publishers, Suhrkamp Verlag, this edition is based on Bertolt Brecht - Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden - Jubiläumsausgabe zum 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf, which collects Brecht's works and writings in six volumes with brief notes on each text.
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from all time periods in many genres. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes.
Peer-reviewed survey articles covering a broad range of topics in literary scholarship.
Literature Compass is a collection of peer-reviewed survey articles covering a broad range of topics within literary scholarship. The database works much like a journal, is updated regularly, and offers multiple and differing viewpoints on key issues within the field. It also includes citations and abstracts for some of the major journals within the field. The database is searchable and browseable by time period, and all time periods are included.
Multidisciplinary index to articles predominately in the German language with some citations in English, French and other languages.
The IBZ covers international periodical literature in all fields, including philosophy, theology, psychology, communication, law, pedagogics, politics, sociology, economics, literature, language, art, music, theater, film, archaeology, ethnography, natural sciences, biology, anthropology, agriculture, ecology, medicine, mathematics, statistics, earth sciences and technology. Database is updated monthly, and contains articles from some 11,300 journals from 1983 to the present.
Entries in the IBZ are predominantly German-language, but include citations in English, French and other languages.
Print source: The IBZ in print covers the years 1885-1993. See IUCAT for the IUB Library holdings.
Complete text of Gale's DLB series. The DLB covers a wide variety of literary topics, periods, and genres, and includes entries on authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. Although international in scope, it tends to concentrate on American and British literature.
Each entry begins with the list of an author's works, followed by fairly detailed biographical information concentrating on the author's career. Some entries are about 2,000 to 5,000 words; some can run more than 10 pages (up to 15,000 words). They all include illustrations, photographs of the authors, their families and places where they lived, manuscripts in facsimile, or dust jackets. The entry ends with listings of letters, bibliographies, biographies and references.
Catalog that includes 1.2 million works published in Britain, British colonies, and the US, all works in English, and all translations from English, providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications
Provides annotated entries for scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1960 onward. The scope is international. Updated regularly.
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australia. The more than 133,000 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.
The MLA Bibliography indexes material in modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
It contains references to scholarly research in more than 3000 journals and series, in monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.
Provides annotated entries for scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1960 onward. The scope is international. Updated regularly.
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australia. The more than 133,000 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.
Complete text of Gale's DLB series. The DLB covers a wide variety of literary topics, periods, and genres, and includes entries on authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. Although international in scope, it tends to concentrate on American and British literature.
Each entry begins with the list of an author's works, followed by fairly detailed biographical information concentrating on the author's career. Some entries are about 2,000 to 5,000 words; some can run more than 10 pages (up to 15,000 words). They all include illustrations, photographs of the authors, their families and places where they lived, manuscripts in facsimile, or dust jackets. The entry ends with listings of letters, bibliographies, biographies and references.
Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) provides more than 20 million biographical citations on more than 6 millions persons, living and deceased, from all fields of activity, covering more than 2,000 years of human history.
BGMI indexes entries from reference books such as Who's Who in America or the Dictionary of National Biography. It covers contemporary and historical figures, indicates birth and death dates and gives the title and edition in which relevant entries can be found.
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from all time periods in many genres. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes.
Full text access to more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Digital archive of 1,000 American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S.
Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.
Collections included:
African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, Series 2
Caribbean Newspapers
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922: From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion
Early American Newspapers, Series 7, 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment
Early American Newspapers, Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection
Hispanic American Newspapers
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Represented genres include plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues, and others.
Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
A multimedia web site about the life and career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981).
This multimedia web site is part of an 18-month project to catalog, digitize, and preserve every item in Indiana University's extensive collections pertaining to the life and career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981). The site presents a complete catalog of the entire Carmichael Collection, access to selected digital objects, and supplemental research information, such as genealogy. The Hoagy Carmichael Collection contains sound recordings of Hoagy's music, letters, photographs of him and his family, print and handwritten musical compositions, and more.
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
In addition to the principle English language sources in the field, it includes some (about 10%) in other languages, as well as some state and local history journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field. All abstracts are in English.
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies. Some 50% of the plays have never been published before.
Sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana is a search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society. Funded through a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), IN Harmony features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state.
Full text of more than 2,000 plays, including all types of U.S. and Canadian dramas.
Contains 2,059 plays by 434 North American playwrights, written from the late 1800s. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Also includes detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Catalog that includes 1.2 million works published in Britain, British colonies, and the US, all works in English, and all translations from English, providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications
Primary and secondary materials by some of the era's most enduring figures: William Wells Brown, Herman Melville, Matthew Arnold, Christina Rossetti, and Emily Shore.
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Represented genres include plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues, and others.
Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
A tool produced by the Google search engine that searches the contents of books that they have scanned.
Public domain and out of copyright books are readily available through Google Books, in downloadable, PDF format. Items still under copyright may not be entirely viewed, nor may they be printed or copied. Books may be in full view, limited preview, spippet view, or no preview available.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospectiveprovides citation-level access to English-language articles contained in the equivalent of 46 printed index volumes. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
