Index
Alphabetical Index
Here's just a sampling of the many resources available through the library and beyond. Don't forget to search IUCat for more!
-
The Diaries of George Washington
by
ISBN: 0813906431Publication Date: 1976-09-29Washington was rarely isolated from the world during his eventful life. His diary for 1751-52 relates a voyage to Barbados when he was nineteen. The next two accounts concern the early phases of the French and Indian War, in which Washington commanded a Virginia regiment. By the 1760s when Washington's diaries resume, he considered himself retired from public life, but George III was on the British throne and in the American colonies the process of unrest was beginning that would ultimately place Washington in command of a revolutionary army. Even as he traveled to Philadelphia in 1787 to chair the Constitutional Convention, however, and later as president, Washington's first love remained his plantation, Mount Vernon. In his diary, he religiously recorded the changing methods of farming he employed there and the pleasures of riding and hunting. Rich in material from this private sphere, The Diaries of George Washington offer historians and anyone interested in Washington a closer view of the first president in this bicentennial year of his death. -
George Washington, 1732-1799; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1967.
-
George Washington Papers (Library of Congress)The papers of army officer and first U.S. president George Washington (1732-1799) held in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress constitute the largest collection of original Washington papers in the world. They consist of approximately 65,000 items accumulated by Washington between 1745 and 1799, including correspondence, diaries, and financial and military records.
-
Papers, 1741-1799
by
Publication Date: Washington : Library of Congress, Manuscript Division, 1964.124 reels of microfilm. Guide located in MIcroforms Reference under same call number. -
The Papers of George Washington: Colonial Series
by
ISBN: 0813909120Publication Date: 1983-03-01The ten-volume Colonial Series, covering the years 1748-1775, takes the young Washington through his command of the Virginia Regiment during the French and Indian War and then focuses on his political and business activities as a Virginia planter during the fifteen years before the American Revolution. -
The Papers of George Washington: Confederation series
by
ISBN: 0813913489Publication Date: 1992-04-29Unlike the series devoted to Washington's Revolutionary War and presidential papers, the Confederation Series is composed almost entirely of personal letters and includes very few official documents. -
The Papers of George Washington: Presidential series
by
ISBN: 9780813911038Publication Date: 1987-04-29 -
The Papers of George Washington: Retirement series
by
ISBN: 0813917379Publication Date: 1998-05-29During the first ten months of Washington's retirement, Washington was, as he said, busier than ever before, breaking in a new farm manager, repairing and refurbishing long-neglected buildings, hiring new overseers and a new gardener from Britain, and most difficult, and perhaps most important of all, getting a proper cook for Mrs. Washington. -
The Papers of George Washington: Revolutionary War series
by
ISBN: 9780813911021Publication Date: 1987-04-29 -
The writings of George Washington; being his correspondence, addresses, messages, and other papers, official and private, selected and published from the original manuscripts; with a life of the author, notes and illustrations
by
Publication Date: Boston, American stationers' company; J. B. Russell [etc.] 1833-37.Also available via Internet Archive.
-
Adams Family Correspondence, April 1778-September 1782
by
ISBN: 9780674004054Publication Date: 1973-01-01The letters in these volumes, written from both sides of the Atlantic, addressed by and to members of the Adams family, chronicle nearly five years of its history, They were years in which John Adams in successive missions to Europe, accompanied first by one son, then by two, initiated what would be a continuing role for Adamses in three generations: representing their country and advancing its interests in the capitals of Europe.
-
Adams Family Papers: An Electronic Archive (MA Historical Society)Includes Diary, Autobiography and correspondence between John and Abigail Adams.
-
John Adams, 1735-1826; chronology, documents [and] bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1967.
-
Legal papers of John Adams
by
Publication Date: Cambridge, Mass., Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1965.
-
-
The Political Writings of John Adams
by
ISBN: 0895262924Publication Date: 2001-04-01This book is the most comprehensive single volume of John Adam's political writings ever published. All of his major political works and all of his most important political correspondence are collected here. -
The works of John Adams, second President of the United States: with a life of the author, notes and illustrations
by
Publication Date: Boston, Little, Brown, 1850-56 [v. 1, '56]Also available on microfiche.
-
Microfilms of the Adams papers owned by the Adams Manuscript Trust and deposited in the Massachusetts Historical Society
Publication Date: Boston : Massachusetts Historical Society, 1954-1959Microfilm, 608 reels. Guide located in Microforms Reference under same call number.
