Gender Studies

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous Peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

Additional access options:

• Access to the New York Times Online (newyorktimes.com and via apps)
• Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Includes cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:

• NEW YORK TIMES
• WALL STREET JOURNAL (Eastern and Western editions)
• CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR
• USA TODAY
• WASHINGTON POST

Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather.

Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today.

Includes access to five modules: LGBTQ History Since 1940, part 1;  LGBTQ History Since 1940, part 2; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque Nationale de France Digital Archive.

Defining Gender is a collection of fully digitized rare primary source advice literature covering five centuries between 1450 through 1910. The documents have been selected from a European perspective with an emphasis on British and European sources. 

Defining Gender contains complete scanned books, pamphlets, periodicals, collections of letters, biographies, short stories, novels, and poetry, as well as recent thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Gender Studies which place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. 

Currently containing sections on Conduct and Politeness and Domesticity and the Family, Defining Gender includes some of the seminal texts used in Gender studies from authors such as Christine De Pisan, Daniel Defoe, Delarivier Manley, Margery Kempe, and Mary Wollstonecraft. Some key areas of behavior of men and women addressed include cookery, health, courtship, marriage and role of husband and wife, sexuality, courtly behavior, children, education, class, and religion and morality.

Material has been sourced from across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia. Key areas represented in the material include: employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Includes records from men’s and women’s organisations and pressure groups, detailing twentieth-century lobbying and activism on a wide array of issues to reveal developing gender relations and prevalent challenges.

Covers Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.

These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

The LGBTQ+ Library provides lending services to the entire community; anyone can register to become a patron with a photo ID.

Includes access to three modules: Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century Part 1: Far-Right and Left in US, Europe, and Australia; Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century- Part 2: Far-Right in America; and Political Extremism and Radicalism, Part 3: Communist and Socialist Movements.

Each document exhibit includes 20-40 primary source documents; whenever possible, they are available in both transcribed (searchable) and original form. Every exhibit also includes a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources in historical terms and in relationship to previous scholarship.

Content included: Crimean Parliamentary Elections, 1994 ; Crimean Presidential Elections, 1994 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2008 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2012 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2018 ; Russia State Duma Election, 1993 ; Russia State Duma Election, 1999 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2007 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2011 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2016 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2012 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2014 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2019 ; Ukraine Presidential Election, 2014 ; Ukraine Presidential Election, 2019.

he magazine covered issues dealing with economics, politics, life abroad, life in Soviet republics, women’s fashion, as well as broader issues in culture and the arts. One of its most popular features was the translations of Soviet literary works, making available in English, (and other languages) works of Russian and Soviet writers that were previously unavailable. An important communist propaganda outlet, the magazine continued its run until the collapse of the USSR in 1991.

The Vogue Archive is a fully searchable, full content run of the U.S. edition of Vogue magazine from its first issue in 1892 to the present month. It includes every page of each issue (articles, advertising, covers) and high-resolution color images. You may search for advertisements, articles, contributors, covers, fashion shoots, fiction, letters From The Editor, letters to the editor, masthead, poems, cartoons, charts, diagrams, illustrations, infographics, logos, and photographs.

Research fields served by this material are: gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Includes access to collections 1 and 2. Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal. Women’s Magazine Archive 2 features several of the most high-circulating, and long-running publications in this area, such as Woman’s Day and Town & Country. Collection 2 also includes titles such as Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, and Essence, which focus on more specific audiences and themes.