Papers of Thomas Jefferson
-
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson
by
ISBN: 9780691045337Publication Date: Princeton, 1950-"The Papers of Thomas Jefferson is a projected 60-volume series containing not only the 18,000 letters written by Jefferson but also, in full or in summary, the more than 25,000 letters written to him. Including documents of historical significance as well as private notes not closely examined until their publication in the Papers, this series is an unmatched source of scholarship on the nation's third president" -
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson, Retirement Series
by
ISBN: 9780691121215Publication Date: Princeton, 2005 -"The Retirement Series documents Jefferson's written legacy between his return to private life on 4 March 1809 and his death on 4 July 1826. During this period Jefferson founded the University of Virginia and sold his extraordinary library to the nation, but his greatest legacy from these years is the astonishing depth and breadth of his correspondence with statesmen, inventors, scientists, philosophers, and ordinary citizens on topics spanning virtually every field of human endeavor." -
Jefferson's Legal Commonplace Book
by
ISBN: 0691187894Publication Date: 2019-04-23As a law student and young lawyer in the 1760s, Thomas Jefferson began writing abstracts of English common law reports. Even after abandoning his law practice, he continued to rely on his legal commonplace book to document the legal, historical, and philosophical reading that helped shape his new role as a statesman. Indeed, he made entries in the notebook in preparation for his mission to France, as president of the United States, and near the end of his life. This authoritative volume is the first to contain the complete text of Jefferson's notebook. With more than 900 entries on such thinkers as Beccaria, Montesquieu, and Lord Kames, Jefferson's Legal Commonplace Book is a fascinating chronicle of the evolution of Jefferson's searching mind. Jefferson's abstracts of common law reports, most published here for the first time, indicate his deepening commitment to whig principles and his incisive understanding of the political underpinnings of the law. As his intellectual interests and political aspirations evolved, so too did the content and composition of his notetaking. Unlike the only previous edition of Jefferson's notebook, published in 1926, this edition features a verified text of Jefferson's entries and full annotation, including essential information on the authors and books he documents. In addition, the volume includes a substantial introduction that places Jefferson's text in legal, historical, and biographical context. -
Jefferson's Memorandum Books
by
ISBN: 0691047197Publication Date: 1997-07-27Among the Second Series of The Papers of Thomas Jefferson, this volume has the most detailed coverage of his day-to-day life. These disciplined records of personal expenditures, and of various other daily observations, furnish valuable information about prices and availability of commodities of the period and provide abundant evidence of Jefferson's devotion to a systematic way of living and of his insatiable curiosity. -
Jefferson's Literary Commonplace Book byISBN: 0691047200Publication Date: 1989-06-21This work is a new edition of Thomas Jefferson's literary commonplace book, a notebook of his literary and philosophical reading. Unlike the only previous edition, published in 1928, it contains full annotation, pertinent information on the authors and works commonplaced, and a rationale for dating the entries. Thus it is now possible to show that most of the four hundred seven passages were entered when Jefferson was a young man, between the ages of fifteen and thirty. As such, they reflect the range of his literary interests from his school days to about the time of his marriage and involvement in politics. As one of the few surviving documents from Jefferson's early years, this notebook assumes special importance as a source of insight into the least known period of his life. In the introduction the editor presents reasons for thinking that the commonplace book was more to Jefferson than a literary sampler and was in some respects a deeply personal notebook with direct connections to the emotional events and preoccupations of his formative years. In addition to the text and annotation, the book contains a register of authors and an illustrated essay on Jefferson's handwriting that provides the rationale for assigning approximate dates to the entries of the commonplace book.
-
Jefferson's Parliamentary Writings
by
ISBN: 0691047138Publication Date: 1988-04-21This volume in the Second Series of The Papers of Thomas Jefferson contains the two important parliamentary documents he prepared during his lifelong study of the subject. Jefferson compiled the first document, called the Parliamentary Pocket-Book," while he was president of the Senate by virtue of his position as Vice- President of the United States. This informal guide was the basis for the Manual of Parliamentary Practice, which Jefferson completed in its earliest form by 1800 and which he had published in 1801. The Manual was the new nation's first full parliamentary rule book and is American democracy's reliable guide to its English parliamentary tradition. Still cited on the floors of Congress. -
Jefferson's Extracts from the Gospels
by
ISBN: 0691046999Publication Date: 1983-08-21This volume is an important clarification of the controversial religious beliefs of one of our most unorthodox but ethically committed presidents. Printed here are the facsimile texts of Jefferson's two compilations of Jesus' words.
-
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson (Princeton)The website to accompany the publishing of the above volumes.
-
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson: The Retirement Series (Princeton, Monticello)Information about the project and a cumulative index.
-
Founders Online (NARA)Includes both the original series (v.1-20,22-43), the Second series, and the Retirement Series (v.1-14) in a freely available database. Also includes the papers of George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.
-
Ebook CentralMany of these volumes are available through Ebook Central. Failing that, trying searching for the volume you need in IUCat for an electronic edition.
Other Resources
-
Thomas Jefferson, 1743 [i.e. seventeen forty-three]-1826 [i.e. eighteen twenty-six]; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1971
-
Thomas Jefferson papers
by
Publication Date: Washington : Library of Congress, 1974Microfilm. Guide available in Microforms Reference under same call number.
-
Thomas Jefferson Papers, 1606 to 1827 (Library of Congress)The papers of Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826), diplomat, architect, scientist, and third president of the United States, held in the Library of Congress Manuscript Division, consist of approximately 27,000 items, making it the largest collection of original Jefferson documents in the world. Dating from the early 1760s through his death in 1826, the Thomas Jefferson Papers consist mainly of his correspondence, but they also include his drafts of the Declaration of Independence, drafts of Virginia laws; his fragmentary autobiography; the small memorandum books he used to record his spending; the pages on which for many years he daily recorded the weather; many charts, lists, tables, and drawings recording his scientific and other observations; notes; maps; recipes; ciphers; locks of hair; wool samples; and more.
-
James Madison Papers, 1723 to 1859 (Library of Congress)"The Madison Papers consist of approximately 12,000 items, spanning the period 1723-1859, captured in some 72,000 digital images. They document the life of the man who came to be known as the “Father of the Constitution” through correspondence, personal notes, drafts of letters and legislation, an autobiography, legal and financial documents, and his notes on the 1787 federal Constitutional Convention."
-
The Federalist Papers (Library of Congress)"The Federalist, commonly referred to as the Federalist Papers, is a series of 85 essays written by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison between October 1787 and May 1788. The essays were published anonymously, under the pen name 'Publius,' in various New York state newspapers of the time."
-
James Madison, 1751-1836; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
ISBN: 0379120682Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969
-
The papers of James Madison: Congressional Series
by
Publication Date: Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1962-1991Seventeen volumes. Correspondence from 1801-1795. For more information see the project website hosted by the University of Virginia.
-
The papers of James Madison. Secretary of state series
by
Publication Date: Charlottesville : University Press of Virginia, 1986-<2017>Eleven volumes. Correspondence from 1801-1806. For more information see the project website hosted by the University of Virginia. -
The papers of James Madison. Presidential series
by
Publication Date: Charlottesville : University Press of Virginia, 1984-<2019>Ten volumes (to date). Correspondence from 1809-1815. For more information see the project website hosted by the University of Virginia.
-
The papers of James Madison. Retirement series
by
Publication Date: Charlottesville : University of Virginia Press, 2009- <2016>Three volumes (to date). Correspondence from 1817-1826. For more information see the project website hosted by the University of Virginia.
-
James Madison papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1964Microfilm, 28 reels. Guide available in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Autobiography. Edited, and with an introd., by Stuart Gerry Brown, with the assistance of Donald G. Baker.
by
Publication Date: [Syracuse] Syracuse University Press [1959]
-
James Monroe, 1758-1831; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969.
-
James Monroe Papers (Library of Congress)"Monroe's papers document his presidency and also his prior careers as secretary of state, secretary of war, delegate to the United States Continental Congress, diplomat, and governor of Virginia. Topics covered include the negotiations with France for the Louisiana Purchase (1803), the Monroe-Pinkney treaty with Great Britain (1806), the War of 1812 (1812-1815), the Missouri Compromise (1820), the purchase of Florida from Spain (1819–1821), the Monroe Doctrine (1823), and Virginia politics."
-
James Monroe papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1960.Microfilm, 11 reels. Guide located in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
James Monroe papers in Virginia repositories
by
Microfilm, 13 reels. Guide in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
The Papers of James Monroe
by
ISBN: 0313319782Publication Date: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2003-Four volumes (to date). "Despite his major role in early American history, President James Monroe has been the subject of limited scholarly work, due largely to the difficulty of locating his papers, especially in a published collection. Monroe scholarship is based on only 25 percent of his papers, and a great mass of material--over 25,000 items--has remained mostly unknown and unused until now. The eight-volume Papers of James Monroe project will fill a major gap in American history and provide access to the massive and widely scattered Monroe Papers, enabling scholars to revisit Monroe's role in the birth and infancy of the United States." -
The writings of James Monroe, including a collection of his public and private papers and correspondence now for the first time printed
by
Publication Date: New York, London, G. P. Putnam's sons, 1898-1903.
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848, 6th President, served 1825-1829
John Quincy Adams was the son of John Adams (2nd U.S. President). For more of the Adams family papers, see John Adams, above.
-
Diary of John Quincy Adams - November 1779 - December 1786
by
ISBN: 0674204204Publication Date: 1982-01-01 -
John Quincy Adams, 1767-1848; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
ISBN: 0379120739Publication Date: 1970-01-01
-
Memoirs of John Quincy Adams, Comprising Portions of His Diary from 1795 to 1848
by
ISBN: 0836950216Publication Date: 1969-01-01
-
Writings of John Quincy Adams
by
Publication Date: New York, The Macmillan Company, 1913-17
-
Microfilms of the Adams papers owned by the Adams Manuscript Trust and deposited in the Massachusetts Historical Society
Publication Date: Boston : Massachusetts Historical Society, 1954-1959Microfilm, 608 reels. Guide located in Microforms Reference under same call number.
-
Andrew Jackson Papers (Library of Congress)"The Jackson archival collection contains more than 26,000 items dating from 1767 to 1874. Included are memoranda, journals, speeches, military records, land deeds, and miscellaneous printed matter, as well as correspondence reflecting Jackson’s personal life and career as a politician, military officer, president, slave holder and property owner. The bulk of the materials date from 1785, in the era when Jackson moved to North Carolina to study law, to Jackson's death at the Hermitage in Tennessee in 1845."
-
Andrew Jackson Speaks: Indian RemovalExcerpts from Andrew Jackson's speeches before Congress on the subject of Indian Removal via the Trail of Tears.
-
Andrew Jackson, 1767-1845; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
ISBN: 0379120631Publication Date: 1969-01-01
-
Andrew Jackson papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress, 1961.Microfilm, 78 reels. Guide in Microforms Reference under same call number.
-
The papers of Andrew Jackson a microfilm supplement
by
Publication Date: Wilmington, DE : Scholarly Resources, c1986.Microfilm, 39 reels. Guide located in Microforms Reference under same call number.
-
Correspondence of Andrew Jackson
by
Publication Date: Washington, D. C., Carnegie institution of Washington, 1926-35.
-
-
Papers of Martin Van Buren, 1782-1862Project projects a 4 volume text, but already has published many of Van Buren's papers online already.
-
Martin Van Buren Papers, 1787 to 1910 (Library of Congress)"The bulk of the material dates from the 1820s, when Van Buren (1782-1862) was a U.S. senator from New York, through his service as secretary of state and vice president in the Andrew Jackson administrations (1829-1837), to his own presidency (1837-1841) and through the decade thereafter when he made unsuccessful bids to return to the presidency with the Democratic and Free Soil parties. Included are correspondence, autobiographical materials, notes and other writings, drafts of messages to Congress in 1837 and 1838, and other speeches, legal and estate records, miscellany, and family items."
-
Martin Van Buren, 1782-1862; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969.
-
Papers
by
Publication Date: Washington : Library of Congress, 1960.Microfilm, 35 reels. Guide entitled Calendar of the papers of Martin Van Buren shelved in Microforms Reference under same call number.
-
William Henry Harrison Papers (Library of Congress)"His collection includes a letterbook, 1812-1813, correspondence, and military papers stemming mostly from his military and political career in the Northwest Territory, his service in Indian wars and the War of 1812, his time as territorial governor of Indiana Territory (1800-1812), and his role as Whig Party candidate in the unsuccessful 1836 presidential bid and the successful 1840 election, the latter leading to his abbreviated presidential term, cut short by his death one month after his inauguration."
-
William Henry Harrison Papers and Documents, 1791-1864 (Indiana Historical Society)"The Harrison Collection spans 70 years and contains correspondence (personal, governmental and military), legal papers and engraved portraits. Although Harrison's secretary penned some correspondence, most were handwritten and signed by Harrison. The bulk of the collection focuses on Harrison's years as the governor of the Indiana Territory and his participation in the War of 1812; other documents cover his candidacy for president and death."
-
The papers of William Henry Harrison, 1800-1815
by
Publication Date: Indianapolis : Indiana Historical Society, 1994-, c1993-Microfilm, 3 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
William Henry Harrison papers
by
Publication Date: Washington : Library of Congress ; 1958Microfilm (3 reels) of Harrison's papers held by the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
William H. Harrison, 1773-1841: John Tyler, 1790-1862; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
John Tyler Papers (Library of Congress)"The collection is made up primarily of correspondence, including letters and copies of letters to or from Tyler (1790-1862), a governor and U.S. representative and senator from Virginia, who served as vice president under William Henry Harrison before becoming the tenth president of the United States upon Harrison’s death in 1841. Also included are letters to and from Julia Gardiner Tyler, Tyler’s second wife, and members of the Gardiner family, and “autograph” letters by others, which were collected by Tyler."
-
John Tyler papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1958.Microfilm, 3 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Letters and Times of the Tylers
by
ISBN: 0306713160Publication Date: 1970-11-21Also available online.
-
William H. Harrison, 1773-1841: John Tyler, 1790-1862; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
James K. Polk Paper (Library of Congress)"The papers of James K. Polk (1795-1849), governor of Tennessee, representative from Tennessee, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and eleventh president of the United States, contain approximately 20,500 items dating from 1775 to 1891, with the bulk falling in the period 1830-1849. The collection includes correspondence, presidential letterbooks, diaries, speeches and messages, account and memorandum books, family papers, financial and legal records, printed matter, portraits, and other papers relating chiefly to Polk’s political career in Tennessee and on the national level."
-
Correspondence of James K. Polk 1837-1838
by
Publication Date: Nashville : Vanderbilt University Press, 1969-<2017>Also available online through link in IUCat record. -
The diary of James K. Polk during his presidency, 1845 to 1849
by
Publication Date: Chicago, A. C. McClurg, 1910.
-
-
James K. Polk papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1964.Microfilm, 67 reels. Guide shelved in MIcroforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Messages of the President of the United States, with the correspondence, therewith communicated, between the Secretary of War and other officers of the government, on the subject of the Mexican War byPublication Date: Washington, Wendell and Van Benthuysen, printers, 1848
-
Zachary Taylor Papers (Library of Congress)"The Zachary Taylor Papers, one of twenty-three presidential collections in the Library of Congress Manuscript Division, contains approximately 650 items dating from 1814 to 1931, with the bulk from 1840 to 1861. The collection is made up primarily of general correspondence and family papers of Taylor (1784-1850), with some autobiographical material, business and military records, printed documents, engraved printed portraits, and other miscellany relating chiefly to his presidency (1849-1850); his service as a U.S. Army officer, especially in the 2nd Seminole Indian War; management of his plantations; and settlement of his estate."
-
Letters of Zachary Taylor, from the battle-fields of the Mexican War
by
Publication Date: Rochester, N.Y. [The Genesee Press] 1908.
-
Zachary Taylor 1784-1850 [and] Millard Fillmore 1800-1874; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1971.
-
Papers, 1814-1931
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1958.Microfilm, 2 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Millard Fillmore Papers (Library of Congress)"The papers of Millard Fillmore (1800-1874), educator, U.S. representative from New York, vice president, and thirteenth president of the United States, contain approximately thirty-five items spanning the years 1839-1925, with the bulk dating from 1839 to 1870. The collection includes correspondence relating primarily to political issues such as slavery, Compromise of 1850, Fugitive Slave Law of 1850, Kansas-Nebraska Act, John Brown's 1859 raid on Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, and congressional politics."
-
Millard Fillmore papers ...
by
Publication Date: Buffalo, N.Y., The Buffalo Historical Society, 1907.
-
Zachary Taylor 1784-1850 [and] Millard Fillmore 1800-1874; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1971.
-
Franklin Pierce Papers (Library of Congress)"The papers of Franklin Pierce (1804-1869), army officer, representative and senator from New Hampshire, and fourteenth president of the United States, contain approximately 2,350 items dating from 1820 to 1869. They include correspondence, a photostatic copy of a diary kept by Pierce while serving in the Mexican War, drafts of Pierce’s messages to Congress, and an engraved portrait. Pierce’s correspondence relates chiefly to his service in the Mexican War, public affairs, and national politics."
-
Franklin Pierce, 1804-1869; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1968.
-
Franklin Pierce papers
by
Publication Date: Washington : Library of Congress, 1959Microfilm, 7 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
James Buchanan and Harriet Lane Johnston Papers (Library of Congress)"The papers of James Buchanan (1791-1868), representative and senator of Pennsylvania, secretary of state, and fifteenth president of the United States, and those of his niece and White House hostess Harriet Lane Johnston (1830-1903) contain approximately 1,600 items dating from 1825 to 1887. James Buchanan’s papers include correspondence, notes, drafts of remarks, commissions, land patents and other papers relating chiefly to Buchanan’s career in the United States Senate, as secretary of state, and as minister to Great Britain prior to his presidency."
-
James Buchanan, 1791-1868; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1968.
-
James Buchanan Resource Center (Dickinson University)"Buchanan's published writings are presented, along with a selection of unpublished letters held by Dickinson College. An extensive bibliography of resources is also available to aid those interested in further study. "
-
Mr. Buchanan's administration on the eve of the rebellion
by
Publication Date: New York : D. Appleton, 1866.Also available online.
-
The Works of James Buchanan: Comprising His Speeches, State Papers, and Private Correspondence
by
Publication Date: Philadelphia, London, J.B. Lippincott Company, 1908-11.
-
Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress"The papers of Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865), lawyer, representative from Illinois, and sixteenth president of the United States, contain approximately 40,550 documents dating from 1774 to 1948, although most of the collection spans from the 1850s through Lincoln’s presidency (1861-1865). Roughly half of the collection, more than 20,000 documents, comprising 62,000 images, as well as transcriptions of approximately 10,000 documents, is online."
-
Abraham Lincoln, 1809-1865; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry [N.Y.] Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
The collected works of Abraham Lincoln
by
Publication Date: New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, 1953-1955.Also available online.
-
Abraham Lincoln papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1959.Microfilm, 97 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Andrew Johnson, 1808-1875; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970
-
Andrew Johnson papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1960.Microfilm, 55 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
The Papers of Andrew Johnson, Volume 2
by
ISBN: 0870490982Publication Date: 1970-11-23The Papers of Andrew Johnson Project began in the mid-1950s as part of a larger trend toward projects for the collection and publication of presidential papers. The project was headed by University of Tennessee historians LeRoy Graf and Ralph Haskins and led to its conclusion by Paul Bergeron. The project became part of the Tennessee Presidents Center in 1987, joining the papers projects of the two other Tennessee presidents, Andrew Jackson and James K. Polk. The first volume of The Papers of Andrew Johnson was published in 1967 and the project was completed on July 31, 2000, with the publication of the sixteenth and final volume. The entire project covers Johnson's correspondence from 1858 to 1875. -
Speeches of Andrew Johnson, President of the United States
by
Publication Date: Boston, Little, Brown, and Company, 1865.Also available online.
-
Trial of Andrew Johnson, president of the United States, before the Senate of the United States, on impeachment by the House of Representatives for high crimes and misdemeanors
by
Publication Date: Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1868.
-
Ulysses S. Grant Papers (Library of Congress)"The collection relates to Grant's service in the Mexican War and Civil War, his pre-Civil War career, and his postwar service as U.S. secretary of war ad interim under President Andrew Johnson, his 1868 presidential campaign and two-term presidency, his unsuccessful 1880 presidential bid, and his extensive travels and financial difficulties."
-
The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant
by
ISBN: 0809304716Publication Date: 1971-02-16Also available online. -
Personal Memoirs of U. S. Grant
by
ISBN: 0306810611Publication Date: 2001-10-04"Here is Grant the tactician, the alcoholic, the plain and tough professional soldier, the ideal commander-but most of all here is Grant the writer as he assesses himself and the events that forged his character, as well as that of the nation." -
Ulysses S. Grant, 1822-1885: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1968.
-
Ulysses S. Grant papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1964.Microfilm, 33 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Diary and letters of Rutherford Birchard Hayes, nineteenth president of the United States
by
Publication Date: [Columbus, O.] The Ohio State Archæological and Historical Society, 1922-26.Also avaliable online.
-
Hayes: the diary of a president 1875-1881, covering the disputed election, the end of reconstruction, and the beginning of civil service
by
Publication Date: New York, D. McKay Co. [1964]
-
Rutherford B. Hayes, 1822-1893: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969.
-
James A. Garfield Papers (Library of Congress)"Spanning the years 1775-1889, with the bulk dating from 1850 to 1881, the collection contains correspondence, diaries, speeches, records of Garfield's Civil War military service, legal records, genealogical material, college notebooks, tributes, printed matter, scrapbooks, and other material relating primarily to Garfield's career and death."
-
The diary of James A. Garfield
by
Publication Date: [East Lansing] Michigan State University, 1967-1981.
-
James A. Garfield, 1831-1881: Chester A. Arthur, 1830-1886; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
The Milligan Case
by
Publication Date: 1970-07-21Case in which the Supreme Court ruled that civilians cannot be tried before military courts if civilian courts are functioning normally. Garfield was Milligan's lawyer.
-
The works of James Abram Garfield
by
Publication Date: Boston, J.R. Osgood and Company, 1882-83.
Arthur, Chester A., 1829-1886, 21st President, served 1881-1885
Note: According to his wishes, many of Arthur's papers were destroyed upon his death.
-
Chester Alan Arthur Papers (Library of Congress)"Spanning the years 1843-1960, with the bulk dating from 1870 to 1888, the collection contains correspondence, financial papers, scrapbooks, clippings, and other papers relating to Arthur’s presidency, his service as collector of customs for the Port of New York, and his work with the New York Republican State Committee."
-
James A. Garfield, 1831-1881: Chester A. Arthur, 1830-1886; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
Chester A. Arthur papers
by
Publication Date: Washington : Library of Congress, 1959-Microfilm, 3 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Grover Cleveland, 1837-1908; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1968
-
Letters of Grover Cleveland, 1850-1908
by
Publication Date: Boston, New York, Houghton Mifflin Company, 1933
-
Writings and speeches of Grover Cleveland [e-book] byPublication Date: [S.l.] : New York, Cassell Publishing Company, 1892.
-
Grover Cleveland papers
by
Publication Date: Washington [D.C.] : Library of Congress, 1958.Microfilm, 136 reels. Guide is shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Public papers of Grover Cleveland, 22nd President of U.S.
by
Publication Date: [S.l.] : U.S. G.P.O., 1889-1897.Microfiche. Part of the CIS US Executive Branch Documents set. This set can be difficult to figure out. As with all microforms, feel free to ask staff for assistance.
-
Benjamin Harrison, 1833-1901; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969.
-
Views of an ex-president: being his addresses and writings on subjects of public interest since the close of his administration as President of the United States
by
Publication Date: Indianapolis, The Bowen-Merrill Co., [1901]
-
Benjamin Harrison Papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1960.Microfilm, 151 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Public Papers and Addresses of Benjamin Harrison, 23rd President of U.S., Mar. 4, 1889 to Mar. 4, 1893
Publication Date: [S.l. : s.n.], 1893.Microfiche. Part of the CIS U.S. Executive Branch Documents set. This set can be hard to navigate, so, as will all mircoforms, feel free to ask staff for assitance.
-
William McKinley Papers (Library of Congress)"Spanning the years circa 1847 to 1935, with the bulk dating from 1897 to 1901, the collection contains correspondence, speeches, messages, scrapbooks, printed matter, and other papers pertaining primarily to McKinley’s presidential administration. Subjects include Ohio state politics, presidential elections of 1896 and 1900, the gold standard, the McKinley tariff, progressivism, the Spanish-American War (1898), the Philippine-American War (1899-1902), territorial expansion, and McKinley’s assassination."
-
William McKinley, 1843-1901: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
Speeches and Addresses of William McKinley, from March 1, 1897 to May 30 1900
by
Publication Date: New York, Doubleday & McClure Co., 1900.Also available online.
-
William McKinley Papers
Publication Date: Washington [D.C.] : Library of Congress, 1961Microfilm, 98 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Theodore Roosevelt Papers (Library of Congress)"Held in the Library of Congress Manuscript Division, these papers constitute the largest collection of original Roosevelt documents in the world. The collection contains personal, family, and official correspondence, diaries, book drafts, articles, speeches, and scrapbooks, dating from 1759 to 1993 with the bulk of material from the period between 1878 and 1919."
-
Theodore Roosevelt, 1858-1919: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969.
-
Theodore Roosevelt; an autobiography
by
Publication Date: New York, The Macmillan Company, 1913.Also available online through the Internet Archive.
-
The works of Theodore Roosevelt
by
Publication Date: [New York, C. Scribner's Sons, 1926]Many volumes of the 1919 edition are available through the Internet Archive.
-
Theodore Roosevelt papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, D.C., Library of Congress, 1967.Microfilm, 485 reels. Guide is shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
William Howard Taft, 1857-1930; chronology, documents, bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
The collected works of William Howard Taft
by
ISBN: 9780821413609Publication Date: Athens : Ohio University Press, c2001-c2004.The Collected Works of William Howard Taft, in eight volumes, will include Taft's complete published works as well as his presidential and state addresses and selected court opinions from his days as chief justice of the Supreme Court.
-
The Philippines (Internet Archive)[Taft was appointed Civil Governor after the U.S. seized the Philippines from Spain.]
-
William H. Taft Papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress, 1969.Microfilm, 658 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Woodrow Wilson, 1856-1924: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969.
-
Woodrow Wilson Papers (Library of Congress)"The collection contains personal, family, and official correspondence, White House executive office files, drafts and proofs of books, articles, speeches, academic lectures, scrapbooks, shorthand notes, and memorabilia dating from 1786 to 1957 with the bulk of material falling in the period between 1876 and 1924."
-
The Papers of Woodrow Wilson, Volume 10
by
Publication Date: Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 1966-1994."This massive collection includes all important letters, speeches, interviews, press conferences, and public papers on Woodrow Wilson." -
President Wilson's foreign policy : messages, addresses, papers
by
Publication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, American Branch, 1918.
-
President Wilson's great speeches, and other history making documents (Internet Archive)Published 1919. Includes Wilson's documents and others for context.
-
President Wilson's state papers and addresses
by
Publication Date: New York, George H. Doran company, The Review of reviews company [c1918]Also available online at the Internet Archive.
-
The public papers of Woodrow Wilson
by
Publication Date: New York and London, Harper and Brothers, [c1925-27]
-
Press conferences of Woodrow Wilson
by
Publication Date: Princeton, N.J., Firestone Library, Princeton University [1971]Microfilm, one reel.
-
Woodrow Wilson Papers
by
Publication Date: Washington : Library of Congress, [1973?]Microfilm, 540 reels. Guide is shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Warren G. Harding, 1865-1923: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
Our Common Country
by
Publication Date: Columbia : University of Missouri Press, [2003]"Our Common Country is a collection of informal addresses, eighteen in all, given by Warren G. Harding as president-elect that defined his vision for the United States."
1921 edition available online through Internet Archive. -
Rededicating America: Life and Recent Speeches of Warren G. Harding
by
Publication Date: Indianapolis, the Bobbs-Merrill company, [c1920]Also available online through Internet Archive.
-
Calvin Coolidge, 1872-1933: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
ISBN: 0379120798Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970. -
The autobiography of Calvin Coolidge
by
Publication Date: New York, Cosmopolitan book corporation, 1929.Also available online at the Internet Archive.
-
The mind of the president, as revealed by himself in his own words. President Coolidge's views on public questions selected and arranged by subjects
by
Publication Date: Garden City, Doubleday, Page & Co., 1926.
-
Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929 (American Memory, Library of Congress)"[A]ssembles a wide array of Library of Congress source materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years, the nation's transition to a mass consumer economy, and the role of government in this transition."
-
The talkative President; the off-the-record press conferences of Calvin Coolidge
by
Publication Date: Amherst, University of Massachusetts Press [1964]
-
Calvin Coolidge papers
by
Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress, 1959.Microfilm, 190 reels. Guide located in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Calvin Coolidge press conferences
by
Publication Date: Forbes Library, Northampton, Mass., 1971.Microfilm, 2 reels.
-
The Personal Files of President Calvin Coolidge
by
Publication Date: 1919-1932.Microfilm, 2 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Herbert Hoover, 1874-1964; chronology-documents-bibliographical aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1971.
-
The Published Writings of Herbert Hoover (National Archives)PDFs of Hoover's memoirs, public papers, addresses.
-
A boyhood in Iowa
by
Publication Date: New York, Aventine Press, 1931.
-
Herbert Hoover : proclamations and executive orders, March 4, 1929 to March 4, 1933
by
Publication Date: Washington : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1974.Also available online.
-
The state papers and other public writings of Herbert Hoover
by
Publication Date: Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, Doran & company, inc., 1934.
-
Press conference of Herbert Hoover, March 9, 1929 - March 3, 1933
by
Publication Date: Wilton, Conn., 1971.Microfilm, one reel.
-
Franklin D. Roosevelt diary & itineraries
by
Publication Date: New York, N.Y. : Clearwater Pub. Co., [1985?]Microfiche, 14 sheets.
-
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945
by
ISBN: 1556552653Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1990.Microfilm, 167 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
Roosevelt, F.D.
-
Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 1882-1945
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1971."Presidential chronologies."
-
FRANKLIN: Access to the FDR Library's Digital Collections"Digital copies of significant documents and photographs from the archives of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library & Museum. FRANKLIN hosts over 800,000 pages of archival documents and 2,500 historical photographs, along with many detailed descriptions of archival collections not yet digitized. "
-
The public papers and addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt
by
Publication Date: New York : Random House, 1938-1950.
-
The Complete Presidential Press Conferences of Franklin Delano Roosevelt 1933-1945
by
Publication Date: New York, Da Capo Press, 1972-
-
The Depression and New Deal
by
Publication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, c2000The Depression and New Deal is a collection of primary sources documenting American life during the longest and deepest economic collapse in American history. -
Documentary History of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Administration
by
ISBN: 1556557809Publication Date: [Bethesda, MD] : University Publications of America, c2001-
-
Franklin D. Roosevelt and foreign affairs
by
Publication Date: Cambridge, Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1969-1983.
Map Room Files of President Roosevelt, 1941-1945
Guides for these microfilm sets are shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call numbers.
-
Army and Navy messages, December 1941-May 1942
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1991.10 reels.
-
Conference and special files, 1942-1945
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1991.11 reels.
-
Ground operations files, 1941-1945
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1994.28 reels.
-
Military subject files, 1941-1945
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1991.27 reels.
-
Naval operations files, 1941-1945
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1994.
-
Harry S Truman Papers (from the HST Library, hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)The papers of Harry S. Truman, President of the United States, 1945-1953.
-
Harry S. Truman, 1884- : Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
Documentary History of the Truman Presidency
by
Publication Date: Bethesda, Md. : University Publications of America, c1995-
-
Harry S. Truman and the Bomb
by
Publication Date: Worland, Wy. : High Plains Pub., c1996. -
Off the Record : the private papers of Harry S. Truman
by
Publication Date: New York : Harper & Row, c1980.Gathered for the first time, Truman's private papers--diaries, letters, and memoranda--cover the period from his occupancy of the White House in 1945 to shortly before his death in 1972. Students and scholars will find valuable material on major events of the Truman years, from the Potsdam Conference to the Korean War.
-
Map Room Messages of President Truman, 1945-1946
by
Publication Date: Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1980.Microfilm, 5 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
President Harry S. Truman's Office Files, 1945-1953
by
Publication Date: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1989.Microfilm, 84 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under same call number.
-
Press Conferences of Harry S. Truman, 1945-1953
Publication Date: Independence, Mo. : National Archives and Records Service, Harry S. Truman Library, 1971.Microfilm, 4 reels.
-
The Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower (Johns Hopkins University Press)"A comprehensive edition of the papers of Dwight David "Ike" Eisenhower (1890 –1969), the 34th President of the United States." Also available in print. See IUCat for location.
-
Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1890-1969: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1970.
-
Diaries of Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1953-1961
by
Publication Date: Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1987, c1986.Microfilm, 28 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Minutes and Documents of the Cabinet Meetings of President Eisenhower, 1953-1961
by
Publication Date: Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, c1980.Microfilm, 20 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
President Dwight D. Eisenhower's Office Files, 1953-1961
by
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1990.Microfilm, 64 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same guide.
-
Archival Collections (JFK Presidential Library)Not all documents are online, but many have been digitized.
-
JFK Assassination Records (NARA)"John F. Kennedy was killed on November 22, 1963. Almost 30 years later, Congress enacted the President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992. The Act mandated that all assassination-related material be housed in a single collection in the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)."
-
John F. Kennedy, 1917-1963: Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1971.
-
The Documentary History of the John F. Kennedy Presidency
by
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : LexisNexis, c2005.
-
Report of the President's Commission on the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy
by
Publication Date: Washington, D.C. : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1964.
-
President John F. Kennedy's office files, 1961-1963
by
Publication Date: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1989.Microfilm, 103 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
President Kennedy and the Press
by
Publication Date: Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1981.Microfilm, 20 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
The John F. Kennedy national security files.
by
Publication Date: variousFifteen sets of microfilm, each with its corresponding guide. Areas include:
Vietnam (2 sets)
The Middle East (2 sets)
Africa (2 sets)
Latin America (3 sets, incl. one on Cuba)
Asia and the Pacific (2 sets)
Western Europe (2 sets)
The U.S.S.R. and Eastern Europe (2 sets)
-
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library (FRASER)Digitized files from the LBJ Presidential Library archive, including telephone conversations.
-
Lyndon B. Johnson, 1908- : Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1971.
-
Johnson Presidential Press Conferences
by
Publication Date: New York : E. M. Coleman Enterprises, 1978.
-
Lyndon B. Johnson's Vietnam papers : a documentary collection
by
Publication Date: College Station, Tex. : Texas A&M University Press, c1997.
-
Civil Rights during the Johnson Administration, 1963 1969
Publication Date: Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1984.Available online or as a set of 69 reels of microfilm.
-
Political activities of the Johnson White House, 1963-1969
by
Publication Date: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America,Microfilm, 67 reels. Guide is shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
The War on poverty, 1964-1968 selections from the holdings of the Lyndon B. Johnson Library
by
Publication Date: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1986-Microfilm, 103 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Lyndon B. Johnson national security files, 1963-1969
by
Publication Date: Bethesda, MD : University Publications of AmericaAvailable online. Some sets available on Microfilm as well.
-
Richard M. Nixon, 1913- : Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1975.
-
The Presidential transcripts. In conjunction with the staff of the Washington post.
Publication Date: New York, Delacorte Press [1974]Watergate.
-
The White House transcripts; submission of recorded Presidential conversations to the Committee on the Judiciary of the House of Representatives by President Richard Nixon.
Publication Date: New York, Viking Press [1974] -
RN: The Memoirs of Richard Nixon
by
Publication Date: 1978-03-01 -
Civil Rights During the Nixon Administration, 1969-1974
Publication Date: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1989-Mirofilm, 46 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
Also available online. -
Papers of the Nixon White House
by
Publication Date: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1987-Microfiche, 1,945 sheets. Guides shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
-
Transcripts and Files of the Paris Peace Talks on Vietnam, 1968-1973
by
Publication Date: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, 1982.Microfilm, 12 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under the same call number.
Also available online.
-
Gerald R. Ford, 1913- : Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1977.
-
A Time to Heal: the autobiography of Gerald R. Ford
by
ISBN: 0060112972Publication Date: New York : Harper & Row, c1979.
-
The Carter Years
by
Publication Date: New York : Facts On File, c2006.Includes chronology, selected primary source documents.
-
Ronald W. Reagan, 1911- : Chronology, Documents, Bibliographical Aids
by
Publication Date: Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1990.
-
Papers of President George H.W. Bush. George H. W. Bush and foreign affairs, 1989-1993
Publication Date: Woodbridge, Ct. : Reading, England : Primary Source Media, Gale Cenage Learning, 2008-Microfilm, pts. 1 and 3, 24 reels. Guide shelved in Microforms Reference under same call number.
-
The China Diary of George H. W. Bush
by
ISBN: 9780691130064Publication Date: Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2008."As head of the United States Liaison Office in Beijing from 1974 to 1975, Bush witnessed high-level policy deliberations and daily social interactions between the two Cold War superpowers. The China Diary of George H. W. Bush offers an intimate look at this fundamental period of international history, marks a monumental contribution to our understanding of U.S.-China relations, and sheds light on the ideals of a global president in the making." -
President George H.W. Bush foreign affairs records, 1989-1990
Publication Date: [College Station, Texas] : [George Bush Presidential Library and Museum], 1989-1990.E-book. "Collection contains reproduced records and archives of President George H.W. Bush and the Executive Office of the President concerning U.S. foreign relations with Eastern Europe. They include memorandums, correspondence, draft speeches, and e-mails exchanged between U.S. government officials and internal government agencies or foreign country officials. Materials were declassified by Executive Orders from 2009-2011 in response to a mandatory review request; some records are redacted."
-
My Life
by
Publication Date: New York : Knopf, 2004. -
The Impeachment and Trial of President Clinton: the official transcripts, from the House Judiciary Committee hearings to the Senate trial
by
Publication Date: New York : Times Books, c1999. -
Bill Clinton's Pre-Presidential Career: an annotated bibliography
by
Publication Date: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994. -
Inside the Clinton White House: an Oral History
by
ISBN: 9780190605469Publication Date: 2016-10-12"In the decade after Bill Clinton left the White House, scores of his closest aides recorded interviews with the University of Virginia's Presidential Oral History Program. The contents of these interviews are published for the first time in this volume. Based on 400 hours of candid conversations, Inside the Clinton White House adds color and nuance to our understanding of Bill Clinton and his administration"-- Provided by publisher. Available electronically.
-
-
A Charge to Keep
by
Publication Date: New York : Morrow, c1999.Memoir published while Bush was still a candidate for president. -
Controversies of the George W. Bush Presidency
by
Publication Date: 2006-12-30"This volume is packed with primary-document excerpts from presidental [sic] speeches, public statements, and letters, and from opposing congressional arguments--an excellent resource for helping students understand events."
-
-
The Audacity of Hope
by
ISBN: 0307237699Publication Date: New York : Crown Publishers, c2006.Published just before his presidential campaign.
-
Crippled America
by
ISBN: 9781501137969Publication Date: 2015-11-03Published just before his presidential campaign. -
Attack on the U.S. Capitol
E-book available through HeinOnline. "The goal of this guide is to compile documents and statements by government officials related to the riots at the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021 by supporters of Donald Trump. As the attack was related to Congress meeting to certify Joe Biden's presidential win, the guide will also include statements about certifying the election made by officials immediately prior to the attack. Because objections were being raised about certain states' vote counts, the guide also points to relevant statements by state officials. Also included are important announcements about security for the Biden Inauguration. And because the attack has led to a historic second impeachment of Donald Trump for inciting the attack, the guide also includes a timeline linking to official impeachment documents. While it is beyond the scope of this guide to point to media accounts of the attack, such accounts abound online and can provide crucial information for understanding the events."
-
The Mueller Report
by
Publication Date: 2019-04-30Also known as: Report on the investigation into Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election : submitted pursuant to 28 C.F.R. §600.8(c)
-
Compilation of Presidential Documents [govInfo]"[C]onsists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary."